809Pro - RAID decided to "Unmount" randomly (How to Fix?)

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
CaptainCanuck
Starting out
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 3:46 am

809Pro - RAID decided to "Unmount" randomly (How to Fix?)

Post by CaptainCanuck » Fri Jan 04, 2019 9:25 am

Hello,

My 809Pro decided to randomly "unmount" my RAID this afternoon... siiigh.

QNAP 809Pro specs are:
--8 WD 4TB drives
--RAID 6 with 1 HS

The System Event Logs said the following:
--"[RAID6 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4 5 6 7] The file system is not clean. It is suggested that you go to [Storage Manger} to run "Check File System".

Unfortunately, the option to run the " Check File System " is/was greyed out and not available... so I decided to head online and quickly read some 'forum fixes'. I thought the problem seemed relatively straight forward, my first mistake, and hurriedly ran what seemed to be the best fix (viewtopic.php?t=79123).

I always forget that back meds and being in a hurry are a potent ** for disaster... but, maybe that is just the meds fault! :-8 ;-)

When that didn't work, my common sense did not kick-in... and I ran the second 'fix' (viewtopic.php?p=224731)... which also did not work.

Both of my above fixes did not give me access to my RAID (mounting it) and do not show the volume. The GUI just shows the entire space as "System Reserved" with no access to the RAID volume

At this point, my regular brain finally kicked-in and told me to stop being a "#@%$" as I've now compounded my problems, likely elevating the fix beyond my skill level. So I finally came to my senses and realised I needed to ask for help to fix the mess I heaped on top of the original problem...

"Help! What should I do now?

TIA for any and all help! :D

Cheers!

CaptainCanuck

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4207
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: 809Pro - RAID decided to "Unmount" randomly (How to Fix?)

Post by storageman » Fri Jan 04, 2019 4:37 pm

What firmware?
Can you run Putty/SSH and post the results of "md_checker" ?
809 is quite an old box.

CaptainCanuck
Starting out
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 3:46 am

Re: 809Pro - RAID decided to "Unmount" randomly (How to Fix?)

Post by CaptainCanuck » Sat Jan 05, 2019 3:55 am

Hi storageman,

Thanks for the reply!

Yes, the 809Pro is older but has served me well mso far (along with her sister, another 809Pro, and her younger brother... a 1079 Pro).

I thought the firmware was updated along with my other QNAP's, it wasn't... the firmware is older, 4.1.1 (20141003).

When running "md-checker" I got:

-sh: md_checker: command not found

I used the QNAP supplied info from: http://unofficialqnapsupport.net/how-to-fix-not-a ... -manually/ to get the following info:

Welcome to MD superblock checker (v1.4) - have a nice day~

Scanning system...

Legacy Firmware Detected!
Scanning disks...

RAID metadata found!
UUID: 37fd7afd:32db88ef:9d83e176:41bccaa0
Level: raid6
Devices: 7
Name: md0
Chunk Size: 64K
md Version: 1.0
Creation Time: Aug 29 10:00:18 2014
Status: OFFLINE
===============================================================================
Disk | Device | # | Status | Last Update Time | Events | Array State
===============================================================================
1 /dev/sda3 0 Active Jan 3 21:51:31 2019 21 Uuuuuuu
2 /dev/sdb3 1 Active Jan 3 21:51:31 2019 21 uUuuuuu
3 /dev/sdc3 2 Active Jan 3 21:51:31 2019 21 uuUuuuu
4 /dev/sdd3 3 Active Jan 3 21:51:31 2019 21 uuuUuuu
5 /dev/sde3 4 Active Jan 3 21:51:31 2019 21 uuuuUuu
6 /dev/sdf3 5 Active Jan 3 21:51:31 2019 21 uuuuuUu
7 /dev/sdg3 6 Active Jan 3 21:51:31 2019 21 uuuuuuU
===============================================================================

Hope this is everything you need, let me know. Thanks!

Cheers!

CaptainCanuck

CaptainCanuck
Starting out
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 3:46 am

Re: 809Pro - RAID decided to "Unmount" randomly (How to Fix?)

Post by CaptainCanuck » Thu Jan 10, 2019 2:29 am

storageman wrote:
Fri Jan 04, 2019 4:37 pm
What firmware?
Can you run Putty/SSH and post the results of "md_checker" ?
809 is quite an old box.
Hi storageman!

Are you able to offer me any help with the above results?

In my haste to try and get my QNAP running again did I do any 'damage' to the unmounted volume? (re: the directions I followed that I linked to.)

Will I be able to 're-mount' my volume without any data loss?

If so, how?

Thanks, cheers!

CaptainCanuck

Thisisnotmyname
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 1:21 am

Re: 809Pro - RAID decided to "Unmount" randomly (How to Fix?)

Post by Thisisnotmyname » Thu Jan 10, 2019 4:41 am

all the disks are there and up, you could try to assemble the RAID...

mdadm --assemble --scan --verbose

should at least give more data about why it won't assemble if it fails to do so.

CaptainCanuck
Starting out
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 3:46 am

Re: 809Pro - RAID decided to "Unmount" randomly (How to Fix?)

Post by CaptainCanuck » Thu Jan 10, 2019 9:46 am

Thisisnotmyname wrote:
Thu Jan 10, 2019 4:41 am
all the disks are there and up, you could try to assemble the RAID...

mdadm --assemble --scan --verbose

should at least give more data about why it won't assemble if it fails to do so.
Hi Thisisnotmyname,

Thanks very much for looking at this post and offering your suggestions! Here are the results from the
"mdadm --assemble --scan --verbose" :

[~] # mdadm --assemble --scan --verbose
mdadm: looking for devices for /dev/md0
mdadm: /dev/md8 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3, /dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sda4 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/md9 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3, /dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sde4 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sde2 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sde1 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sde is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3, /dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdf4 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdf2 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdf1 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdf is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3, /dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdg4 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdg2 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdg1 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdg is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3, /dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdh4 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdh2 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdh1 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdh is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3, /dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdareal4 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/ sde3,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sda2 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sda1 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sda is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3, /dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdb4 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdb2 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdb1 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdb is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3, /dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdc4 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdc2 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdc1 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdc is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3, /dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdd4 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdd2 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdd1 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdd is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3, /dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdx6 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdx5 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdx4 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdx3 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdx2 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdx1 is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3 ,/dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sdx is not one of /dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3,/dev/sde3, /dev/sdf3,/dev/sdg3,/dev/sdh3
mdadm: /dev/sde3 is identified as a member of /dev/md0, slot 4.
mdadm: /dev/sdf3 is identified as a member of /dev/md0, slot 5.
mdadm: /dev/sdg3 is identified as a member of /dev/md0, slot 6.
mdadm: /dev/sdh3 is identified as a member of /dev/md0, slot -1.
mdadm: /dev/sda3 is identified as a member of /dev/md0, slot 0.
mdadm: /dev/sdb3 is identified as a member of /dev/md0, slot 1.
mdadm: /dev/sdc3 is identified as a member of /dev/md0, slot 2.
mdadm: /dev/sdd3 is identified as a member of /dev/md0, slot 3.
mdadm: added /dev/sdb3 to /dev/md0 as 1
mdadm: added /dev/sdc3 to /dev/md0 as 2
mdadm: added /dev/sdd3 to /dev/md0 as 3
mdadm: added /dev/sde3 to /dev/md0 as 4
mdadm: added /dev/sdf3 to /dev/md0 as 5
mdadm: added /dev/sdg3 to /dev/md0 as 6
mdadm: added /dev/sdh3 to /dev/md0 as -1
mdadm: added /dev/sda3 to /dev/md0 as 0
mdadm: /dev/md0 has been started with 7 drives and 1 spare.

What do you think?

What should I try now?

Thanks, cheers!

CaptainCanuck

Thisisnotmyname
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 1:21 am

Re: 809Pro - RAID decided to "Unmount" randomly (How to Fix?)

Post by Thisisnotmyname » Thu Jan 10, 2019 11:50 am

looks like the array has successfully activated. If you run md_checker again what do you see now?

CaptainCanuck
Starting out
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 3:46 am

Re: 809Pro - RAID decided to "Unmount" randomly (How to Fix?)

Post by CaptainCanuck » Thu Jan 10, 2019 12:21 pm

Thisisnotmyname wrote:
Thu Jan 10, 2019 11:50 am
looks like the array has successfully activated. If you run md_checker again what do you see now?
Hi Thisisnotmayname,

Thanks very much! That sounds like the start of some good news! :-)

Unfortunately, "md_checker" still does not work when I try to run it... it still gives me:
-sh: md_checker: command not found

... ... ...so I used the QNAP Support Directions that tells you how to download/install/run "md_checker" manually. After downloading and installing again I used the following commands:
# chmod +x md_checker

# ./md_checker

The results from the above commands were:

Welcome to MD superblock checker (v1.4) - have a nice day~

Scanning system...

Legacy Firmware Detected!
Scanning disks...

RAID metadata found!
UUID: 37fd7afd:32db88ef:9d83e176:41bccaa0
Level: raid6
Devices: 7
Name: md0
Chunk Size: 64K
md Version: 1.0
Creation Time: Aug 29 10:00:18 2014
Status: ONLINE (md0) [UUUUUUU]
===============================================================================
Disk | Device | # | Status | Last Update Time | Events | Array State
===============================================================================
1 /dev/sda3 0 Active Jan 9 19:32:11 2019 21 Uuuuuuu
2 /dev/sdb3 1 Active Jan 9 19:32:11 2019 21 uUuuuuu
3 /dev/sdc3 2 Active Jan 9 19:32:11 2019 21 uuUuuuu
4 /dev/sdd3 3 Active Jan 9 19:32:11 2019 21 uuuUuuu
5 /dev/sde3 4 Active Jan 9 19:32:11 2019 21 uuuuUuu
6 /dev/sdf3 5 Active Jan 9 19:32:11 2019 21 uuuuuUu
7 /dev/sdg3 6 Active Jan 9 19:32:11 2019 21 uuuuuuU
===============================================================================

Nothing shows up when I login via the Control Panel (System Status/Resource Monitor/Disk Usage)... and I am unable to connect to that QNAP RAID volume from any of my desktops as I had previously?

Did one of the earlier "fixes" before I asked for help, listed in my first post, screw something up?

What should I try now?

Thanks, cheers!

CaptainCanuck

Thisisnotmyname
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 1:21 am

Re: 809Pro - RAID decided to "Unmount" randomly (How to Fix?)

Post by Thisisnotmyname » Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:39 pm

well md0 is up and active. next questions would be whether that's the array you think it is and whether it's mounted to your file system. Let's see how big it thinks it is so we can rule out it being just the system partition for your NAS and not your data (those are very small). run...

mdadm --detail /dev/md0

or just...

cat /proc/mdstat

then...

cat /proc/mounts

to see what's actually mounted

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4207
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: 809Pro - RAID decided to "Unmount" randomly (How to Fix?)

Post by storageman » Thu Jan 10, 2019 4:52 pm

Legacy vol is share/MD0_DATA

Try "mount -t ext4 /dev/md0 /share/MD0_DATA"

CaptainCanuck
Starting out
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 3:46 am

Re: 809Pro - RAID decided to "Unmount" randomly (How to Fix?)

Post by CaptainCanuck » Thu Jan 10, 2019 5:48 pm

Thisisnotmyname wrote:
Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:39 pm
well md0 is up and active. next questions would be whether that's the array you think it is and whether it's mounted to your file system. Let's see how big it thinks it is so we can rule out it being just the system partition for your NAS and not your data (those are very small). run...

mdadm --detail /dev/md0

or just...

cat /proc/mdstat

then...

cat /proc/mounts

to see what's actually mounted
Hi Thisisnotmyname,

I ran:

mdadm --detail /dev/md0

And the results were:

/dev/md0:
Version : 01.00.03
Creation Time : Fri Aug 29 10:00:18 2014
Raid Level : raid6
Array Size : 19527247680 (18622.63 GiB 19995.90 GB)
Used Dev Size : 3905449536 (4096.00 GiB 4398.05 GB)
Raid Devices : 7
Total Devices : 8
Preferred Minor : 0
Persistence : Superblock is persistent

Intent Bitmap : Internal

Update Time : Thu Jan 10 00:53:14 2019
State : active
Active Devices : 7
Working Devices : 8
Failed Devices : 0
Spare Devices : 1

Chunk Size : 64K

Name : 0
UUID : 37fd7afd:32db88ef:9d83e176:41bccaa0
Events : 21

Number Major Minor RaidDevice State
0 8 3 0 active sync /dev/sda3
1 8 19 1 active sync /dev/sdb3
2 8 35 2 active sync /dev/sdc3
3 8 51 3 active sync /dev/sdd3
4 8 67 4 active sync /dev/sde3
5 8 83 5 active sync /dev/sdf3
6 8 99 6 active sync /dev/sdg3

7 8 115 - spare /dev/sdh3

When running:

cat /proc/mdstat

The results were:

Personalities : [linear] [raid0] [raid1] [raid10] [raid6] [raid5] [raid4] [multipath]
md0 : active raid6 sda3[0] sdh3[7](S) sdg3[6] sdf3[5] sde3[4] sdd3[3] sdc3[2] sdb3[1]
19527247680 blocks super 1.0 level 6, 64k chunk, algorithm 2 [7/7] [UUUUUUU]
bitmap: 0/8 pages [0KB], 262144KB chunk

md8 : active raid1 sdh2[2](S) sdg2[3](S) sdf2[4](S) sde2[5](S) sdd2[6](S) sdc2[7](S) sdb2[1] sda2[0]
530048 blocks [2/2] [UU]

md13 : active raid1 sda4[0] sdh4[7] sdg4[6] sdf4[5] sde4[4] sdd4[3] sdc4[2] sdb4[1]
458880 blocks [8/8] [UUUUUUUU]
bitmap: 0/57 pages [0KB], 4KB chunk

md9 : active raid1 sda1[0] sdh1[7] sdg1[6] sde1[5] sdf1[4] sdd1[3] sdc1[2] sdb1[1]
530048 blocks [8/8] [UUUUUUUU]
bitmap: 0/65 pages [0KB], 4KB chunk

unused devices: <none>

When I ran:

cat /proc/mounts

The results were:

rootfs / rootfs rw 0 0
/dev/root / ext2 rw,relatime,errors=continue 0 0
/proc /proc proc rw,relatime 0 0
none /dev/pts devpts rw,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs rw,relatime 0 0
tmpfs /tmp tmpfs rw,relatime,size=65536k 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs rw,relatime 0 0
none /proc/bus/usb usbfs rw,relatime 0 0
/dev/sda4 /mnt/ext ext3 rw,relatime,errors=continue,barrier=0,data=writeback 0 0
/dev/md9 /mnt/HDA_ROOT ext3 rw,relatime,errors=continue,barrier=0,data=ordered 0 0
tmpfs /.eaccelerator.tmp tmpfs rw,relatime,size=32768k 0 0
none /sys/kernel/config configfs rw,relatime 0 0
gphotofs /share/external/UHCI\040Host\040Controller fuse.gphotofs rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,user_id=0,group_id=0 0 0
gphotofs /share/external/UHCI\040Host\040Controller fuse.gphotofs rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,user_id=0,group_id=0 0 0

How does that look ?

Did either of my attempts to "fix" before asking for help via this post cause any further damage??

Thanks, cheers!

CaptainCanuck

CaptainCanuck
Starting out
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 3:46 am

Re: 809Pro - RAID decided to "Unmount" randomly (How to Fix?)

Post by CaptainCanuck » Thu Jan 10, 2019 5:51 pm

storageman wrote:
Thu Jan 10, 2019 4:52 pm
Legacy vol is share/MD0_DATA

Try "mount -t ext4 /dev/md0 /share/MD0_DATA"
Hi storageman,

When I ran:

mount -t ext4 /dev/md0 /share/MD0_DATA

The results were:

mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/md0,
missing codepage or other error
In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
dmesg | tail or so

Would either of my attempts to "fix" my unmounted volume (from my first post) have caused any further damage?? Or were those two "fixes" benign?

Thanks, cheers!

CaptainCanuck

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4207
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: 809Pro - RAID decided to "Unmount" randomly (How to Fix?)

Post by storageman » Thu Jan 10, 2019 6:02 pm

No, nothing you've previously done could damage the RAID/Volume
What does relaunching LVM do "/etc/init.d/init_lvm.sh"
Out if ideas, I would contact Qnap.

Thisisnotmyname
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 1:21 am

Re: 809Pro - RAID decided to "Unmount" randomly (How to Fix?)

Post by Thisisnotmyname » Fri Jan 11, 2019 12:14 am

I don't know what all specifically you previously did, I guess it's possible you don't have a filesystem anymore. What does...

blkid /dev/md0

give you? is there an ext[2|3|4] type on that device? If there's an ext filesystem there then I guess I'd fsck it...

fsck /dev/md0

CaptainCanuck
Starting out
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 3:46 am

Re: 809Pro - RAID decided to "Unmount" randomly (How to Fix?)

Post by CaptainCanuck » Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:34 am

storageman wrote:
Thu Jan 10, 2019 6:02 pm
No, nothing you've previously done could damage the RAID/Volume
What does relaunching LVM do "/etc/init.d/init_lvm.sh"
Out if ideas, I would contact Qnap.
Hi storageman,

Thanks very much, I appreciate your help!

When I ran:

/etc/init.d/init_lvm.sh

I received this:

-sh: /etc/init.d/init_lvm.sh: No such file or directory

? So it looks like files like md_checker and the one above are 'missing' ?

Does that mean anything?

Thanks, cheers!

CaptainCanuck

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”