WD Red SMART load/Unload utility

Printers, HDDs, USB/eSATA drives, 3rd-party programs
User avatar
Toxic17
Ask me anything
Posts: 6469
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

WD Red SMART load/Unload utility

Post by Toxic17 »

Has anyone updated their Reds with the "WD Red SMART load/Unload utility" I have 4 WD REDs WD30EFRX (NASWare 3.0) drives to fit soon and was wondering if I should update the drives with this utility before fitting them. seen a number of posts on other forums where the load cycle count is increased excessively on each drive and this is suppose to stop this.

http://support.wdc.com/product/download ... 01&lang=en
Regards Simon

Qnap Downloads
MyQNap.Org Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-673A QuTS hero h5.1.2.2534 • TS-121 4.3.3.2420 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G
Network: VM Hub3: 500/50 • UniFi UDM Pro: 3.2.9 • UniFi Network Controller: 8.0.28
USW-Aggregation: 6.6.61 • US-16-150W: 6.6.61 • 2x USW Mini Flex 2.0.0 • UniFi AC Pro 6.6.62 • UniFi U6-LR 6.6.62
UniFi Protect: 2.11.21/8TB Skyhawk AI • 3x G3 Instants: 4.69.55 • UniFi G3 Flex: 4.69.55 • UniFi G5 Flex: 4.69.55
User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22533
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: WD Red SMART load/Unload utility

Post by pwilson »

Toxic17 wrote:Has anyone updated their Reds with the "WD Red SMART load/Unload utility" I have 4 WD REDs WD30EFRX (NASWare 3.0) drives to fit soon and was wondering if I should update the drives with this utility before fitting them. seen a number of posts on other forums where the load cycle count is increased excessively on each drive and this is suppose to stop this.

http://support.wdc.com/product/download ... 01&lang=en
If your drives are already on NASWare 3.0 you probably don't need it, but it won't do harm if you try it. You can install/run wd5741x32 directly to your Intel-based QNAP NAS.

Here is how I did it:

Code: Select all

cd /share/Public
wget http://download.wdc.com/sata/wd5741x32?v=2916 -O wd5741x32
chmod +x wd5741x32
for i in {1..4}; do /share/Public/wd5741x32 -d $i ; done
#done

It produced the following output:

Code: Select all

WD5741 Version 1
Update Drive
Copyright (C) 2013 Western Digital Corporation


WDC WD30EFRX-68EUZN0   80.00A80   Drive update not needed
WD5741 Version 1
Update Drive
Copyright (C) 2013 Western Digital Corporation


WDC WD30EFRX-68EUZN0   80.00A80   Drive update not needed
WD5741 Version 1
Update Drive
Copyright (C) 2013 Western Digital Corporation


WDC WD30EFRX-68EUZN0   80.00A80   Drive update not needed
WD5741 Version 1
Update Drive
Copyright (C) 2013 Western Digital Corporation


WDC WD30EFRX-68EUZN0   80.00A80   Drive update not needed
Last edited by pwilson on Sun Dec 21, 2014 1:18 am, edited 3 times in total.

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.
User avatar
Toxic17
Ask me anything
Posts: 6469
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: WD Red SMART load/Unload utility

Post by Toxic17 »

Thanks Patrick. I take the drive utility can be run with the drives already in an array?
Regards Simon

Qnap Downloads
MyQNap.Org Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-673A QuTS hero h5.1.2.2534 • TS-121 4.3.3.2420 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G
Network: VM Hub3: 500/50 • UniFi UDM Pro: 3.2.9 • UniFi Network Controller: 8.0.28
USW-Aggregation: 6.6.61 • US-16-150W: 6.6.61 • 2x USW Mini Flex 2.0.0 • UniFi AC Pro 6.6.62 • UniFi U6-LR 6.6.62
UniFi Protect: 2.11.21/8TB Skyhawk AI • 3x G3 Instants: 4.69.55 • UniFi G3 Flex: 4.69.55 • UniFi G5 Flex: 4.69.55
User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22533
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: WD Red SMART load/Unload utility

Post by pwilson »

Toxic17 wrote:Thanks Patrick. I take the drive utility can be run with the drives already in an array?
Yup. Painless to do. I came up with those commands, so I didn't have to download the file from Western Digital, and then re-upload it to my NAS in order to run it. (I have many friends with QNAP NAS devices and WD Reds, so I came up with that script so I could do this remotely on all my friends NAS devices without even leaving my livingroom here.

I simply SSH'd to each NAS and ran those commands. That WD software only actually did something on one of the NAS's I worked on. All the other NAS's claimed the update was not required, just like it did on my machine.

I chose to do it in the NAS, so that I didn't need to remove the drives to test them. My method takes less than 2 seconds, including the download, so I didn't see the point of testing the drives individually in a Windows machine. :twisted: :lol:

Note: My TS-470 Pro has a 64bit OS, but I had to use the 32bit version of the WD Software. (See my commands in my last message).

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.
User avatar
Toxic17
Ask me anything
Posts: 6469
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: WD Red SMART load/Unload utility

Post by Toxic17 »

Thanks again for the update.
Regards Simon

Qnap Downloads
MyQNap.Org Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-673A QuTS hero h5.1.2.2534 • TS-121 4.3.3.2420 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G
Network: VM Hub3: 500/50 • UniFi UDM Pro: 3.2.9 • UniFi Network Controller: 8.0.28
USW-Aggregation: 6.6.61 • US-16-150W: 6.6.61 • 2x USW Mini Flex 2.0.0 • UniFi AC Pro 6.6.62 • UniFi U6-LR 6.6.62
UniFi Protect: 2.11.21/8TB Skyhawk AI • 3x G3 Instants: 4.69.55 • UniFi G3 Flex: 4.69.55 • UniFi G5 Flex: 4.69.55
User avatar
Toxic17
Ask me anything
Posts: 6469
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: WD Red SMART load/Unload utility

Post by Toxic17 »

Drives did not need updating, thanks for the tip though Patrick!

Code: Select all

[/share/Public] # for i in {1..4}; do /share/Public/wd5741x32 -d $i ; done
WD5741 Version 1
Update Drive
Copyright (C) 2013 Western Digital Corporation


WDC WD30EFRX-68EUZN0   82.00A82   Drive update not needed
WD5741 Version 1
Update Drive
Copyright (C) 2013 Western Digital Corporation


WDC WD30EFRX-68EUZN0   82.00A82   Drive update not needed
WD5741 Version 1
Update Drive
Copyright (C) 2013 Western Digital Corporation


WDC WD30EFRX-68EUZN0   82.00A82   Drive update not needed
WD5741 Version 1
Update Drive
Copyright (C) 2013 Western Digital Corporation


WDC WD30EFRX-68EUZN0   82.00A82   Drive update not needed
[/share/Public] # #done
Regards Simon

Qnap Downloads
MyQNap.Org Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-673A QuTS hero h5.1.2.2534 • TS-121 4.3.3.2420 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G
Network: VM Hub3: 500/50 • UniFi UDM Pro: 3.2.9 • UniFi Network Controller: 8.0.28
USW-Aggregation: 6.6.61 • US-16-150W: 6.6.61 • 2x USW Mini Flex 2.0.0 • UniFi AC Pro 6.6.62 • UniFi U6-LR 6.6.62
UniFi Protect: 2.11.21/8TB Skyhawk AI • 3x G3 Instants: 4.69.55 • UniFi G3 Flex: 4.69.55 • UniFi G5 Flex: 4.69.55
szafna
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 6:35 pm

Re: WD Red SMART load/Unload utility

Post by szafna »

Hi,
TS469L using 4x 4TB WD RED WD40EFRX
Also notice high LCC count: 180k in 3 years.
Try to use wd5741x32/wd5741x64

I get:
[/share/Public] # /share/Public/wd5741x32 -d1
Segmentation fault

same error with wd5741x64 -d1. Not sure witch version should be used. uname shows x64.


Any suggestions?
User avatar
Toxic17
Ask me anything
Posts: 6469
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: WD Red SMART load/Unload utility

Post by Toxic17 »

szafna wrote:Any suggestions?
Quite an old thread to reopen,

goto http://support.wdc.com/downloads.aspx?DL#downloads

select product, WD Red, Submit, then select WD Red SMART load/Unload utility 3.5" Drive. there are a few other commandline options but that is it.

you have not stated what firmware you are on, but i doubt it is compatible with this 4 year old product now you're running a newer firmware perhaps.
Regards Simon

Qnap Downloads
MyQNap.Org Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-673A QuTS hero h5.1.2.2534 • TS-121 4.3.3.2420 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G
Network: VM Hub3: 500/50 • UniFi UDM Pro: 3.2.9 • UniFi Network Controller: 8.0.28
USW-Aggregation: 6.6.61 • US-16-150W: 6.6.61 • 2x USW Mini Flex 2.0.0 • UniFi AC Pro 6.6.62 • UniFi U6-LR 6.6.62
UniFi Protect: 2.11.21/8TB Skyhawk AI • 3x G3 Instants: 4.69.55 • UniFi G3 Flex: 4.69.55 • UniFi G5 Flex: 4.69.55
szafna
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 6:35 pm

Re: WD Red SMART load/Unload utility

Post by szafna »

Firmware version: 80.00A80

I checked http://support.wdc.com/downloads.aspx?DL#downloads
where only Windows version is available.

However using
http://download.wdc.com/sata/wd5741x32

I get Linux version I tried with Segmentation fault error.
P3R
Guru
Posts: 13190
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: WD Red SMART load/Unload utility

Post by P3R »

szafna wrote:I get Linux version I tried with Segmentation fault error.
Since you're having problems with a WD product the obvious place to go is here.
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!
Eusii
Starting out
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 1:12 am

Re: WD Red SMART load/Unload utility

Post by Eusii »

pwilson wrote: Here is how I did it:

Code: Select all

cd /share/Public
wget http://download.wdc.com/sata/wd5741x32?v=2916 -O wd5741x32
chmod +x wd5741x32
for i in {1..4}; do /share/Public/wd5741x32 -d $i ; done
#done

Hey Patrick,
Thanks for your great comments!

However, if I am doing this, I am getting "cannot execute binary file":


Image


Using: 4x WD RED 4TB (WD40EFRX) on my TS-419P II (4.3.3.0154).


Any ideas?
User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 35024
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: WD Red SMART load/Unload utility

Post by dolbyman »

your using an ARM unit, the tool only works on x86 devices

and Patrick died two years ago, so no more responses from him
Eusii
Starting out
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 1:12 am

Re: WD Red SMART load/Unload utility

Post by Eusii »

Hi dolbyman,

thanks for your answer.
Do you know there is also an ARM-based tool to increase the LCC? :-/
Or should I contact WD support?

P.S. sorry, sad to hear about Patrick
User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 35024
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: WD Red SMART load/Unload utility

Post by dolbyman »

No, just remove the drives and do it in a PC
Eusii
Starting out
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 1:12 am

Re: WD Red SMART load/Unload utility

Post by Eusii »

dolbyman wrote:No, just remove the drives and do it in a PC
Thanks again for your answer!

One last question:
Because I do not want to rebuild the RAID for every HDD anew (after removing and moving it back to the NAS)...
Is it possible to shut down the NAS, remove all drives, change the LCC via USB-controller in the PC and put them afterwards back to the NAS + start it. Does this work?
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware & Software Compatibility”