New User to QNAP

Backup, Restore, Netbak Replicator, Cloud Storage Services
Post Reply
DDaigle
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 11:07 am

New User to QNAP

Post by DDaigle » Fri Jul 24, 2020 3:34 am

So I have starting building up my TS-1635ax. Up until recently, I have had a couple Synology devices at work (not my choice) and now I have this.

In getting started, I noticed a few things after i copied all the data from my old Buffalo LS 421 to here. Apparently the first volume has all kinds of system things on it.

I had not planned on this so here is what i have done. I have bought some other smaller SSD drives to become my 'system' volume.
I have 2 10TB drives (where system is) and 2 3TB drives (where i have data from my LS).

I plan to put the two SSD drives in and make them my system volume. I have noticed from all the searching that there are no easy ways to move some things. So the real question is this. How can i reinstall this box onto the new SSD Drives and preserve the data on the 3TB Volume?

Do i sync the data and have the the sync program 'eject' them when they are done? Does this save the volume such that i could bring it back and restore?

I would 'prefer' to keep as much of the configuration as possible but the REAL requirement is a way to save the data on those 3TB drives when this is done.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19985
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: New User to QNAP

Post by dolbyman » Fri Jul 24, 2020 3:54 am

you can always start the system from scratch and restore from backups (always external backups)

I don't think your will gain much from installing the system on SSD's, what is the use case of the machine? (I would just install system and files on a large RAID and be good)

DDaigle
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 11:07 am

Re: New User to QNAP

Post by DDaigle » Fri Jul 24, 2020 5:03 am

I guess its an OCD thing, I wanted it separate.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19985
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: New User to QNAP

Post by dolbyman » Fri Jul 24, 2020 5:09 am

If the machine used for fileshare and backups target, I wouldn't spend too much time worrying about any special setup. If there is default shares you do not like, you can always hide them from SMB enumeration

Post Reply

Return to “Backup & Restore”