TS-470 Pro 4K?

DLNA, AirPlay, Chromecast, PS3, XBOX, iTunes, & other media players
KrazyManD
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 4:27 am

TS-470 Pro 4K?

Post by KrazyManD » Wed Jan 25, 2017 12:34 am

Hello All,

I bought my QNAP about a year ago and was wondering if anyone know if the TS-470 pro is capable or 4K resolution/streaming? I have my QNAP connected with Kodi and would like to know if I can stream 4k videos or play 4k videos from the NAS? If not is there a way to upgrade it to give it the capability or this is a long shot but does QNAP have a upgrade program? Thanks for your help.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 10858
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: TS-470 Pro 4K?

Post by dolbyman » Wed Jan 25, 2017 12:42 am

are you running kodi on the qnap ..or external kodi connecting to the qnap ?

KrazyManD
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 4:27 am

Re: TS-470 Pro 4K?

Post by KrazyManD » Sun Mar 12, 2017 11:21 pm

dolbyman wrote:are you running kodi on the qnap ..or external kodi connecting to the qnap ?



I'm Running Kodi on the QNAP. I notice in the Settings you can only go up to 1080p in both the qnap and kodi settings

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 10858
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: TS-470 Pro 4K?

Post by dolbyman » Mon Mar 13, 2017 1:02 am

I would just buy external streaming boxes and be done with it..use the qnap as the server

Aaronhayes
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 9:42 am

Re: TS-470 Pro 4K?

Post by Aaronhayes » Sun Apr 30, 2017 11:30 am

Hi All

Just seei g if anyone can confirm TS-470 pro 4k movie play back. Can this be done via HDMI if receiver and TV support 4k? Or via LAN stream? Or via external 4k stream box pulling the file?

I'm looking to expand my NAS but now don't know if I should get the RAID expansion or go with another NAS that can handle 4k?

I have 4k tv/reciever but no 4k files yet. So cannot test.

Kind regards.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 10858
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: TS-470 Pro 4K?

Post by dolbyman » Sun Apr 30, 2017 12:33 pm

4k can come in different codecs (mostly x265 hevc)

that i3 should handle most decoding ...but as said before ...unloading this to external devices will save you grief

Aaronhayes
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 9:42 am

Re: TS-470 Pro 4K?

Post by Aaronhayes » Sun Apr 30, 2017 4:40 pm

dolbyman wrote:4k can come in different codecs (mostly x265 hevc)

that i3 should handle most decoding ...but as said before ...unloading this to external devices will save you grief


Thankyou very much for the guidance, really appreciated. Whilst I was planning on upgrading the i3, I think I will explore external options for flexibility.

Cheers


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ensignvorik
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 8:24 pm

Re: TS-470 Pro 4K?

Post by ensignvorik » Sun Apr 30, 2017 5:17 pm

It's unlikely it will handle full 10bit 4K

If you want a device that will handle them with no problem at all and all the audio, look into the latest Intel NUCS whch can handle 10bit.

http://nucblog.net/
Unless I'm being blind, I can't find the setting to change what kind of QNAP I have on my profile. I now own a TS-253A

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 10858
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: TS-470 Pro 4K?

Post by dolbyman » Sun Apr 30, 2017 11:24 pm

or just a cheap android player ...I have one .. decodes 10bit hevc fine ..was 80dollars

kherr4377
Been there, done that
Posts: 885
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 3:33 am

Re: TS-470 Pro 4K?

Post by kherr4377 » Sun Apr 30, 2017 11:46 pm

... a lot simper too. . you don't need the NAS by the tv..... easier to serve multiple sets too
Production :
TVS-673 4.3.4 0387
4 X 3TB WD RED : 1 X 4TB HGST DESKSTAR R5
32GB
LAN-10G1SR-D, FiberHal for Cisco SFP-10G-SR
NETGEAR ProSAFE SS3300-28X

Backup :
TS-469L 4.3.4 0387
4 X 3TB WD RED R5
3GB
Located detached garage .. cheap offsite solution ...

2nd TS-469L awaiting drives and reassignment for front-line duty .......

Aaronhayes
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 9:42 am

Re: TS-470 Pro 4K?

Post by Aaronhayes » Wed May 03, 2017 4:12 pm

Thanks for the guidance guys. These options really help. Still trying to learn what is capable of the specifications i have in my setup.

Whilst i understand it is best to buy a capable device (I very much plan on this very soon), particularly to serve up full 10bit 4k, i was surprised to stumbled upon the smooth playback of an 8bit test movie (below). The test was simply via my Hisense 75m7000UWD DLNA playback (thank you gigabit). The movie, was one of 2 branded 4k downloads, which would not play back using the HDMI connection (assuming all my HDMI ports are not HDMI 2, but cables are). But they played fine with the tv pulling it.

These are compressed and not proper 4k. But what this tells me is that i may be ok doing the same with proper 4k files because of the gigabit lan, and more importantly, if it doesn't i have the device options. Which means i can simply get on with expanding my current NAS which was my reasoning for asking all this. Just awesome. Money saved!

Cheers

[mediainfo]
Video
ID : 1
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L5.1
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 5 frames
Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
Duration : 2h 10mn
Bit rate : 42.8 Mbps
Width : 3 840 pixels
Height : 2 076 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 1.85:1
Frame rate mode : Constant
Frame rate : 23.976 (24000/1001) fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.224
Stream size : 38.9 GiB (99%)
Writing library : x264 core 148 r2638 7599210
Encoding settings : cabac=1 / ref=5 / deblock=1:-3:-3 / analyse=0x3:0x133 / me=umh / subme=10 / psy=1 / psy_rd=1.00:0.00 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=48 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=2 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / fast_pskip=1 / chroma_qp_offset=-2 / threads=24 / lookahead_threads=4 / sliced_threads=0 / nr=0 / decimate=0 / interlaced=0 / bluray_compat=0 / constrained_intra=0 / bframes=8 / b_pyramid=2 / b_adapt=2 / b_bias=0 / direct=3 / weightb=1 / open_gop=0 / weightp=2 / keyint=240 / keyint_min=23 / scenecut=40 / intra_refresh=0 / rc_lookahead=60 / rc=crf / mbtree=1 / crf=17.0 / qcomp=0.70 / qpmin=0 / qpmax=69 / qpstep=4 / ip_ratio=1.40 / aq=3:0.70
Default : Yes
Forced : No

Audio
ID : 2
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Mode extension : CM (complete main)
Format settings, Endianness : Big
Codec ID : A_AC3
Duration : 2h 11mn
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 384 Kbps
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Frame rate : 31.250 fps (1536 spf)
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 360 MiB (1%)
Language : English
Default : Yes
Forced : No

Text #1
ID : 3
Format : UTF-8
Codec ID : S_TEXT/UTF8
Codec ID/Info : UTF-8 Plain Text
Duration : 2h 6mn
Bit rate : 101 bps
Count of elements : 2488
Stream size : 94.0 KiB (0%)
Language : English
Default : Yes
Forced : No

Text #2
ID : 4
Format : UTF-8
Codec ID : S_TEXT/UTF8
Codec ID/Info : UTF-8 Plain Text
Duration : 2h 6mn
Bit rate : 83 bps
Count of elements : 2143
Stream size : 77.4 KiB (0%)
Language : Spanish
Default : No
Forced : No

Text #3
ID : 5
Format : UTF-8
Codec ID : S_TEXT/UTF8
Codec ID/Info : UTF-8 Plain Text
Duration : 2h 9mn
Bit rate : 77 bps
Count of elements : 2071
Stream size : 73.6 KiB (0%)
Language : French
Default : No
Forced : No

Text #4
ID : 6
Format : UTF-8
Codec ID : S_TEXT/UTF8
Codec ID/Info : UTF-8 Plain Text
Duration : 2h 9mn
Bit rate : 69 bps
Count of elements : 2166
Stream size : 65.9 KiB (0%)
Language : Chinese
Default : No
Forced : No

Text #5
ID : 7
Format : UTF-8
Codec ID : S_TEXT/UTF8
Codec ID/Info : UTF-8 Plain Text
Duration : 2h 9mn
Bit rate : 71 bps
Count of elements : 2166
Stream size : 68.0 KiB (0%)
Language : Chinese
Default : No
Forced : No
[/mediainfo]

JBX077
Starting out
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 11:26 pm

Re: TS-470 Pro 4K?

Post by JBX077 » Tue Dec 04, 2018 6:31 pm

My 470 Pro is running Plex server. My LG TV has the Plex client and plays 4K video (h265) from the NAS just fine.
However playing 4K movies in Kodi causes stuttering. This also doesn't make sense because the NAS doesn't have a 4K HDMI.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 10858
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: TS-470 Pro 4K?

Post by dolbyman » Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:29 pm

cpu is probably too weak for software decoding

did you try enabling subtitles via plex on a 4k title?..that should start stutter

gggplaya
Been there, done that
Posts: 547
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 10:05 pm

Re: TS-470 Pro 4K?

Post by gggplaya » Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:35 pm

You know you can download 4k samples right??? http://4ksamples.com/ This site has different bitrate videos to try out.

JBX077
Starting out
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 11:26 pm

Re: TS-470 Pro 4K?

Post by JBX077 » Thu Dec 06, 2018 10:52 pm

dolbyman wrote:
Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:29 pm
cpu is probably too weak for software decoding

did you try enabling subtitles via plex on a 4k title?..that should start stutter
I'm playing 4K video with DTS audio and external subtitles from the TS-470 Pro on a LG TV with the Plex client app and it works fine. CPU is only around 20% because it doesn't need to do any transcoding. The first few minutes the CPU was around 96% but the NAS is also running a backup job at the same time and there was a lot of HDD activity.

However, I cannot play the same file on my iPad in the Plex app because the NAS's CPU is to weak to do the live transcoding.

Post Reply

Return to “Media Streaming”