TS869 - 8*4TB Hitachi drives

Introduce yourself to us and other members here, or share your own product reviews, suggestions, and tips and tricks of using QNAP products.
Post Reply
slickdawg
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:53 pm

TS869 - 8*4TB Hitachi drives

Post by slickdawg » Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:24 am

I just bought a TS869 and eight Hitachi 4TB drives for it. I already have a TS459 Pro II, it's worked flawlessly, so I thought this would be easy.

My plan was simple: Configure all eight drives as one RAID6 volume. That was a week ago.

I've had several attempts to do this, but never seem to get a volume that is "Ready".

2013-03-15 03:02:21 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID6 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8] Start initialization.
2013-03-15 03:03:38 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID6 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8] Start formatting.
2013-03-15 03:03:45 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID6 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8] Formatting failed.
2013-03-15 03:03:46 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID6 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8] Formatting failed(Cannot unmount disk).
2013-03-15 03:05:17 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID6 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8] Start formatting.
2013-03-15 03:05:42 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID6 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8] Start formatting.
2013-03-15 03:05:44 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID6 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8] Formatting failed.
2013-03-15 03:05:45 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID6 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8] Formatting failed(Cannot unmount disk).
2013-03-15 03:06:02 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID6 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8] Start resyncing.
2013-03-15 03:07:38 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID6 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8] Initialization failed.


At this moment, it shows "Synchronizing (29%)" - but I've never gotten to plain old "Ready"


Has anyone seen such a problem? I submitted this information on the QNAP support page, but I haven't heard back.

fantomas
Experience counts
Posts: 1549
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 5:40 am
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: TS869 - 8*4TB Hitachi drives

Post by fantomas » Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:01 pm

- which firmware version?
- have you tried to check all disks status, if they are good?
experience with administration of UN*X (mostly linux) and applications on internet servers since 1994...

slickdawg
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:53 pm

Re: TS869 - 8*4TB Hitachi drives

Post by slickdawg » Sun Mar 17, 2013 5:41 am

Its' still synchronizing - it's at 71% now, maybe it makes it to 100% and this is resolved.

If not, I guess I'll run a check on each individual drive and see. I'm on the 3.8.1 Build 20121205 firmware

slickdawg
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:53 pm

Re: TS869 - 8*4TB Hitachi drives

Post by slickdawg » Mon Mar 18, 2013 12:16 pm

Wow, this morning, the TS869 was at 99, then 100% synchronized, and showed ready, I was happy!


Just now, I went to go check on it, and it's apparently rebooted itself like a factory default! :shock:


It's asked me on the menu "Configure RAID 6" , then "Encrypt", just as if it were brand new in the box and was powered on for the first time. I guess this one needs to go back to Amazon, I cannot trust this unit with my data.

slickdawg
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:53 pm

Re: TS869 - 8*4TB Hitachi drives

Post by slickdawg » Mon Mar 18, 2013 12:20 pm

Just an "I'm not crazy post"


Here's a screenshot from this morning.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

slickdawg
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:53 pm

Re: TS869 - 8*4TB Hitachi drives

Post by slickdawg » Tue Mar 19, 2013 1:16 am

I wanted to see if I could figure out why my TS869 defaulted itself, and its downright scary what has happened.


After getting the RAID6 setup and finally ready, mysteriously, the unit defaulted itself back to the factory settings - when I physically went to the NAS, the LED screen was asking for RAID type, as if it were brand new out of the box. I selected RAID6 and it took off formatting.

When I had done a factory default before, trying to resolve my issue with the disk never reaching a "ready" status, it did not wipe out my system logs.


With this event the unit has performed by itself, it wiped out all of the system event logs in the unit, so there's no way to tell what happened. I went from pages of events to this:

2013-03-17 20:09:05 System 127.0.0.1 localhost System started.
2013-03-17 23:10:16 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID6 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8] Start initialization.
2013-03-17 23:17:08 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID6 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8] Start formatting.
2013-03-17 23:32:39 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID6 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8] Formatting completed.
2013-03-17 23:33:10 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID6 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8] Start resyncing.
2013-03-17 23:33:16 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID6 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8] Initialization completed.
2013-03-17 23:34:43 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [Media Library] Media Library Server started.
2013-03-17 23:35:28 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [Squid] Squid is enabled successfully.
2013-03-18 11:45:03 System 127.0.0.1 localhost Lan 2 link is Down.
2013-03-18 11:45:12 System 127.0.0.1 localhost Lan 1 link is Up.

slickdawg
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:53 pm

Re: TS869 - 8*4TB Hitachi drives

Post by slickdawg » Wed Mar 20, 2013 10:53 am

In the never ending madness. The resync finished again, so I enable the bitmap while it's in a "ready" status.

I guess I'll copy some data to it and see how it goes.

Post Reply

Return to “Users' Corner”