NAS newbie here

Introduce yourself to us and other members here, or share your own product reviews, suggestions, and tips and tricks of using QNAP products.
RMikeS
New here

NAS newbie here

Post by RMikeS »

I've been a computer geek since before PCs were affordable for a home user. I have quite a variety of experience, from learning to program BASIC on a TI 99/4a in 1981, to building my own PCs in '83, because, as I said, they were not affordable for the home market. My home market for sure. Programming was always an huge interest for me. Over the next few years I learned to program Pascal. After I was proficient in it, I took on C versions up to C++, as well as Assembly. I found them to be easy, after learning REAL programming syntax with Pascal. The '90s found me interested in networking. I earned a Novell CNE in Netware track 3.1x '95 and and updated to Netware 4.0 in 1997. As a matter of course, I needed a network to practice on. No way my job was about to let me practice on the company network, so I built a Netware server in my basement computer lab and fitted my PCs with NICs. After the turn of the century, I had a job change forced upon me (as well as the 43 people that worked under me). As a result of that change, I ended up as a CNC machine programmer. I no longer had time to program for fun, so my computer fun mostly became surfing the Internet.