[HOW-TO] Map a permanent Windows Network share to File Station

Don't miss a thing. Post your questions and discussion about other uncategorized NAS features here.
User avatar
oyvindo
Experience counts
Posts: 1145
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Norway, Oslo

Re: [HOW-TO] Map a permanent Windows Network share to File Station

Post by oyvindo » Fri Oct 27, 2017 12:19 pm

As times go by, it is now easier to use "Create Remote Share" directly from File Station.
Just make sure that your File Sharing and credential settings in your Windows machine matches the setting you use in File Station under the CIFS/SMB tab.
ImageImageImageImage

fre_78
Starting out
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 4:52 am

Re: [HOW-TO] Map a permanent Windows Network share to File Station

Post by fre_78 » Fri Nov 03, 2017 2:59 am

oyvindo wrote:[Edit] Although this guide works well, with the updates to QTS, it is now easier to use "Create Remote Mount" from File Station.


Thank you very much for your guide. Very interesting.

Although there is now the option in File Station to use a wizard ("create remote mount"), I prefer to do it your way because this allows me to choose the mount point.
Which is not the case with the wizard, it isn't even clear where the mount point is when using the wizard. (anyone knows this?)

Regarding to the startup-script: I've tried to mount the unmounted volume (where a symbolic link to autorun.sh can be made), but I didn't manage to do it.
I'm having the TS-453a (intel cpu N3150), but there is no sdx6 volume.

But I've found a way around: instead, I use the file /etc/config/qpkg.conf.
This file contains references to all installed apps (appcenter), with links to their startup-script.
When the NAS boots, this file is used to see what apps need to be started.

So, in qpkg.conf, I simply add a new (virtual) app with a link to the script where I say it has to mount my windows-volume, like this:

Code: Select all

[startup-script]
Name = startup-script
Enable = TRUE
Version = Newest
QPKG_File = startup-script.qpkg
Date = 2017-01-01
Shell = /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/startup-script/autorun.sh
Install_Path = /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/startup-script
WebUI = /
Author = X


where autorun.sh contains the code to mount the volume.

The advantage of this method is that there is no need for a symbolic link for autorun.sh.
So, after a firmware upgrade, there is no risk of a broken symbolic link that has to be restored.

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 7804
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: [HOW-TO] Map a permanent Windows Network share to File Station

Post by OneCD » Fri Nov 03, 2017 3:18 am

fre_78 wrote:So, in qpkg.conf, I simply add a new (virtual) app with a link to the script where I say it has to mount my windows-volume, like this:
...
The advantage of this method is that there is no need for a symbolic link for autorun.sh.
So, after a firmware upgrade, there is no risk of a broken symbolic link that has to be restored.

That's the old way (it was called the "QPKG method"), but seems it didn't work on all models. So, I wrote this: viewtopic.php?f=45&t=130345 but I've no idea if it's still compatible with the current QTS firmwares. :'

However, ignoring all that, there's now an option in QTS to enable an autorun.sh. ;)

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

fre_78
Starting out
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 4:52 am

Re: [HOW-TO] Map a permanent Windows Network share to File Station

Post by fre_78 » Fri Nov 03, 2017 4:21 am

thank you very much for this useful info!

User avatar
oyvindo
Experience counts
Posts: 1145
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Norway, Oslo

Re: [HOW-TO] Map a permanent Windows Network share to File Station

Post by oyvindo » Fri Mar 23, 2018 1:18 am

The "Create Remote Share" command in File Station used to work, but now it has been renamed to "Create Remote Mount", and I can no longer get it to work.
Whether I type the IP address or the NetBIOS name of the remote Windows 10 PC (on the same LAN), it fails to discover anything except other QNAP NAS servers.
Also, adding a user account and password should not be necessary as I have allowed anonymous logon. But there seems to be no way to bypass those fields and leave them empty.

Has anyone been able to successfully use "Create Remote Mount" to access a shared folder on a WIndows 10 PC from File Station in a QNAP NAS ?
ImageImageImageImage

User avatar
Spider99
Experience counts
Posts: 1939
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:14 pm
Location: UK

Re: [HOW-TO] Map a permanent Windows Network share to File Station

Post by Spider99 » Fri Mar 23, 2018 1:50 am

IIRC windows 10 does not support anonymous login anymore
Tim

TS-853A(16GB): - 4.3.4.0483 - Static volume - Raid5 - 8 x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
Windows Server + StableBit Drivepool and Scanner ~115 TB Backup Server
TS-412 & TS-459 Pro II: Retired
Clients: 3 x Windows 10 Pro(64bit)

User avatar
oyvindo
Experience counts
Posts: 1145
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Norway, Oslo

Re: [HOW-TO] Map a permanent Windows Network share to File Station

Post by oyvindo » Fri Mar 23, 2018 1:58 am

Ok, thanks - but that does not explain why it fails to discover the Windows 10 PC as an available resource when I click the search button ?
Every other Windows computer I have on the same LAN (including also two MAC's and a Chromebook) can easily discover it, and connect. As long as it cannot be found by the NAS, it doesn't help much to have valid credentials to use (?)
ImageImageImageImage

User avatar
Spider99
Experience counts
Posts: 1939
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:14 pm
Location: UK

Re: [HOW-TO] Map a permanent Windows Network share to File Station

Post by Spider99 » Fri Mar 23, 2018 6:00 am

Does it work the other way around to a share on the NAS?
Tim

TS-853A(16GB): - 4.3.4.0483 - Static volume - Raid5 - 8 x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
Windows Server + StableBit Drivepool and Scanner ~115 TB Backup Server
TS-412 & TS-459 Pro II: Retired
Clients: 3 x Windows 10 Pro(64bit)

User avatar
oyvindo
Experience counts
Posts: 1145
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Norway, Oslo

Re: [HOW-TO] Map a permanent Windows Network share to File Station

Post by oyvindo » Fri Mar 23, 2018 2:25 pm

Yes
ImageImageImageImage

User avatar
Spider99
Experience counts
Posts: 1939
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:14 pm
Location: UK

Re: [HOW-TO] Map a permanent Windows Network share to File Station

Post by Spider99 » Fri Mar 23, 2018 3:44 pm

i cant get to work either to a 2012r2 server from filestation - so i would either raise a ticket or just use the share
Tim

TS-853A(16GB): - 4.3.4.0483 - Static volume - Raid5 - 8 x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
Windows Server + StableBit Drivepool and Scanner ~115 TB Backup Server
TS-412 & TS-459 Pro II: Retired
Clients: 3 x Windows 10 Pro(64bit)

thesurg3on
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 6:11 am

Re: [HOW-TO] Map a permanent Windows Network share to File Station

Post by thesurg3on » Sat Apr 14, 2018 12:12 pm

Has anyone found a solution to this. I just tried this for the first time.
My scenario is that i have all of my photos go to iCloud, which is pointed to a USB drive on my server, since i cannot UNC icloud phots it has to be a local disk, and from there i have Google Photos ** everything from my iCloud photos on my USB drive to Google Photos cloud. All of my GoPro, Mavic Pro, and Camera images, I import to my server which has a USB drive hanging off of it, because i like to centralize.

So where my QNAP comes into play is that my USB drive is shared from my server to the rest of my network. My Win10 PC can see it no problem. My Mac can see it no problem. I need to now use Qnap Photo Station, and want these photos from my shared USB drive from my server to be managed by QNAP, BUT I need to have the USB drive connected to my server so that all of my shared iCloud albums (family and friend iclouds) will be downloaded locally and not only in Apple's cloud, where I then push them to Google Photos, and also to my QNAP with Photo Station.

But now that I cannot see my shared USB drive from the QNAP, this isnt working.

QNAP is on same LAN as my server. The workgroup is the same, and the firewall is off. Any suggestions?

thesurg3on
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 6:11 am

Re: [HOW-TO] Map a permanent Windows Network share to File Station

Post by thesurg3on » Sat Apr 14, 2018 2:08 pm

btw, i also disabled windows 10 firewall on my server and disabled firewall on my router, i still cannot connect to my share via browsing on the QNAP or via IP.

User avatar
Spider99
Experience counts
Posts: 1939
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:14 pm
Location: UK

Re: [HOW-TO] Map a permanent Windows Network share to File Station

Post by Spider99 » Sat Apr 14, 2018 4:24 pm

raise a ticket with qnap
Tim

TS-853A(16GB): - 4.3.4.0483 - Static volume - Raid5 - 8 x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
Windows Server + StableBit Drivepool and Scanner ~115 TB Backup Server
TS-412 & TS-459 Pro II: Retired
Clients: 3 x Windows 10 Pro(64bit)

chilisquid
Starting out
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 2:15 pm

Re: [HOW-TO] Map a permanent Windows Network share to File Station

Post by chilisquid » Fri May 10, 2019 2:33 pm

how do you raise a ticket with qnap ?

chilisquid
Starting out
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 2:15 pm

Re: [HOW-TO] Map a permanent Windows Network share to File Station

Post by chilisquid » Fri May 10, 2019 2:38 pm

is there no one on this forum from QNAP answering questions ?

Post Reply

Return to “Miscellaneous”