Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Printers, HDDs, USB/eSATA drives, 3rd-party programs
Post Reply
Blurry
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 12:24 pm

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by Blurry » Tue Jul 30, 2013 12:37 pm

Hi All,

Ill weigh in here.., I have a 412TS (fw: 3.8.3 Build 20130426) with 4x 2TB seagate drive, raid 5 no issues at all for 12 months.

I want to start swapping out the 2TBs with 3TBs to increase capacity, however, my 2x 3TB seagates are STM3000DM001 - 1CH166, NAS complains to add a disk of larger capacity when attempting to expand capacity. These drives fw is CC44.

Downloaded the seagate FW updater at http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/e ... Q/223651en which supposedly updates these to CC4H, however it doesnt. It checks both disk & says 'passed' before exiting... FW is still CC44, not CC4H.

Anyone else experienced this? Not sure who i need to wait for, seagate for a fw for these drives or qnap for fw to detect them as 3tb.

Cheers,
Blurry

User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22568
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by pwilson » Tue Jul 30, 2013 12:51 pm

Blurry wrote:Ill weigh in here.., I have a 412TS (fw: 3.8.3 Build 20130426) with 4x 2TB seagate drive, raid 5 no issues at all for 12 months.


Please review the QNAP 3.5" HDD Compatibility List:

QNAP 3.5" HDD Compatibility List wrote:Image

Note15
These hard drives models have passed QNAP lab's compatibility verifications. However, some users have reported unstable experiences with these hard drives on older Turbo NAS firmware versions. Thus, we strongly suggest that users upgrade their Turbo NAS to firmware 3.7.1 or onward to improve compatibility. Users who still encounter issues after firmware upgrade are welcome to contact our tech support for direct assistance. The manufacturer also releases a new firmware version for these hard drive models. Please check this link for more information. Please be noticed this hard drive is desktop edition. To obtain the better system stability and reliability, we suggest using the business edition hard drive to build the RAID volume in the business environment.


Any questions?

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.

User avatar
marshalleq
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 302
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 2:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by marshalleq » Tue Jul 30, 2013 2:24 pm

My experience is that he drives perform well provided the nas power management is switched off. The 412 NAS seems to be the exception that it is not needed to be switched off for some reason, at least in my experience. That said Pwilson is exactly right, if you can and if you really value your data, best to go down a different path if possible.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
TS669-L (3GB RAM) fw 4.3.2.0050 Build 20170104 with 6x4TB Seagate ST4000VN000-1H41SC43 2x2TB Hitachi HDS723020BLA642 2x8TB ST8000VN0022-2EL112
QNAP UX-500P External 5 Bay USB3 Expansion Cabinet
Raspberry Pi 1,2 & 3
Mac Mini
Apple TV 3/4
Windows
Sabayon Linux
Ubuntu Linux
Android
Docker
Ryzen 1800x custom system

Web
https://www.tech-knowhow.com

Twitter
@Marshalleq
@TechKn0wH0w

User avatar
marshalleq
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 302
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 2:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by marshalleq » Tue Jul 30, 2013 2:25 pm

Fyi you don't expand a raid set until the whole raid set has had its drives replaced. 're reading your post it is not clear if this has been done yet or not....

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
TS669-L (3GB RAM) fw 4.3.2.0050 Build 20170104 with 6x4TB Seagate ST4000VN000-1H41SC43 2x2TB Hitachi HDS723020BLA642 2x8TB ST8000VN0022-2EL112
QNAP UX-500P External 5 Bay USB3 Expansion Cabinet
Raspberry Pi 1,2 & 3
Mac Mini
Apple TV 3/4
Windows
Sabayon Linux
Ubuntu Linux
Android
Docker
Ryzen 1800x custom system

Web
https://www.tech-knowhow.com

Twitter
@Marshalleq
@TechKn0wH0w

Blurry
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 12:24 pm

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by Blurry » Tue Jul 30, 2013 3:02 pm

pwilson wrote:Please review the QNAP 3.5" HDD Compatibility List:


I had done that & yes they are on there. So are my ST2000 drives...

pwilson wrote:Note15
These hard drives models have passed QNAP lab's compatibility verifications. However, some users have reported unstable experiences with these hard drives on older Turbo NAS firmware versions. Thus, we strongly suggest that users upgrade their Turbo NAS to firmware 3.7.1 or onward to improve compatibility. Users who still encounter issues after firmware upgrade are welcome to contact our tech support for direct assistance. The manufacturer also releases a new firmware version for these hard drive models. Please check this link for more information. Please be noticed this hard drive is desktop edition. To obtain the better system stability and reliability, we suggest using the business edition hard drive to build the RAID volume in the business environment.

Any questions?


My question is still the same, this does not help me at all.

When i hit expand capacity on the Raid 5, it then allows me to select Change Disk on 1 of the 4x 2TB, which i do - say HD1..., then when putting the above mentioned 3TB into HD1 slot it fails to add to raid & asks me to insert a larger capacity disk... Reverting to the 2TB has no issue re-including the removed 2TB into the raid set (after it rebuilds the array)

I took screenshots, will upload more detail when i get time. THough i have no idea why the 412 does not see this hd as the 3TB that it is. Nor does the seagate fw update utility find any new fw for them.

Thanks
Blurry

EDIT: Not terribly concerned with the data, its home use, not work.

Blurry
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 12:24 pm

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by Blurry » Tue Jul 30, 2013 3:04 pm

marshalleq wrote:Fyi you don't expand a raid set until the whole raid set has had its drives replaced. 're reading your post it is not clear if this has been done yet or not....

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 4 Beta


Thanks for the reply. Thats what i am attempting to do, & starting with the first disk i select to replace, i take out the 2TB & insert the 3TB, but it seems the 412 doesnt see it as 3TB & asks me to insert larger disk :(

EDIT: Images (hope they work)

http://tinypic.com/r/miibg2/5

http://tinypic.com/r/2n150td/5
Last edited by Blurry on Tue Jul 30, 2013 5:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
marshalleq
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 302
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 2:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by marshalleq » Tue Jul 30, 2013 3:07 pm

I had exactly that with exactly that disk. Much later I realised I needed to go kill the partition in another OS. I'd suggest go plug it into a mac, a linux box or if you know your way round the console plug it in to the USB port at the back of the NAS and do it that way. The key is, make the existing disk partition unrecognisable to the NAS so it will attempt to set it up from scratch. Mine ran the old disk firmware, so I wouldn't think firmware was the problem. Definitely make sure your NAS firmware is at least the version pwilson specified though.
TS669-L (3GB RAM) fw 4.3.2.0050 Build 20170104 with 6x4TB Seagate ST4000VN000-1H41SC43 2x2TB Hitachi HDS723020BLA642 2x8TB ST8000VN0022-2EL112
QNAP UX-500P External 5 Bay USB3 Expansion Cabinet
Raspberry Pi 1,2 & 3
Mac Mini
Apple TV 3/4
Windows
Sabayon Linux
Ubuntu Linux
Android
Docker
Ryzen 1800x custom system

Web
https://www.tech-knowhow.com

Twitter
@Marshalleq
@TechKn0wH0w

Blurry
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 12:24 pm

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by Blurry » Tue Jul 30, 2013 5:48 pm

marshalleq wrote:I had exactly that with exactly that disk. Much later I realised I needed to go kill the partition in another OS. I'd suggest go plug it into a mac, a linux box or if you know your way round the console plug it in to the USB port at the back of the NAS and do it that way. The key is, make the existing disk partition unrecognisable to the NAS so it will attempt to set it up from scratch. Mine ran the old disk firmware, so I wouldn't think firmware was the problem. Definitely make sure your NAS firmware is at least the version pwilson specified though.


Ah thank you! I guess i should have tried that!

I will DD over the first 1024k & try again, fingers crossed!

& Props to pwilson for boosting his post count :P

User avatar
marshalleq
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 302
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 2:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by marshalleq » Tue Jul 30, 2013 6:21 pm

Well, here's hoping it works. And your terminology gives me great confidence in your ability to sort it!

I'm feeling too polite to say anything about the last comment, but it made me laugh! ;)

Good luck.
TS669-L (3GB RAM) fw 4.3.2.0050 Build 20170104 with 6x4TB Seagate ST4000VN000-1H41SC43 2x2TB Hitachi HDS723020BLA642 2x8TB ST8000VN0022-2EL112
QNAP UX-500P External 5 Bay USB3 Expansion Cabinet
Raspberry Pi 1,2 & 3
Mac Mini
Apple TV 3/4
Windows
Sabayon Linux
Ubuntu Linux
Android
Docker
Ryzen 1800x custom system

Web
https://www.tech-knowhow.com

Twitter
@Marshalleq
@TechKn0wH0w

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware & Software Compatibility”