E437: terminal capability "cm" required

Don't miss a thing. Post your questions and discussion about other uncategorized NAS features here.
Post Reply
raphibb
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 2:32 pm

E437: terminal capability "cm" required

Post by raphibb » Sat Oct 06, 2012 3:46 am

Hi,

I have been playing with crontab and since the last reboot, whenever I run "crontab -e" in a telnet session I get this error message:
E437: terminal capability "cm" required

Running "export TERM=xterm" seems to fix the issue.

However, I was wandering what caused it in the first place? I didn't have this problem until the last reboot.
Anyway to make the terminal setting permanent?

Thanks
Raphi

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43647
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: E437: terminal capability "cm" required

Post by schumaku » Sat Oct 06, 2012 3:51 am

Hope you are aware crontab -e does not lead to a permanent change in crontab :cry:

Using what kind of terminal software?

raphibb
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 2:32 pm

Re: E437: terminal capability "cm" required

Post by raphibb » Sat Oct 06, 2012 4:00 am

Yes, I know. I'm using Method 1 bis with Textpad on my PC.
Just using crontab -e to review the settings

Post Reply

Return to “Miscellaneous”