TS-877 4 Memory dimms

Printers, HDDs, USB/eSATA drives, 3rd-party programs
Post Reply
jl-p
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:32 pm

TS-877 4 Memory dimms

Post by jl-p » Mon Oct 01, 2018 11:43 pm

I bought a TS877 and choose to add 2 x 16 gb of ram
I was able to run on 2 x 8 and 1 x 16 or 2 x 16 and 1 x 8 but not with 4 dimms
So i contacted technical support and they told me i need to have 4 identical dimms.
So i now bought 2 extra identical series memory and still the same issue.
it works fine with 3 dimms but not with four.
Id doesn´t care which slot i´m not using but he only will start when one slot is empty.

anyone the same issue or an solution.

Johan
Model: TS-877-1700 FW: 4.3.4.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-6] 6 x 4TB Seagate SkyHawk (SSD): [RAID-0] 1 x 500GB Samsung EVo 860

RAM: Kingston 48GB DDR4-2400 (BECAUSE 64 wont work yet)
GPU: Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB
UPS: APC 1400 Ext. Backup: QNAP TS-509 Pro (5 x 2 TB WD Purple)

User avatar
storageman
Ask me anything
Posts: 5511
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: TS-877 4 Memory dimms

Post by storageman » Mon Oct 01, 2018 11:52 pm

Are they all the same make or are you mixing Qnap RAM with third-party RAM?
What RAM models are you using?

jl-p
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:32 pm

Re: TS-877 4 Memory dimms

Post by jl-p » Tue Oct 02, 2018 1:14 am

No all the same all DDR 4 16 GB 1.2v with the same model numbers

But also with the default 8gb module i had this issue.
I can use the two 16gb and 1 x 8 gb but not two 8gb

i have KVR24N17D8/16

now with three modules i have 48 Gb
Model: TS-877-1700 FW: 4.3.4.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-6] 6 x 4TB Seagate SkyHawk (SSD): [RAID-0] 1 x 500GB Samsung EVo 860

RAM: Kingston 48GB DDR4-2400 (BECAUSE 64 wont work yet)
GPU: Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB
UPS: APC 1400 Ext. Backup: QNAP TS-509 Pro (5 x 2 TB WD Purple)

User avatar
Trexx
Ask me anything
Posts: 5285
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: TS-877 4 Memory dimms

Post by Trexx » Tue Oct 02, 2018 4:18 am

Can you provide a link to exactly what you bought? Brand/model/etc.?
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.3.x
QTS (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
Data (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar
VMs (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
Ext. (HDD): TR-004 [Raid-5] 4 x 4TB HGST Ultastor
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060 6GB
UPS: CP AVR1350

Model:TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
Model:TS-228a FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

jl-p
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:32 pm

Re: TS-877 4 Memory dimms

Post by jl-p » Tue Oct 02, 2018 4:34 am

https://www.kingston.com/us/memory/search?model=97465&devicetype=8&mfr=QNP&line=NAS%20Servers

http://www.kingston.com/dataSheets/KVR24N17D8_16.pdf



qnap.png

qnap2.png


I will update this tomorrow to show it also work with slot 4 empty or one of the others.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Model: TS-877-1700 FW: 4.3.4.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-6] 6 x 4TB Seagate SkyHawk (SSD): [RAID-0] 1 x 500GB Samsung EVo 860

RAM: Kingston 48GB DDR4-2400 (BECAUSE 64 wont work yet)
GPU: Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB
UPS: APC 1400 Ext. Backup: QNAP TS-509 Pro (5 x 2 TB WD Purple)

User avatar
Trexx
Ask me anything
Posts: 5285
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: TS-877 4 Memory dimms

Post by Trexx » Tue Oct 02, 2018 5:35 am

It could be you have a bad DIMM.

I would trying using 1 DIMM at a time in Slot 1 and see if 1 of the DIMMs is unstable/causing problems.

Best way to test is to create a memtest+ USB drive and boot that to test the dimm (if you have a GPU card installed so you can see the screen/etc.).
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.3.x
QTS (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
Data (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar
VMs (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
Ext. (HDD): TR-004 [Raid-5] 4 x 4TB HGST Ultastor
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060 6GB
UPS: CP AVR1350

Model:TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
Model:TS-228a FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

jl-p
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:32 pm

Re: TS-877 4 Memory dimms

Post by jl-p » Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:15 pm

Slot 1 Doesnt work
Slot 2 Works
Slot 3 Doesnt work
Slot 4 Works
Slot 1 en 3 Doesnt work
Slot 1 en 2 Works
Slot 1 en 4 Doesnt work
Slot 2 en 3 Doesnt work
Slot 2 en 4 Works
Slot 3 en 4 Doesnt work
Slot 1 en 2 en 4 Works
Slot 2 en 3 en 4 Works


i tested every combination with every dimm in combination with every other dimm. but the outcome is the same so it looks like its not the dimm.
Ik look like something with the dual channel for slot 1 and 3

By default when i bought the device the 2 dimms were installed in slot 2 and 4

I also send a qnap diag to QNAP support


Johan
Model: TS-877-1700 FW: 4.3.4.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-6] 6 x 4TB Seagate SkyHawk (SSD): [RAID-0] 1 x 500GB Samsung EVo 860

RAM: Kingston 48GB DDR4-2400 (BECAUSE 64 wont work yet)
GPU: Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB
UPS: APC 1400 Ext. Backup: QNAP TS-509 Pro (5 x 2 TB WD Purple)

User avatar
Trexx
Ask me anything
Posts: 5285
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: TS-877 4 Memory dimms

Post by Trexx » Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:21 pm

I believe you minimally have to have slot 4 (closest to m.2 slots) filled. I have ran with slot 3 & 4 filled so I know that works. Sounds like either DIMM compatibility issue or board/bios issue.
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.3.x
QTS (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
Data (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar
VMs (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
Ext. (HDD): TR-004 [Raid-5] 4 x 4TB HGST Ultastor
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060 6GB
UPS: CP AVR1350

Model:TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
Model:TS-228a FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

jl-p
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:32 pm

Re: TS-877 4 Memory dimms

Post by jl-p » Wed Oct 03, 2018 3:14 am

If you ran with slot 3 and 4 then you don't have dual channel support.
So i think you have 2 and 4 just like mine came

Kind regards

Johan
Model: TS-877-1700 FW: 4.3.4.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-6] 6 x 4TB Seagate SkyHawk (SSD): [RAID-0] 1 x 500GB Samsung EVo 860

RAM: Kingston 48GB DDR4-2400 (BECAUSE 64 wont work yet)
GPU: Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB
UPS: APC 1400 Ext. Backup: QNAP TS-509 Pro (5 x 2 TB WD Purple)

Lufrutta
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 4:21 am

Re: TS-877 4 Memory dimms

Post by Lufrutta » Thu Aug 22, 2019 1:20 am

This post is already a bit old. But could you solve the problem?
I have the same issue and tried QNAP support for several days now, but no success.

Best regards
Wilfried

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware & Software Compatibility”