Change i440FX to Q35?

Post Reply
Nexusband
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 3:02 pm

Change i440FX to Q35?

Post by Nexusband »

Hi,

We recently got a TS-877XU-RP. It is running the 4.4.1.0949 Build of QTS, Virtualization Station is the most recent one.
As far as i can gather, the "foundation" for all of this is QEMU/KVM. We have a few Proxmox Servers, so i'm not that unfamilliar with QEMU/KVM.
However, Virtualization Station is...odd.

I've managed to get TianoCore/UEFI working, via some trickery with VirtualBox. However, i've set ICH9/Q35 in VirtualBox as Chipset. This is ignored and switched back to i440FX. Is there a reason why VS does not support Q35?
I would like to use SecureBoot as well, but there is no GUI way to change the settings. Where are the config files for the machines at?
User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 35276
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Change i440FX to Q35?

Post by dolbyman »

best to ask qnap via ticket

there is a lot of settings that are not exposed to gui on vm station
Last edited by dolbyman on Fri Jun 07, 2019 12:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Trexx
Ask me anything
Posts: 5388
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: Change i440FX to Q35?

Post by Trexx »

As dolbyman said, best to ask Qnap.

My quess is it is due to the age of QEMU that they are using:

Code: Select all

Compiled against library: libvirt 1.2.19
Using library: libvirt 1.2.19
Using API: QEMU 1.2.19
Running hypervisor: QEMU 2.3.1
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.5.3.x
QTS (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
Data (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar
VMs (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x1TB SK Hynix Gold
Ext. (HDD): TR-004 [Raid-5] 4 x 4TB HGST Ultastor
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
UPS: CP AVR1350

Model:TVS-673 32GB & TS-228a Offline[/color]
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq
Nexusband
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 3:02 pm

Re: Change i440FX to Q35?

Post by Nexusband »

For all those that have the same issue or issues, here are the steps to do it:

Make the VM via the GUI. LogIn on your NAS via SSH and define new environment variables:

Code: Select all

export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/QVS/usr/lib:/QVS/usr/lib64/ 
export PATH=$PATH:/QVS/usr/bin/:/QVS/usr/sbin/ 
use "virsh list -all" to find the UUID/Name of your machine. (you can also rename it with "virsh domrename OldName NewName")
use "virsh edit VMName/UUID". If you are not familiar with VIM, use "i" to put it in to insert mode and scroll down to

Code: Select all

<os>
<type arch='x86_64' machine='pc-i440fx-2.3'>hvm</type>
If you want to use UEFI, you can set it with

Code: Select all

<loader type='rom'>/QVS/usr/share/qemu/OVMF.fd</loader>
a line below.

With "virsh capabilities" you can find out what strings you can use, for example

Code: Select all

<type arch='x86_64' machine='pc-q35-2.3'>hvm</type>"
Mind you, i have not tested it, as i have been running those machines for a while now.

The issue is, apparently Virtualization Station rewrites the XML File everytime you change something via the GUI (which makes sense) - however the "loader type rom" string will get removed.
Which results in a non bootable machine, as it tries to boot via SeaBios - not UEFI.
Post Reply

Return to “Virtualization Station”