TS-228A - long first installation time

Discussion on setting up QNAP NAS products.
Post Reply
PanGolan
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:39 pm

TS-228A - long first installation time

Post by PanGolan » Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:47 pm

All,

I have just purchased a TS-228A and started configuring it. Once connected to the internet and mounted HDD inside (WD Blue 1 TB) I downloaded Qfinder so as to started the whole process. The HDD led is solid green, the power button is flashing green quite fast (I suppose every 0,5s) and LAN indicator also flashes irregularly.

I started configuration process and know the bar shows 100% but nothing happens. Only "The system is being configured. Do NOT power off the NAS or unplug the hard drive(s)." is shown and the little cirle is running. Now it is like 1,5 hrs.

How long should it take? Should I switch it off and take the HDD out and install the firmware separately and then mount the HDD?

Thanks for the answers.

Blackbar7
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:33 pm

Re: TS-228A - long first installation time

Post by Blackbar7 » Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:10 pm

PanGolan wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:47 pm
Once connected to the internet and mounted HDD inside (WD Blue 1 TB)
:roll: :roll: :roll: Why?? This hd is not recommended.
Torrent friendly VPN: http://tinyurl.com/y95yspt2

PanGolan
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:39 pm

Re: TS-228A - long first installation time

Post by PanGolan » Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:17 pm

Blackbar7 wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:10 pm
PanGolan wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:47 pm
Once connected to the internet and mounted HDD inside (WD Blue 1 TB)
:roll: :roll: :roll: Why?? This hd is not recommended.
Yes, it is not on RECOMMENDED LIST but on the other hand it is not on NOT RECOMMENDED LIST. I have friends with Blue-series HDDs in their QNAPs. Is it possible the HDD is the only problem? Even if the LED is solid green, which means the drive can be accessed?

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4436
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: TS-228A - long first installation time

Post by storageman » Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:46 pm

PanGolan wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:17 pm
Blackbar7 wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:10 pm
PanGolan wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:47 pm
Once connected to the internet and mounted HDD inside (WD Blue 1 TB)
:roll: :roll: :roll: Why?? This hd is not recommended.
Yes, it is not on RECOMMENDED LIST but on the other hand it is not on NOT RECOMMENDED LIST. I have friends with Blue-series HDDs in their QNAPs. Is it possible the HDD is the only problem? Even if the LED is solid green, which means the drive can be accessed?
Correct, but it does mean Qnap won't troubleshoot any issues.
In contrast our friends Synology do have lists of what failed testing.
Long argued should be compatible/incompatible list if anything fails testing.

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43667
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: TS-228A - long first installation time

Post by schumaku » Sun Jan 13, 2019 2:22 am

You might want to wipe the partition table on the HDD and retry. Under some conditions, the ARM based units fail to destroy an existing partition table.

chips000
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 5:12 am

Re: TS-228A - long first installation time

Post by chips000 » Thu Jan 24, 2019 5:26 am

Hi All,

PanGolan did you get your NAS working?

I too have had a TS-228 initializing for a day! it was stuck on the update screen and I switched it off!! ( only after several hours) now it cannot be found on any of the install/initilize utilities. The drive has two Mountain lion 2TB disks and at the moment the "help" the installation is suggesting is that I should check that the NAS is on the same subnet mask as the computer which I have ( and it is)

I have tried to connect to computer directly, pressed reset button and held for 10 sec , but all to no avail. The LAN indicator just flashes, both disk lights are steady green and the status light flashes green.

should I do anything else??


Thanks for any replys.

cheers
Chips

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 12221
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: TS-228A - long first installation time

Post by dolbyman » Thu Jan 24, 2019 5:28 am

chips000 wrote:
Thu Jan 24, 2019 5:26 am
The drive has two Mountain lion 2TB disks
what does that mean ?

chips000
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 5:12 am

Re: TS-228A - long first installation time

Post by chips000 » Thu Jan 24, 2019 5:39 am

dolbyman wrote:
Thu Jan 24, 2019 5:28 am
chips000 wrote:
Thu Jan 24, 2019 5:26 am
The drive has two Mountain lion 2TB disks
what does that mean ?
lol, too late for me - I should have said the drive bays have two 2Tb seagate Ironwolf drives installed ( not mountain lion!!)

Post Reply

Return to “Turbo Station Installation & Setup”