(SOLVED) [appuser] 127.0.0.1 question please

Don't miss a thing. Post your questions and discussion about other uncategorized NAS features here.
Skwor
Know my way around

(SOLVED) [appuser] 127.0.0.1 question please

Post by Skwor »

Simple question, is [appuser] from 127.0.0.1 a normal login for some QNAP apps?
appuser Snipaste_2021-04-04_08-02-19.png
I ask because I never had this log in before when all I used my QNAP for was Plex but I started playing with QuMagie, PhotoStation and myQnapcloud Link and the log in from [appuser] 127.0.0.1 started the same time I installed QuMagie, PhotoStation and myQnapcloud. I know 127.0.0.1 is the QNAP local host and there are no other IPs attached indicating anyone is logging in from outside my network.

My QNAP is off the net ALL upnp is off and no ports are forwarded, passes the security checks at the intermediate level on security adviser.

I could not find a definitive answer to this but seems like this is the case.

UPDATE 4/11/21: I isolated where the [appuser] log in from 127.0.0.1 was coming from. Turns out Security Advisor for QNAP logs in as [appuser]. I isolated this happening when Security Advisor performed its weekly scan and when I stopped Security Advisor I no longer saw [appuser] log in 10 seconds after I logged in to my NAS, When I started Security Advisor back up it started again. I will be leaving it off now and only turn it on to scan manually.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Skwor on Mon Apr 12, 2021 2:46 am, edited 2 times in total.
NAS:
TS-453Be
2-4 Gig QNAP ram sticks
1x12 TB Seagate Iron Wolf and 3x12 TB Seagate Exos
Mainly used as a Plex Server and Photo manager (QuMagie is actually pretty good)

WD 12 TB Elements for each hard drive - External HD BU to the NAS movie database and Photos
Skwor
Know my way around

Re: [appuser] 127.0.0.1 question please

Post by Skwor »

Interesting, no one knows the answer to this?
NAS:
TS-453Be