Can't Connect to TS-879

Don't miss a thing. Post your questions and discussion about other uncategorized NAS features here.
vincei
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 8:22 am

Can't Connect to TS-879

Postby vincei » Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:38 pm

I've had a TS-219P for years and have never had an issue with it. It has just worked and kept on working doing everything I ask of it.

I received a TS-879 yesterday and the installation has not been fun. I still cannot access the device and I need help.

I have a wired 1GB network which hooks up to all my machines, the TS-219 and the new TS-879. All devices get their IP addresses via DHCP and are given the same address the next time they boot and their mac address is identified. The TS-219 is assigned 192.168.0.12 and the TS-879 is assigned 192.168.0.26 as displayed on the LCD display.

TS-879 assigned name is azzy-NAS.

The problem:

I can ping 192.168.0.26

I cannot access the device via the web interface at all.

I can ping 192.168.0.26

I've tried http://192.168.0.26:8080 and http://192.168.0.26:80 but the browser just hangs and then reports a connection timeout and fails. wget from Linux fails also.

see below:

vince@192.168.0.25's password:
Last login: Mon Dec 5 15:33:35 2011 from 192.168.0.8
[vince@fedora-pc ~]$ ping 192.168.0.26
PING 192.168.0.26 (192.168.0.26) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.0.26: icmp_req=1 ttl=63 time=2.13 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.26: icmp_req=2 ttl=63 time=0.427 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.26: icmp_req=3 ttl=63 time=0.446 ms
^C
--- 192.168.0.26 ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2001ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.427/1.003/2.138/0.802 ms
[vince@fedora-pc ~]$ wget 192.168.0.26:8080
--2011-12-06 04:16:49-- http://192.168.0.26:8080/
Connecting to 192.168.0.26:8080... failed: Connection timed out.
Retrying.
--2011-12-06 04:17:53-- (try: 2) http://192.168.0.26:8080/
Connecting to 192.168.0.26:8080... failed: Connection timed out.
Retrying.
--2011-12-06 04:18:58-- (try: 3) http://192.168.0.26:8080/
Connecting to 192.168.0.26:8080...


I launched Qfinder and it sees both of the NAS's. The TS-219 and the TS-879.

qfinder.png


I can login from qfinder and do most operations but if I launch the web interface from here it never connect to the TS-879 but the connection to the TS-219 always succeeds. I created a RAID5 array from the fron panel buttons using the 8 seagate drives installed in the TS-879 - the array and its content is not visible to me.

I can see the TS-879 on my windows network but when I click on it nothing happens. Explorer just waits and waits then times out.
azzy.png


I tried updating the firmware from qfinder. The download of the latest version always succeeds BUT the programming phase sits at 1% forever and never proceeds further. I waited an hour and it never went past 1%. I can't imagine that it takes over 100hours to program a 100meg download image. See programming below.

download.png


Programming stuck at 1%
programming.png


details.png

drives.png


What exactly is wrong with this unit and how do I gain control of it? I was looking forward to getting this setup but so far this has been a monumental waste of my time and effort. I really hope I don't have to return the unit and that this is something easy to fix because I'll be going abroad for Christmas vacation for 3 weeks starting next week.

By the way, I plugged a monitor into the rear VGA output and watched the QNAP boot. There are a lot of errors related to crons not starting because of missing directories and various services not starting and drivers not loading. Is this normal? Most importantly to me I see an error related to an invalid config parameter and apache - is this why the web interface isn't coming up?

Please advise.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

vincei
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 8:22 am

Re: Can't Connect to TS-879

Postby vincei » Tue Dec 06, 2011 8:59 pm

I plugged in a keyboard and was able to login at the TS-879 console .

I see http servers running on port 8080 and 80. I can wget from either of them.

I see sshd running on 22. '[#] ssh localhost' works from the console.

There are a bunch of other services running.

Now here's the weird part. I cannot access any of these services on any of these ports via the external Ethernet interface.

ping works.

[vince@fedora-pc ~]$ ping 192.168.0.26
PING 192.168.0.26 (192.168.0.26) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.0.26: icmp_req=1 ttl=63 time=0.294 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.26: icmp_req=2 ttl=63 time=0.394 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.26: icmp_req=3 ttl=63 time=0.429 ms


ssh hangs and terminates
[vince@fedora-pc ~]$ ssh 192.168.0.26
ssh: connect to host 192.168.0.26 port 22: Connection timed out
[vince@fedora-pc ~]$

The Fedora box is on the same subnet and there are only switches between it and the TS-879

[vince@fedora-pc ~]$ ifconfig
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:50 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:50 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:4212 (4.1 KiB) TX bytes:4212 (4.1 KiB)

p2p1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:A0:CC:73:AA:0A
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Interrupt:19 Base address:0xa000

p21p1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1D:7D:00:95:07
inet addr:192.168.0.25 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::21d:7dff:fe00:9507/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:12306 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:113251 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:7597042 (7.2 MiB) TX bytes:6776666 (6.4 MiB)
Interrupt:44 Base address:0x8000

A simple port scan of the TS-879 indicates all ports are filtered? Why?

[vince@fedora-pc ~]$ sudo nmap -O -sS -p1-65535 192.168.0.26


Starting Nmap 5.51 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2011-12-06 07:44 EST
Nmap scan report for 192.168.0.26
Host is up (0.00040s latency).
All 65535 scanned ports on 192.168.0.26 are filtered
MAC Address: 00:08:9B:CB:56:54 (ICP Electronics)
Too many fingerprints match this host to give specific OS details
Network Distance: 1 hop

OS detection performed. Please report any incorrect results at http://nmap.org/submit/ .
Nmap done: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 1316.13 seconds


How does QFinder work? I'm about to run a tcpdump to see what QFinder does. Is it ICMP only?

I'll see if I can scp logs, etc, out of the TS-879 - from its console - and post them here.

- Vince

vincei
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 8:22 am

Re: Can't Connect to TS-879

Postby vincei » Tue Dec 06, 2011 9:13 pm

I cannot scp out of the QNAP. I'm able to ping the linux pc and my gateway from the qnap but scp hangs trying to copy /tmp/ps.log off the QNAP.

oferta.cerere
Know my way around
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:09 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Contact:

Re: Can't Connect to TS-879

Postby oferta.cerere » Tue Dec 06, 2011 9:38 pm

try a manual firmware update, from console. I had the same problem with my ts219P because it had old firmware and i had to try with an other old firmware till 3.5.1
TVS-863+ - Version 4.2.2

vincei
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 8:22 am

Re: Can't Connect to TS-879

Postby vincei » Tue Dec 06, 2011 9:50 pm

I would try that but the device is totally inaccessible from my network. Are there instructions for loading the firmware from a USB flash device? I'd be happy to give that a try.

vincei
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 8:22 am

Re: Can't Connect to TS-879

Postby vincei » Tue Dec 06, 2011 10:45 pm

Hurrah! I got it working :D . What a pain :twisted:

I had an external e-Sata drive attached to the other NAS. I copied the image over there and plugged the drive into the TS-879.

I followed these instructions:

http://wiki.qnap.com/wiki/Manually_Updating_Firmware

And the unit is now visible.

Hurrah.png


Guys please ship the units with working firmware! End users shouldn't have to jump through these hoops!

Thanks for the pointer regarding manual upgrades.

- Vince
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

vincei
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 8:22 am

Re: Can't Connect to TS-879

Postby vincei » Tue Dec 06, 2011 11:09 pm

One final note. Copying between the TS-219 and the TS-879. We have almost full speed, Captain!

FullSpeed-copy.png


Thanks Qnap!

- Vince
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

jamesm007
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 9:11 am

Re: Can't Connect to TS-879

Postby jamesm007 » Fri Dec 09, 2011 6:13 pm

Wow!!!!

I just received my TS-879 today, and I got the exact same behaviour.

I have a TS-559 Pro II at the office, and it just worked out of the box.

I spent a good part of the day trying to resolve, and somehow I missed
your experience in the forums, as I was searching them. Vigerously.

Once I found your solution, and got the latest firmware, Presto-Changeo
All is good.

Soooo, QNAP, How did you ship one of your most expensive devices, in a state
that will not work when purchased?

james


Return to “Miscellaneous”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests