[ADVICE] CAYIN MediaSign affects DLNA Media Server

DLNA, AirPlay, Chromecast, PS3, XBOX, iTunes, & other media players
Post Reply
melliott1963
Starting out
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 4:53 pm

[ADVICE] CAYIN MediaSign affects DLNA Media Server

Post by melliott1963 » Mon Aug 31, 2020 9:29 pm

This weekend I updated the firmware on my TS-453 Pro to 4.4.3.1400. After performing the upgrade it advised that it would be good to install the CAYIN MediaSign App as it allows the NAS to read more file formats. So I duly did this, and activated my license.

The next day, I tried accessing my videos on my Smart TVs. No files or folders were displayed, whereas they’ve been fine since I started using DLNA to stream to my TVs for the last year or so.

After checking settings, security and everything else I could think of, I decided to stop the CAYIN MediaSign app. Immediately, all my files appeared on my TVs. I restarted CAYIN and they vanished again.

I don’t know if there’s anything else in particular I needed to do to get DLNA working with the CAYIN MediaSign app, but as everything is now working fine, I’ve uninstalled the app.

Am posting this in case anyone else has this issue and can’t work out why they can’t access their files using DLNA on their Smart TV.

Alternatively, can anyone advise how to get CAYIN MediaSign installed without it affecting the DLNA Server?

byrrt
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 3:48 am

Re: [ADVICE] CAYIN MediaSign affects DLNA Media Server

Post by byrrt » Sun Sep 06, 2020 5:38 am

Since installing version 4.4.3.1400 on my TS-231P, I have had constant problems with the DLNA server. The TVs do not see DLNA at all or after some time it disconnects and does not work for the next several dozen minutes. It doesn't matter if the Cayin app is installed or not .. Once again Qnap introduces a fix that makes it impossible to use DLNA ..

swepisode
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 7:17 pm

Re: [ADVICE] CAYIN MediaSign affects DLNA Media Server

Post by swepisode » Sun Sep 20, 2020 4:55 pm

same for me, the folder view won´t work anymore. by Artist or Title seems fine. Tested with multiple Clients. Any idea is welcome. Firmware 4.4.3.1421 installed.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19973
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: [ADVICE] CAYIN MediaSign affects DLNA Media Server

Post by dolbyman » Sun Sep 20, 2020 9:52 pm

support tickets need to be opened

only way for qnap to acknowledge issues (they do not come here)

byrrt
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 3:48 am

Re: [ADVICE] CAYIN MediaSign affects DLNA Media Server

Post by byrrt » Mon Sep 21, 2020 4:16 am

dolbyman wrote:
Sun Sep 20, 2020 9:52 pm
support tickets need to be opened
Unfortunately I reported the matter to QNAP support, but so far no results..

User avatar
Muphin
Starting out
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 6:23 am
Location: Noosa, Queensland

Re: [ADVICE] CAYIN MediaSign affects DLNA Media Server

Post by Muphin » Sat Oct 17, 2020 7:05 am

I don't seem to be able to get this to work at all.
WHAT is it supposed to do????
If it is a DNLA server it is useless to my HDMI connect HS-453DX.
All my video is in *.MP4 (1080) format and does not require transcoding "Video transcoding requires an activated CAYIN MediaSign Player license."
I have 3 activated licences but when clicking on the CAYIN icon all I get is this ""Please activate a license before using CAYIN MediaSign Player. You can go to Software Store choose among two license options, and purchase the one best suited for your needs.""

Post Reply

Return to “Media Streaming”