Disk appair "no-actif"

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
budi67
Starting out
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:48 pm

Disk appair "no-actif"

Post by budi67 » Sat Jul 25, 2020 6:31 pm

Hello all

I have a Qnap TS-431
A have delete 2 two shared folder and yet my disk appair "no-actif"
Even if I pull the disk out of the NAS and restart, the disk is still shown not present
The disk is Jbod
I don' have any access to my files

it's a solution for not loose my files ?

A big thanks
nas.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by budi67 on Sun Aug 02, 2020 3:56 pm, edited 2 times in total.

budi67
Starting out
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:48 pm

Re: Disk appair "no-actif"

Post by budi67 » Sat Jul 25, 2020 8:38 pm

Update :

I install DiskInternal Linux Reader on my PC and y see all my files.
Must i copy all my files on another DD ?
Why my NAS don't see the DD ?

Thanks

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19672
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Disk appair "no-actif"

Post by dolbyman » Sat Jul 25, 2020 9:00 pm

disk could have a defect..hard to say..any smart value info ? (please switch interface to english for screenshots)

also if the data is important ..you need a backup strategy otherwise you will lose your data

budi67
Starting out
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:48 pm

Re: Disk appair "no-actif"

Post by budi67 » Sat Jul 25, 2020 9:14 pm

Sorry for the french interface.

When i put the DD into the NAS, the NAS found the DD but with error and after few second, it disconnect the DD
Is the disk out ?
nas2.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19672
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Disk appair "no-actif"

Post by dolbyman » Sat Jul 25, 2020 9:22 pm

if the disk has uncorrectable sectors that part of your data is already gone (if it was on thise sectors)

as long as they are readable and spare sectors are free it would be relocatable sectors

budi67
Starting out
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:48 pm

Re: Disk appair "no-actif"

Post by budi67 » Sat Jul 25, 2020 9:48 pm

Thanks for your answer
Is there anything to do or not?
I guess it’s best to copy everything to another disk?

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19672
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Disk appair "no-actif"

Post by dolbyman » Sat Jul 25, 2020 9:51 pm

if there is any takeaway..start backing up all your disks asap

budi67
Starting out
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:48 pm

Re: Disk appair "no-actif"

Post by budi67 » Sat Jul 25, 2020 9:54 pm

Ok, i order a new disk

A big thanks

budi67
Starting out
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:48 pm

Re: Disk appair "no-actif"

Post by budi67 » Fri Jul 31, 2020 11:16 pm

News

I found a disk that was once in the PC, but when I put it in the NAS, it doesn’t see it.
I don't understand :(

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19672
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Disk appair "no-actif"

Post by dolbyman » Fri Jul 31, 2020 11:21 pm

could be a busted port on top ...

viewtopic.php?f=25&t=134212

try to format the HDD and try again

budi67
Starting out
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:48 pm

Re: Disk appair "no-actif"

Post by budi67 » Fri Jul 31, 2020 11:26 pm

I must format the DD in the PC NTFS ?
I hope it’s not the physical ports!!

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19672
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Disk appair "no-actif"

Post by dolbyman » Fri Jul 31, 2020 11:27 pm

format doesn't matter .. make sure it's just formatted (ntfs,ext,fat32 .. whatever)

you could also clear all partitions with diskpart

budi67
Starting out
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:48 pm

Re: Disk appair "no-actif"

Post by budi67 » Fri Jul 31, 2020 11:29 pm

Ok, thanks
I'll do that

budi67
Starting out
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:48 pm

Re: Disk appair "no-actif"

Post by budi67 » Fri Jul 31, 2020 11:48 pm

Oh noooo what the ** !!!!!

When I released the disk, I was wrong
Once he noticed that I had released it, I put it back, but now I have the same problem as with the other record!! It appears not active
nas3.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

budi67
Starting out
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:48 pm

Re: Disk appair "no-actif"

Post by budi67 » Fri Jul 31, 2020 11:52 pm

false fear, it’s all good

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”