New Nas - wont spindown

Discussion about hard drive spin down (standby) feature of NAS.
razvannicolae
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 5:48 pm

Re: New Nas - wont spindown

Post by razvannicolae » Wed Feb 24, 2021 5:08 am

tumbi wrote:
Mon Aug 17, 2020 11:16 am
***** SUCCESS *********

I did it! The NAS is now going into standby! At least the Status LED goes off (while the drive lights remain a steady Green).

Hi There,
How are things with the NAS ? is it still entering in standby ? did you discover anything worth mentioning regarding the settings?
Any input would be highly appreciated!
Many Thanks!

rob243
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2021 4:48 pm

Re: New Nas - wont spindown

Post by rob243 » Sun Feb 28, 2021 5:09 pm

razvannicolae wrote:
Wed Feb 24, 2021 4:56 am

So in conclusion, if I remember correctly .... I guess I paid arround 600 Eur for the NAS and Hdds but I have built up so much anger that I could pay 1000 EUR right now on some advertising just to share these facts somewhere ...I cannot belive I have this problem with a 600 Euro NAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ... and to make it worse .....I have a ** 218Play Synology which barely reach 30MB transfer speed over LAN but which is amazingly quiet and responsive and does also this stand-by or spin-down or whatever you want to call it.
I am determined to post this complain on every forum on NAS I could find.
I highly recommend you a Synology, you won't have any of that problems with that, honestly. I have a Synology and a QNAP at home. With my QNAP I was never able to fix that problem, I already gave up. The consequences are, that the hardddrives don't last so long, which makes it everything more expensive.

The only hope is that QNAP will release a new firmware in the future which fixes that problem. Even a reliable workaround would be good, if somebody can find out something, I would be really happy.

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 22778
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: New Nas - wont spindown

Post by dolbyman » Mon Mar 01, 2021 12:12 am

All my QNAP dont have a spindown timer for all drives...failure rate of drives is low (2 drives out of more than 20 over 10 years)

get NAS rated drives and they will work in your NAS

rob243
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2021 4:48 pm

Re: New Nas - wont spindown

Post by rob243 » Tue Mar 02, 2021 4:20 am

I have NAS rated drives (WD Red), but it's still not cool if the NAS is reading and writing on the harddrives 24/7 even if nobody is accessing them.

rob243
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2021 4:48 pm

Re: New Nas - wont spindown

Post by rob243 » Tue Mar 02, 2021 5:06 pm

Just an Update about the problem. I was able to find the reason. It was the rsyslogd (check on the ssh terminal -> "ps aux | grep rsyslogd"). My workaround for now is to kill that service on the ssh terminal with "kill -9 <processnumber>". The harddrives are quiet now :)

emulemodes
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2021 6:16 pm

Re: New Nas - wont spindown

Post by emulemodes » Sun Mar 28, 2021 6:25 pm

Hi Everybeze, I got the new 453be with Qnap for 2 weeks. I've seen that problem has been since 2008 Based on the messages on the forums. I wrote that to the support team. Maybe it was very heavy but I'm angry that it wasn't resolved all this time. Write in you please not accepted. I am sorry for my English.
:oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:
My TS-453BE spins down just fine, but always wakes up again after 15 minutes regardless. I've set the spindown delay right down to 5 minutes to test it, and it just cycles through wake-up/spin-down/wake-up (etc.) all the time. It does this even when I disconnect it from the LAN. This happens when there are no BT jobs, open connections, or other jobs running. I've read that some users find their QNAP doesn't spin down with slimserver, but nobody has mentioned it causing this problem. =======>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I was using another firm. I have not encountered any such an error (feature). Since 2008, this problem has qnap this problem. How could you remain indifferent to that. This problem is not cute to return this appliance and not to praise certainty. Please don't come to me with ridiculous recommendations such as 7/24 stolen in NAS prayer. Remember that I'm going to this problem until the consumer rights is this imposition of fashions. You are doing m for HDD firms. Mill is not used, most Qnap users are the teacher of the electrical bills wasted by billion dollars.

holger_kuehn
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:45 pm
Location: Premnitz, Germany

Re: New Nas - wont spindown

Post by holger_kuehn » Sun Apr 04, 2021 1:32 am

razvannicolae wrote:
Wed Feb 24, 2021 4:56 am
I am determined to post this complain on every forum on NAS I could find.
This won't do much for you, as QNAP is not reading them. You'll need to contact them directly.
NAS (production): TS-1635AX FW: 4.5.3.1652 build 20210428
NAS (backup): TS-1635AX FW: 4.5.3.1652 build 20210428
QTS (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 2TB Samsung Evo 860 M.2-Sata
Data (QTier): [RAID-6] 4 x 500GB Samsung Evo 860 Sata
Data (HDD): [RAID-6] 5 x 18TB Exos
RAM: 8 GB (QNAP shipped)
UPS: CyberPower CP900EPFCLCD
BACKUP: 10x4TB WD Red using a USB 3.0 Dock

NAS: TS-873U-RP FW: 4.5.3.1652 build 20210428
Data (SSD): [RAID-10] 4 x 1TB Samsung Evo 860 Sata
RAM: 8 GB (QNAP shipped)
UPS: CyberPower PR2200ELCDRT2U
BACKUP: 4TB Synology DS214 FW: DSM 6.2.3.25426 Update 2

User avatar
graemev
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:17 pm

Re: New Nas - wont spindown

Post by graemev » Thu Apr 22, 2021 3:52 am

rob243 wrote:
Tue Mar 02, 2021 5:06 pm
Just an Update about the problem. I was able to find the reason. It was the rsyslogd (check on the ssh terminal -> "ps aux | grep rsyslogd"). My workaround for now is to kill that service on the ssh terminal with "kill -9 <processnumber>". The harddrives are quiet now :)
Did it stay dead? Wait a minute and check again.
Killing my rsyslogd also fixed the constant access, however it restarted a minute of so later (looks like it's a monitored daemon) ...notwithstanding this , the disk activity remained low (disk would spindown)

Since then BTW, I've again run into problems spinning down, came back here to find how to turn off the debug option to container station

Post Reply

Return to “HDD Spin Down (HDD Standby)”