QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Introduce yourself to us and other members here, or share your own product reviews, suggestions, and tips and tricks of using QNAP products.
User avatar
spikemixture
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by spikemixture » Tue Nov 13, 2018 3:16 pm

Hey Moo,

My Ac2600 is set as an AP for mobiles and smart things in my house. I do not have a PC connected wirelessly .
I do have a Skull NUC that can connect to the NAS wirelessly so will test that.
Qnap TVS-1282 - HD - 6x8TB Wd Red, 2x 8TB Iron Wolf - (Raid 6)
PCI-e - M.2 - 2x Samsung 960 Evo 250gb - Static (Raid 1) - PMS
SSD - 2x Samsung 860 Evo 500gb - Static (Raid 1) - VM etc
SSD - 2x Samsung 860 Evo 250gb - Static (Raid 1) - Cache
M.2 - 2x Crucial MX500 500GB - (Raid 1) - Qtier
Back up - Synology -1817+(2x10, 4x6, 2x4) Raid SHR & Drobo 5n - 5x4tb Seagate & Buffalo LinkStation -2x 4TB Seagate = about 80TB as backup
TV client boxes - present and past - 2xShield Pro (2015 & 2017), Shield 16gb 2017, ATV4, Xbox 360 & one, FireStick, Fire TV, Roku3, Roku4, Chromecast, Samsung & LG Smart TV's and multiple android phones and tablets.
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience!
:roll:

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 6497
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Tue Nov 13, 2018 5:00 pm

hi spike o/

o kewl :}
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 Samsung 850 Evo raid1 cache acceleration read only. QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter addon.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung EcoGreen F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-659 Pro
[Backup] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-228
[Backup] QNAP TS-128 w. 1x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS)

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100mbps dl/50mbps ul FTTH Internet | Windows 10 Enterprise, Water Cooled PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides and articles by me
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

Image
https://faq.qnapunofficial.com/

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

derlordis0n
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 5:48 pm

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by derlordis0n » Wed Nov 28, 2018 8:36 pm

Hi there,

I´m stuck since weeks and the qnap support is no help.
Is this completely wireless setup possible (and if so how?):

Internet Connectivity: Router --wireless--> NAS (using 2.4Ghz through Network-Interfaces-WiFi-PCIe WiFi (2.4GHz): as Internet standard gateway)

PLUS simultaneously

AP functionality: Clients (inluding internet access) --wireless--> NAS (using 5Ghz trough Wireless App Station)

When I try this: NAS Internet connectivity works but the AP doesnt start (QWA-AC2600-5G the default gateway is WLAN...). Any ideas?

Bottom line: The NAS should be connected to the Internet wireless whilst working as an AP for Clients including handing over the internet connectiviy to them.

derlordis0n
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 5:48 pm

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by derlordis0n » Sat Dec 01, 2018 2:36 pm

Moogle Stiltzkin
spikemixture
would you have any feedback for me? Even if my requirements wont work when the NAS is in Client mode and receiving the internet connectivity wireless by the router none of my VM´s has access to the internet. I cant choose the Wifi Adapters in Virtual Switch...

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 6497
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Mon Dec 03, 2018 9:08 am

derlordis0n wrote:
Wed Nov 28, 2018 8:36 pm
Hi there,

I´m stuck since weeks and the qnap support is no help.
Is this completely wireless setup possible (and if so how?):

Internet Connectivity: Router --wireless--> NAS (using 2.4Ghz through Network-Interfaces-WiFi-PCIe WiFi (2.4GHz): as Internet standard gateway)

PLUS simultaneously

AP functionality: Clients (inluding internet access) --wireless--> NAS (using 5Ghz trough Wireless App Station)

When I try this: NAS Internet connectivity works but the AP doesnt start (QWA-AC2600-5G the default gateway is WLAN...). Any ideas?

Bottom line: The NAS should be connected to the Internet wireless whilst working as an AP for Clients including handing over the internet connectiviy to them.
derlordis0n wrote:
Sat Dec 01, 2018 2:36 pm
Moogle Stiltzkin
spikemixture
would you have any feedback for me? Even if my requirements wont work when the NAS is in Client mode and receiving the internet connectivity wireless by the router none of my VM´s has access to the internet. I cant choose the Wifi Adapters in Virtual Switch...
hi. you need to quote me to ping or i won't realize you are trying to contact me :)

if you want to ping on forum just quote like this
derlordis0n wrote:
Wed Nov 28, 2018 8:36 pm
....



i'm also on the discord channel sometimes.


anyway


i tested this so far

wireless client mode *it connects the qnap to the router wireless access point. all the client devices connected to the router via wired or wireless also can access the qnap because they are all on the same LAN network
QNAP > router (wireless) > desktop pc (wired)

Ap station mode *client devices all connect to the QNAP access point
QNAP > smartphone (wireless) & also desktop pc (wireless)


as for whether you can use both same time?

Well when i want to enable ap station, it told me to disable the client mode before i could.

But the thing is, i only tested 1 wireless at a time e.g. 2.4ghz and 5ghz

I did not try to configure 2 of them simultaneously. So i'm not sure if it's possible to say

set 2.4 for wireless ap, whereas the 5ghz is wireless client mode :'
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 Samsung 850 Evo raid1 cache acceleration read only. QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter addon.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung EcoGreen F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-659 Pro
[Backup] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-228
[Backup] QNAP TS-128 w. 1x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS)

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100mbps dl/50mbps ul FTTH Internet | Windows 10 Enterprise, Water Cooled PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides and articles by me
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

Image
https://faq.qnapunofficial.com/

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 6497
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Mon Dec 03, 2018 9:18 am

for internet,

my router logins to my ftth modem.

so i have to connect my qnap to the router if i want internet access.

when i tested the wireless client mode, to connect the qnap to the router wirelessly, there did seem to be internet connectivity.

as for using the qnap as a wireless access point with ap station without being connected to the router in someway. then it's in an offline mode. client devices like desktop pc and smartphone can connect to the qnap to browse shares, access qts etc. But internet would not work in this setup afaik.


in the wireless settings, there is some option for allowing connected devices to access the same network or something, you can toggle on or off.



anyway that's as far as i know in regards to that topic :}
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 Samsung 850 Evo raid1 cache acceleration read only. QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter addon.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung EcoGreen F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-659 Pro
[Backup] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-228
[Backup] QNAP TS-128 w. 1x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS)

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100mbps dl/50mbps ul FTTH Internet | Windows 10 Enterprise, Water Cooled PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides and articles by me
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

Image
https://faq.qnapunofficial.com/

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 6497
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:41 pm

Just an update.

Did more testing.


Now i'm using the QWA-AC2600 in the following configuration for my own usage


- Wireless ap station (this means, other devices will log into the QNAP via wireless, to connect directly)


to set it up, had to do a few things
1. install the wireless adapter (duh). do this with the QNAP unpowered.
2. boot up qnap after installation of hardware and refitting everything in place, then go to QTS network & virtual switch. You should see the wireless adapter as a selection, create a virtual switch for this device.

3. next is to go to QTS > nertwork & virtual switch > DHCP server.

Select the virtual switch you made for the wireless adapter, then configure the DHCP server setup based on one of the 3 suggested settings. The first one offered hints that there may be issues if you already use DHCP server. So it would seem to me the other 2 options are better at least for me because my router is DHCP assigning an ip for my QNAP, and then i'm running a DHCP on the QNAP solely for the wireless ap usage.
Image


Not sure which is the better setting so if anyone knows just comment back here.
https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/tutorial ... al-switch/
https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/faq/arti ... nfigure-it

anyway i used the 2nd setting selection, then it will set the virtual switch to a static IP (for the wireless adapter). Then you have a range of ips for connected devices to have once they log into this wireless ap.

However from what i saw, there is no permanent IP for the connected devices. not sure how to fix that. i set mine to expire 30 days.

4. install wireless ap station. and configure it, e.g. SSID, password etc.

5. then on your wireless client device, e.g. in my case i tested an android smartphone. login to the wifi as normal.


*update

apparently if connecting to the wireless AP by the QNAP's QWA-AC2600, it DOES connect you to the internet. I ran the ip check, and it is using the QNAP's PIA VPN gateway. I'm not sure whether the requirement for this is to use the QVPN setting (allow all devices connected to the QNAP to also use the internet), but i suspect so. So if you don't get internet access, try enabling that option (if your using e.g. VPN PIA as gateway)



As such my setup is just mostly to connect to the QNAP wireless just for access to the NAS only (for stuff like browsing pictures, videos, files etc, using apps like filexplorer, qphotos, qfile etc....)

so anyway, when your client device connects to the wireless ap, you can also go to QTS wireless ap station and see that your client successfully connected.



So now to test that i can actually browse my QNAP shares, i use file explorer fx for android. because it has lots of neat features.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... tapp.fx.rk


You to the apps, network, then click the add, then browse. Your QNAP should be detected. Add your credentials then logged in. mine worked fine.

Next test i did was with qnap's own android app qphoto.

I click detect nas, but it didn't find anything.... so i had to manually add in the wireless AP IP, add credentials then connect. it worked. However like i said, in contrast to the file explorer app which could detect the QNAP on the network auto, the qphoto app could not. I don't know why not.

Another difference between these apps i noticed, the file explorer i could use the NAS name rather than digit lan ip. but the qphoto app did not allow that, and strictly wanted a digit lan ip.


Summary

So with my setup, the QNAP can be accessed wirelessly for both local. Also can get internet access through it as well for connected client devices.

Then for router wireless (for internet), that has another wireless ap setup in router which is for guest wireless with no LAN access. There is also another wireless ap for admin users, which has both lan and internet access (meaning entire lan access to other devices on the lan, besides the QNAP).

To access the QNAP, it can then only be done via rj45 direct to physical switch connected to the QNAP. or as i said, to use the QNAP's own wireless ap.


tested wireless performance, it has good signal strength :)
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 Samsung 850 Evo raid1 cache acceleration read only. QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter addon.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung EcoGreen F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-659 Pro
[Backup] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-228
[Backup] QNAP TS-128 w. 1x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS)

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100mbps dl/50mbps ul FTTH Internet | Windows 10 Enterprise, Water Cooled PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides and articles by me
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

Image
https://faq.qnapunofficial.com/

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

Post Reply

Return to “Users' Corner”