TS-469 Pro - Web UI stuck in redirect loop

Discussion on setting up QNAP NAS products.
Post Reply
RichM2
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 3:55 am

TS-469 Pro - Web UI stuck in redirect loop

Post by RichM2 »

Recently upgraded firmware to 4.1.3 build 0217 and after reboot, cannot access the web management UI at http://devicename.

Page returned is:

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
	<head>
<meta http-equiv="expires" content="0">
<script type='text/javascript'>
	location.href = 'http://<device name here>:80/';
</script>
	</head>
</html>
As you can see, it simply redirects back to the same URL.

Attempting to access via https gives:

Code: Select all

Service Temporarily Unavailable

The server is temporarily unable to service your request due to maintenance downtime or capacity problems. Please try again later.
So far I have tried reinstalling the firmware - no change. Downgrading to 4.0.7 build 0410 - no change.

How can I get the console back? File services and FTP are operating fine.
User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22533
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: TS-469 Pro - Web UI stuck in redirect loop

Post by pwilson »

Access your NAS via SSH (download PuTTY), login as "admin" and run:

Code: Select all

cp /etc/config/uLinux.conf /etc/config/uLinux.conf.BACKUP
setcfg Misc Configured "TRUE"
setcfg System 'Web Access Port' '8080'
setcfg System 'Force SSL' '0'
setcfg stunnel port 443
setcfg -f /etc/config/stunnel/stunnel.conf https 443
/etc/init.d/thttpd.sh restart
/etc/init.d/stunnel.sh restart
#done 

You should now be able to access your NAS at: http://NAS-IP:8080/ and https://NAS-IP/

Please let me know if this works for you.

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.
RichM2
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 3:55 am

Re: TS-469 Pro - Web UI stuck in redirect loop

Post by RichM2 »

Thanks. I can't get back in again.

Does the web console have to be on a port other than 80? I thought for sure I had it on port 80 because I don't recall opening port 8080 via the firewall for remote access.
User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22533
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: TS-469 Pro - Web UI stuck in redirect loop

Post by pwilson »

RichM2 wrote:Thanks. I can't get back in again.

Does the web console have to be on a port other than 80? I thought for sure I had it on port 80 because I don't recall opening port 8080 via the firewall for remote access.
The NAS Admin WebUI lives on port 8080/TCP unless you changed it.

Image

You should be able to access it at: http://NAS-IP:8080/ and https://NAS-IP/, after running the commands I provided in my last message.

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.
RichM2
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 3:55 am

Re: TS-469 Pro - Web UI stuck in redirect loop

Post by RichM2 »

Like I said, I'm sure I changed it to 80 at some point, that's why my redirect loop was directing me back to port 80. Your ssh commands changed it to 8080 and I could get back in.

Now, if I try to change it to 80 it gives a message, "The system port is used by other applications" when I click Apply
User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22533
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: TS-469 Pro - Web UI stuck in redirect loop

Post by pwilson »

RichM2 wrote:Like I said, I'm sure I changed it to 80 at some point, that's why my redirect loop was directing me back to port 80. Your ssh commands changed it to 8080 and I could get back in.

Now, if I try to change it to 80 it gives a message, "The system port is used by other applications" when I click Apply
If you'd simply run the commands I suggested it would put it back to default port 8080. Anyway, I'm not here to argue with you, so either try those commands, or don't, entirely at your own preference. Good luck.

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.
RichM2
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 3:55 am

Re: TS-469 Pro - Web UI stuck in redirect loop

Post by RichM2 »

I did use the commands, and it's at port 8080. No argument there... Just pointing out that it used to be at port 80, and now I can't put it back to port 80 because it says that port is in use when I try. It's not a huge deal since I have to access via VPN, now, anyway, sort the port number is irrelevant, but was just wondering what changed so that I can't set it to port 80.
User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22533
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: TS-469 Pro - Web UI stuck in redirect loop

Post by pwilson »

RichM2 wrote:I did use the commands, and it's at port 8080. No argument there... Just pointing out that it used to be at port 80, and now I can't put it back to port 80 because it says that port is in use when I try. It's not a huge deal since I have to access via VPN, now, anyway, sort the port number is irrelevant, but was just wondering what changed so that I can't set it to port 80.
Port 80/TCP is the default HTTP port for the Web Server. (Just like every other public Web Server on the Internet):

Image

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.
DerJochen
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 4:38 am

Re: TS-469 Pro - Web UI stuck in redirect loop

Post by DerJochen »

pwilson wrote:Access your NAS via SSH (download PuTTY), login as "admin" and run:

Code: Select all

...
You should now be able to access your NAS at: http://NAS-IP:8080/ and https://NAS-IP/

Please let me know if this works for you.
I had the same problem and it worked for me. Thanks!
abeltcb
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 5:06 pm

Re: TS-469 Pro - Web UI stuck in redirect loop

Post by abeltcb »

recently I try to login to my nas, I would not login. because it give a blank screen without any where to login.
User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 35005
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: TS-469 Pro - Web UI stuck in redirect loop

Post by dolbyman »

please don't dig out age old threads and post no useful info at all

open a new thread and fully explain the situation
Post Reply

Return to “Turbo Station Installation & Setup”