TS-x51/x53 and custom operating system

Interested in our products? Post your questions here. Let us answer before you buy.
User avatar
parkerc
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 271
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2014 7:36 am
Location: Near London, England
Contact:

Re: TS-x51/x53 and custom operating system

Post by parkerc » Sat Oct 22, 2016 5:02 pm

Hi

I was just wondering if anyone with 16gb have noticed any issues when upgrading the firmware on their TS-453Pro (Not 453A)
Model Name : QNAP TS-253be (16GB) & TS-453 Pro (8GB)
Firmware Version:: QTS Latest
OS Version : Apple iOS (iPad/Safari Browser)
Number & Type of HDDs : 2 WD Reds, 3TB each, in Raid 1
Website (When I have time) : http://www.nodecentral.co.uk

ink
Know my way around
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 7:08 pm
Location: London

Re: TS-x51/x53 and custom operating system

Post by ink » Fri Apr 28, 2017 12:58 am

I tried 2 x 8GB (https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B009GYW1B2) (the 9-9-9-24 timed ones) in my TS-453S-Pro, but it didn't boot or display anything via HDMI.
I may try the Crucial ones (https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B007B5S52C) mentioned as working in the TS-853...
TS-453S-Pro - 4* 2TB - RAID10(ish) [Ubuntu ZFS] 16GB RAM

ink
Know my way around
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 7:08 pm
Location: London

Re: TS-x51/x53 and custom operating system

Post by ink » Thu May 04, 2017 4:46 pm

And the Crucial ones above did the trick, the ZFS ARC no longer has to struggle with just <1GB.

Image

Thanks for the link @bj2001holt !
TS-453S-Pro - 4* 2TB - RAID10(ish) [Ubuntu ZFS] 16GB RAM

viktormadarasz
Starting out
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 7:42 pm

Re: TS-x51/x53 and custom operating system

Post by viktormadarasz » Sat May 06, 2017 2:19 am

schumaku wrote:
javierin wrote:I am REALLY interested in x51 ability to manage 16GB RAM via 2x8GB sticks
Nothing QNAP can do - the max DRAM is limited to 8 GB by Inhell -> http://ark.intel.com/products/78866/Int ... o-2_58-GHz

Memory Specifications
Max Memory Size (dependent on memory type) 8 GB

The same applies to the TS-x53, too -> http://ark.intel.com/products/78867/Int ... Hz?q=J1900

Would be nice if users do some basic homework before asking about the impossible.


Hi Guys

My TS-453A is running and sees and also utilizes 2x 8GB Kingston sticks since day 1 when i upgraded it inmediatelly.

I have it more than a year now. Always on latest firmware never an issue

However i can not speak about its bios or tinkering as I did not ever ask.

Regards

Viktor


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

sergey_taurus
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 4:41 pm

Re: TS-x51/x53 and custom operating system

Post by sergey_taurus » Mon Jan 01, 2018 7:17 am

Got memory sigfault issues with TS-253A and Crucial 16GB Kit (8GBx2) DDR3/DDR3L PC3-12800 CT2KIT102464BF160B resulting in NAS self-shutdown: viewtopic.php?f=25&t=137879

Memory test did not reveal any issues, QNAP support suspected RAM and requested to revert configuration back to stock Transcend 2GBx2 RAM. No issues since.
Not sure what's special about TS-253A as TS-453A and TS-251/TS-253 reported working just fine with 16GB RAM.

-
Sergey

rsdavis
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2018 5:02 am

Re: TS-x51/x53 and custom operating system

Post by rsdavis » Tue Sep 25, 2018 5:27 am

Will 16 GB work in the TS-853A and if so what memory should I buy. Will the memory referenced above work:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007B5 ... UTF8&psc=1

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 15257
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: TS-x51/x53 and custom operating system

Post by dolbyman » Tue Sep 25, 2018 5:44 am

the shortened copy/pasted link does not work (because of the '...' and shortened url) ,, also please do not post the same thing in multiple threads .. thanks

srsylva
Starting out
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2018 3:56 am

Re: TS-x51/x53 and custom operating system

Post by srsylva » Mon Apr 15, 2019 9:05 pm

viktormadarasz wrote:
Sat May 06, 2017 2:19 am
schumaku wrote:
javierin wrote:I am REALLY interested in x51 ability to manage 16GB RAM via 2x8GB sticks
Nothing QNAP can do - the max DRAM is limited to 8 GB by Inhell -> http://ark.intel.com/products/78866/Int ... o-2_58-GHz
Memory Specifications
Max Memory Size (dependent on memory type) 8 GB
The same applies to the TS-x53, too -> http://ark.intel.com/products/78867/Int ... Hz?q=J1900

Would be nice if users do some basic homework before asking about the impossible.
Hi Guys

My TS-453A is running and sees and also utilizes 2x 8GB Kingston sticks since day 1 when i upgraded it inmediatelly.

I have it more than a year now. Always on latest firmware never an issue

However i can not speak about its bios or tinkering as I did not ever ask.

Regards

Viktor


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Hi @viktormadarasz, can you provide more intel about the 2x 8GB Kingston you're using?? a picture of the module would also be nice. Regards!

ink
Know my way around
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 7:08 pm
Location: London

Re: TS-x51/x53 and custom operating system

Post by ink » Tue Apr 16, 2019 5:58 am

6E023572-A5C5-4F48-A7DB-C2C67220933D.jpeg
NB: had to stitch two photos together, in case you noticed it looks a bit odd.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
TS-453S-Pro - 4* 2TB - RAID10(ish) [Ubuntu ZFS] 16GB RAM

javierin
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 9:24 pm

Re: TS-x51/x53 and custom operating system

Post by javierin » Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:43 pm

I can confirm after some years of use that TS853Pro is working flawlessly with 16GB RAM. There's another point, which is that the celeron CPU is SO LIMITED that it was really not worth the RAM upgrade cost.
My personal projects
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Chat Terra | Chat Gratis | Logitech UE Megaboom | Review Sony RX10 III | Review LG G6

Post Reply

Return to “Presales”