How to set a (IP) reservation for a MAC-address within DHCP

Don't miss a thing. Post your questions and discussion about other uncategorized NAS features here.
Post Reply
Hinti
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2017 9:58 pm

How to set a (IP) reservation for a MAC-address within DHCP

Post by Hinti » Sat Mar 18, 2017 10:10 pm

Hello together,

as the title says:
How to set a (IP) reservation for a MAC-address within DHCP?

I'm using a TS-253 Pro QNAP
(newest Firmware-Version 4.2.4 Build 20170313)

AlastairStevenson
Experience counts
Posts: 2242
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:34 pm

Re: How to set a (IP) reservation for a MAC-address within DHCP

Post by AlastairStevenson » Sat Mar 18, 2017 11:16 pm

I don't think this is a NAS question - assuming it's a router/gateway/DHCP server question.
You need to first of all find the MAC address for the NAS (Control panel | System Status | Network Status)
Then log in to the web GUI of your router/DHCP server, and use the DHCP configuration menus to create the IP reservation.
TS-431+ for storage and media and a bunch of IP cams under Surveillance Station. TVS-473 as files backup and QVR Pro.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19658
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: How to set a (IP) reservation for a MAC-address within DHCP

Post by dolbyman » Sun Mar 19, 2017 12:14 am

unless op is talking about the builtin dhcp server of the qnap

MinLever
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2019 1:04 am

Re: How to set a (IP) reservation for a MAC-address within DHCP

Post by MinLever » Fri Jul 12, 2019 2:28 am

Reviving this question.

I want to use the QNAP's DHCP server, but do not want it to fling IP around. Some machines are needed to have a specific IP, but can not have a static IP as they sometimes are connected to other networks.

I find no (GUI) way of doing this. Is there a settings file somewhere that can be modified?


TIA,
ML.

Prometeion
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2019 1:47 am

Re: How to set a (IP) reservation for a MAC-address within DHCP

Post by Prometeion » Sat Nov 09, 2019 2:07 am

The sequence is not fully intuitive:
First set-up the DHCP server with the basic settings, and activate
Then under "Actions" select "Check the client table" (magnifying glass)
In the popup select "Add Reserved IP"

riker1@gmx.net
Starting out
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:25 pm

Re: How to set a (IP) reservation for a MAC-address within DHCP

Post by riker1@gmx.net » Wed Jan 08, 2020 3:55 pm

Hi

could you please post a screenshot where you find the client table?

Which actions do you refer to ?

I do not find it ...sorry

Thanks T

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 7788
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: How to set a (IP) reservation for a MAC-address within DHCP

Post by OneCD » Sun Jul 05, 2020 3:57 am

I've just tried this via remote access to vQTS 4.4.1.1086 running on QNAP's demo site.

There appears to be a UI bug. After creating a new DHCP server, the magnifying glass icon in the 'Actions' column is not enabled:

Image

I had to close the 'Network & Virtual Switch' app, then load it again. The magnifying glass icon then worked as expected. A client table was displayed, and a button was shown titled "Add Reserved IP" which permitted me to add device information to reserve IP addresses.

edit: I've also created a support ticket with QNAP for this bug.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 7788
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: How to set a (IP) reservation for a MAC-address within DHCP

Post by OneCD » Mon Jul 13, 2020 11:46 am

OneCD wrote:
Sun Jul 05, 2020 3:57 am
edit: I've also created a support ticket with QNAP for this bug.
Following-up with the outcome of this ticket.

After some back-and-forth with QNAP tech support, it looks like the magnifying glass icon does work - if you give it a few seconds to 'activate'. If you click it while it's in an inactive state (immediately after creating a new DHCP server), nothing happens. Wait about 10-20 seconds, then click it - it works fine.

Note: there is no visual difference between 'inactive' and 'active'.

As I was only able to demonstrate this to QNAP via one of their vQTS sessions, they attribute the slow response to it being a VM. Which gave me a chance to complain about the slowness of the demo site sessions. :lol:

I've advised them it seems to be happening on "real" QTS sessions too, so they have asked that anyone experiencing this problem should create a support ticket.

Until then, they won't be making any changes to fix this display bug.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

spammenot66
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2020 2:09 pm

Re: How to set a (IP) reservation for a MAC-address within DHCP

Post by spammenot66 » Sun Jul 26, 2020 9:18 am

is there a way to manually set this in a file by ssh into the server and modifying some sort of file? The gui seems to have rules around ip range that you're able to reserve, but and its pretty difficult to use.

Post Reply

Return to “Miscellaneous”