Plex and VPN Gateway

Plex allows you to aggregate all your personal media and access it anywhere you go. Enjoy your own media on all your devices with the Plex Media Server.
jimkarri
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 12:57 am

Plex and VPN Gateway

Post by jimkarri » Tue Feb 12, 2019 2:26 am

I have successfully set up QVPN. All outbound traffic is routing through the VPN. However, incoming traffic is hitting my router and not going any further. I am able to connect to Plex with an indirect connection but, I am unable to directly access Plex. I also can not remotely access any of the QNAP applications with the VPN Gateway on. Here is what I have noticed:

The UPnP functionality no longer works
Port forwarding does not work
Placing the NAS in a DMZ does not work.

I have two questions:

1. Can you configure external access with a VPN Gateway?
2. Can you assign Plex specific network connection different from the system network?

QNAP TVS-871 QTS 4.3.6.0805

User avatar
Trexx
Ask me anything
Posts: 5008
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: Plex and VPN Gateway

Post by Trexx » Tue Feb 12, 2019 10:45 am

First question, why did you setup a VPN? For what use case? Any secondly, was there a reason you set it up on the QNAP vs. say your router?

This is prime example of why I prefer to setup the VPN on my router/etc. instead of on the QNAP. It keeps life much simpler. :)

When you are directly connecting to the QNAP via the QVPN Server (hosted on QNAP), the IP address of the qnap basically "changes" (typically to a 10.x.x.x #). Your Plex server has no visibility though to this, since it typically is on something like 192.168.x.x.

Are there ways to work around the issue (probably), but I wouldn't worry about using a VPN if all you are needing/wanting to expose is Plex externally.
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350
Media Boxes: Nvidia Shield TV Pro, AppleTV 4k, Various Roku's

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.1.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

jimkarri
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 12:57 am

Re: Plex and VPN Gateway

Post by jimkarri » Wed Feb 13, 2019 2:15 am

1. I am setting up a VPN to hide my traffic for Plex
2. Setting up VPN on my router slows down all internet access and not just for one application.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 15512
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Plex and VPN Gateway

Post by dolbyman » Wed Feb 13, 2019 2:47 am

1. Hide your Plex traffic ? if all traffic is routed through there, it's not just Plex please elaborate.
2. Works fine on my router, 300Mbit max (OpenVPN) for each tunnel

jimkarri
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 12:57 am

Re: Plex and VPN Gateway

Post by jimkarri » Thu Feb 14, 2019 1:20 am

You guys seem more focused on why I want to do what I am doing, that tells me that either it can not be done or you do not know how.

Thank you for your time.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 15512
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Plex and VPN Gateway

Post by dolbyman » Thu Feb 14, 2019 1:38 am

if you do not exactly explain WHAT you want to do and achieve, helping is kinda hard

And at the end of the day, most here do not use the QNAP for VPN (they use dedicated appliances for that) due to the fact that the QNAP implementation is limited

User avatar
GTunney
Been there, done that
Posts: 596
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 4:16 pm

Re: Plex and VPN Gateway

Post by GTunney » Thu Feb 14, 2019 9:16 pm

Have you forwarded the required ports from your router to the QNAP for VPN?

I have tested this myself and was able to contact my entire 192.168 network despite being on a 10.2 for VPN

I was also able to access Plex using port 32400, please bear in mind your plex port internally will be different to externally.
Model: TS-653B 8GB
FW: 4.4.1.1031 Build: 20190816
Disks: 3 x 4TB Western Digital WD40EFRX - RAID 5
Total Storage: 7.2TB
Applications: Plex MS | QCouchPotato | QSabnzbd+ | QSickrage | QHeadphones | HTPC Manager | Kodi v18.4 MySQL
Other Devices: Netgear D7000 AC1900 VDSL Router | FTTC - 80/20 | Netgear GS108 Gigabit Switch

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 743
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: Plex and VPN Gateway

Post by spikemixture » Fri Feb 22, 2019 6:36 pm

I wish to use my vpn on my NAS as that is where my media apps are operating.
I do not want the vpn on my router as then all my network will be effected.
I live in a 3rd world country but have a fairly fast internet. I buy my yearly NBA pass and want all my speed for streaming games.
.
My issue is also with Plex

Plex is running on the NAS
I set up my PIA VPN on the NAS @ 2 locations and can turn it on and off and it allegedly connects.

Plex is un-accessible when I "use VPN as NAS default gateway" i.e the button is green - "sometimes"

At the bottom of that box is "Allow other networks devices in the same subnet to connect to the vpn through the NAS"

That is UN ticked.

I would have expected that would be the button that causes Plex's un-connections .

Does anyone that is running Plex on their NAS with a VPN (on the NAS) have a working setup ??
Qnap TS-1277 1700 (48gb RAM) 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid5, 2x M.2 Crucial 1TB (Raid 1 VM),
2x SSD 860 EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD 860 EVO 250GB (Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe 970 500gb NVME (Raid1 Plex and Emby server)
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 (32GB RAM) 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6, 2x M.2 Crucial 500gb (Raid1 VM),
2x SSD EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD EVO 250gb (Raid1 Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe Intel 512GB NVME (Raid1-Servers)
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 (WD Red) - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 743
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: Plex and VPN Gateway

Post by spikemixture » Sun Mar 03, 2019 2:14 pm

Bueller! Bueller! anyone?
Qnap TS-1277 1700 (48gb RAM) 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid5, 2x M.2 Crucial 1TB (Raid 1 VM),
2x SSD 860 EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD 860 EVO 250GB (Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe 970 500gb NVME (Raid1 Plex and Emby server)
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 (32GB RAM) 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6, 2x M.2 Crucial 500gb (Raid1 VM),
2x SSD EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD EVO 250gb (Raid1 Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe Intel 512GB NVME (Raid1-Servers)
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 (WD Red) - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 743
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: Plex and VPN Gateway

Post by spikemixture » Sat Mar 23, 2019 9:14 pm

I must be unique !
There is not a qnap owner on this board that has Plex running with a VPN on the same box.

VPN's and Plex being 2 of the more popular subjects it is surprising I must say.

Oh well - such is the qnap world.
Qnap TS-1277 1700 (48gb RAM) 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid5, 2x M.2 Crucial 1TB (Raid 1 VM),
2x SSD 860 EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD 860 EVO 250GB (Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe 970 500gb NVME (Raid1 Plex and Emby server)
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 (32GB RAM) 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6, 2x M.2 Crucial 500gb (Raid1 VM),
2x SSD EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD EVO 250gb (Raid1 Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe Intel 512GB NVME (Raid1-Servers)
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 (WD Red) - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

User avatar
Trexx
Ask me anything
Posts: 5008
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: Plex and VPN Gateway

Post by Trexx » Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:46 am

That is because most users don’t need nor want a vpn for plex.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350
Media Boxes: Nvidia Shield TV Pro, AppleTV 4k, Various Roku's

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.1.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 743
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: Plex and VPN Gateway

Post by spikemixture » Sun Mar 24, 2019 3:35 pm

Trexx wrote:
Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:46 am
That is because most users don’t need nor want a vpn for plex.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ok but the vpn is not for plex .(and i don't want it for plex either) It is for the NAS.

Plex just does not work on the same NAS with a VPN set up!
Qnap TS-1277 1700 (48gb RAM) 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid5, 2x M.2 Crucial 1TB (Raid 1 VM),
2x SSD 860 EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD 860 EVO 250GB (Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe 970 500gb NVME (Raid1 Plex and Emby server)
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 (32GB RAM) 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6, 2x M.2 Crucial 500gb (Raid1 VM),
2x SSD EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD EVO 250gb (Raid1 Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe Intel 512GB NVME (Raid1-Servers)
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 (WD Red) - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

User avatar
Trexx
Ask me anything
Posts: 5008
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: Plex and VPN Gateway

Post by Trexx » Mon Mar 25, 2019 5:46 am

Are you wanting the VPN on QNAP as a Client to a different VPN provider or a Server (i.e you're connecting back to it)?

When you are using the VPN Server on the QNAP, your IP address of the QNAP changes when you access it through the OpenVPN client. So if say your normal IP for the QNAP is 192.168.0.10, your OpenVPN connected address would be typically be something like 10.8.0.1 to directly access the QNAP. Other IP's within your network (assuming you left use as default gateway for remote devices) in the 192.168.0.x space would behave as normal.

That shouldn't have any impact on Plex Server and normal access to it via Plex client as long as your client device (say iPad) doesn't have VPN connection to QNAP active.

If you are using the VPN Client option (using a 3rd party VPN provider such as PIA), then everything from the QNAP will route through that connection and it will all depend on what ports they open/block whether plex server would be accessible in that situation or not.
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350
Media Boxes: Nvidia Shield TV Pro, AppleTV 4k, Various Roku's

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.1.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 743
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: Plex and VPN Gateway

Post by spikemixture » Mon Mar 25, 2019 10:13 pm

Trexx wrote:
Mon Mar 25, 2019 5:46 am
Are you wanting the VPN on QNAP as a Client to a different VPN provider or a Server (i.e you're connecting back to it)?

When you are using the VPN Server on the QNAP, your IP address of the QNAP changes when you access it through the OpenVPN client. So if say your normal IP for the QNAP is 192.168.0.10, your OpenVPN connected address would be typically be something like 10.8.0.1 to directly access the QNAP. Other IP's within your network (assuming you left use as default gateway for remote devices) in the 192.168.0.x space would behave as normal.

That shouldn't have any impact on Plex Server and normal access to it via Plex client as long as your client device (say iPad) doesn't have VPN connection to QNAP active.

If you are using the VPN Client option (using a 3rd party VPN provider such as PIA), then everything from the QNAP will route through that connection and it will all depend on what ports they open/block whether plex server would be accessible in that situation or not.
Ok
I get confused between server and client!
And have not tried setting up a VPN server.
All my testing has been as a client.

I want to run all apps/connections on the NAS through the VPN (client) but PLEX fails - so I want to exclude Plex
Qnap TS-1277 1700 (48gb RAM) 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid5, 2x M.2 Crucial 1TB (Raid 1 VM),
2x SSD 860 EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD 860 EVO 250GB (Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe 970 500gb NVME (Raid1 Plex and Emby server)
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 (32GB RAM) 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6, 2x M.2 Crucial 500gb (Raid1 VM),
2x SSD EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD EVO 250gb (Raid1 Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe Intel 512GB NVME (Raid1-Servers)
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 (WD Red) - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

User avatar
Trexx
Ask me anything
Posts: 5008
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: Plex and VPN Gateway

Post by Trexx » Mon Mar 25, 2019 10:27 pm

The only way to do that will be that you have to manually edit the OVPN file from your VPN provider.

See this article for the basics around it:
https://www.reddit.com/r/PleX/comments/ ... h_openvpn/

Once you have the edited .OVPN file, then you can use that modified version and setup your VPN client on QNAP with it.
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350
Media Boxes: Nvidia Shield TV Pro, AppleTV 4k, Various Roku's

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.1.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

Post Reply

Return to “Plex Media Server”