TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Printers, HDDs, USB/eSATA drives, 3rd-party programs
jkltech
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 12:40 am

TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Post by jkltech » Sat Aug 15, 2020 12:52 am

Can anyone tell me which memory they've used to upgrade their TS-253D from 4G to 8G and which chips they used with success?

The ADATA chip sold by QNAP go for $115+, while I think similar chips on Crucial sell for $18. Does anyone know if the Crucials are compatible or if there is a cheaper alternative to QNAP?
Thank you.

QNAP: https://shop.qnap.com/?route=product/pr ... nguage=USE
  • DDR type: DDR4(260PIN)
    Capacity: 4GB
    Spec: HYNIX 512M X 16
    Manufacturer: ADATA
    Frequency: DDR4-2400
    Form(PIN): 260PIN
    Manufacturer P/N: AD4S2400J4G17-BHYA
    Power Supply: 1.2V
    Dram Organization: 512M*64
    Temperature: 0℃~85℃
    Environmental Regulation: RoHS

Crucial: https://www.crucial.com/memory/ddr4/ct4g4sfs824a
  • Specs - DDR4 PC4-19200 • CL=17 • Single Ranked • x8 based • Unbuffered • NON-ECC • DDR4-2400 • 1.2V • 512Meg x 64 •
    DIMM type - Unbuffered

    Speed - DDR4-2400
    Warranty - Manufacturer's Limited Lifetime
    CAS latency - 17
    DRAM family - Crucial
    Density - 4GB
    Brand - Crucial
    Module type - SODIMM
    Extended timings - 17-17-17
    Form factor - SODIMM
    Technology - DDR4
    Voltage - 1.2V
    PC speed - PC4-19200

JohnnyBG
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 9:09 am

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Post by JohnnyBG » Fri Aug 21, 2020 3:26 am

I got this a week ago and have had no problems.

CT16G4SFD8266

Brand: Crucial
Form Factor: SODIMM
Total Capacity: 16GB
Warranty: Limited Lifetime
Specs: DDR4 PC4-21300 • CL=19 • Dual Ranked • x8 based • Unbuffered • NON-ECC • DDR4-2666 • 1.2V • 2048Meg x 64 •
Series: Crucial
ECC: NON-ECC
Speed: 2666 MT/S
Voltage: 1.2V
DIMM Type: Unbuffered
Last edited by JohnnyBG on Wed Oct 07, 2020 7:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

jkltech
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 12:40 am

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Post by jkltech » Sat Sep 19, 2020 1:38 pm

Thanks! Will give it a try. What NAS model do you use it on?

nastynick
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 1:39 am

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Post by nastynick » Mon Sep 21, 2020 2:57 am

Hi jkltech.
Did you try on the TS-253D
Appearrently, even 2x16GB works.

vlupin78
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 9:02 pm
Location: Rome

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Post by vlupin78 » Thu Sep 24, 2020 6:27 pm

Sorry but the NAS TS-253D maximum RAM is 8GB.... did you upgrade to 16GB??? works fine?
TS-219P 2HDD WD Caviar 10EADS 1TB - RAID 1
Samsung TV LED UE46B8090XP
Router Netgear
D-Link DGS-1016D Gigabit
PC Pentium 4 2,5 ghz - 1GB ram

gibi1970
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2020 3:41 am

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Post by gibi1970 » Fri Oct 02, 2020 6:45 pm

Hello everybody, good morning.
I'm also interested in upgrading memory of my TS-253D.
I've found a Crucial CT4G4SFS8266, 4 GB, DDR4, 2666 MT/s, PC4-21300, CL19, Single Rank x 8, SODIMM, 260-Pin

It's right for my QNAP?

Thank you in advance!

gibi1970
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2020 3:41 am

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Post by gibi1970 » Sun Oct 11, 2020 12:03 am

Hi everybody.
Just installed CRUCIAL CT4G4SFS8266.
It seems working perfectly.

BR

User avatar
Qmann
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2020 8:09 am
Location: USA

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Post by Qmann » Sun Oct 11, 2020 3:38 am

Nice!

I am upgrading my NAS memory as well and will have 2 x 8G (16GB) QNAP sticks for sale (for non-QNAP prices) if anyone needs them. :)
Model: TVS-872XT 64GB (Crucial 64GB Kit CT2K32G4SFD8266)
2 x 1TB XPG 1TB NVMe (ASX8200PNP-1TT-C) [RAID-1]
4 x 8TB Ironwolf [RAID-5]
Model: TS-569L (HBS3 backups)
Mikrotik CRS309 10GbE Switch
QNAP QXG-10G1T 10GbE Windows 10 PC
Intel X520-DA1 10GbE Windows 10 PC

Ron1963
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 462
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 9:22 pm

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Post by Ron1963 » Sun Oct 11, 2020 4:46 pm

Qmann, as there have been cases where Qnap support refused to look into things or simply blamed memory because of non-Qnap supplied installed memory it may be wise to keep the original sticks. Just saying.
1x TS431, 1x TS251, 1x TS253

User avatar
Qmann
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2020 8:09 am
Location: USA

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Post by Qmann » Mon Oct 12, 2020 4:13 am

Good advice!
Model: TVS-872XT 64GB (Crucial 64GB Kit CT2K32G4SFD8266)
2 x 1TB XPG 1TB NVMe (ASX8200PNP-1TT-C) [RAID-1]
4 x 8TB Ironwolf [RAID-5]
Model: TS-569L (HBS3 backups)
Mikrotik CRS309 10GbE Switch
QNAP QXG-10G1T 10GbE Windows 10 PC
Intel X520-DA1 10GbE Windows 10 PC

User avatar
R1200CL
Starting out
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 4:28 am
Location: Oslo

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Post by R1200CL » Fri Oct 23, 2020 1:19 am

There is reported several places that up to 32GB is possible to install.

Intel says processor only supports 8GB.

Has anyone a good explanation about if there can be any benefit at all to extend the HW supported 8GB ?
There is no doubt SW support it. But is there any point?

https://nascompares.com/2020/06/15/qna ... ade-guide/

kakugo
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 6:58 am

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Post by kakugo » Sun Nov 01, 2020 5:46 am

Did anybody try to add a non-QNAP 4 GB module to a TS-251D-4GB? Would it work to have both a QNAP and a non-QNAP module or one HAS to remove the original module?

psidrj
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2020 7:13 am

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Post by psidrj » Tue Nov 03, 2020 9:51 pm

kakugo wrote:
Sun Nov 01, 2020 5:46 am
Did anybody try to add a non-QNAP 4 GB module to a TS-251D-4GB? Would it work to have both a QNAP and a non-QNAP module or one HAS to remove the original module?
I also would like to know if it works.... but to a TS-x53D

User avatar
R1200CL
Starting out
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 4:28 am
Location: Oslo

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Post by R1200CL » Tue Nov 03, 2020 11:01 pm

I have 32GB in mine now. I would like to know why it actually works. I don’t think the processor can use more than 8.

User avatar
jaysona
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 356
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 11:26 am
Location: Somewhere in the Great White North

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Post by jaysona » Wed Nov 04, 2020 5:38 am

R1200CL wrote:
Tue Nov 03, 2020 11:01 pm
I have 32GB in mine now. I would like to know why it actually works. I don’t think the processor can use more than 8.
Runnig the command

Code: Select all

dmidecode -t 16
will show how much physical memory the CPU is capable of addressing.

The reason it works is because - in the case of your TS-253D - is because the Memory Controller and DDR Memory Interface are design to address that amount of space. That does not necessarily mean that the system the SoC is integrated in has the necessary circuitry to address the maximum amount of physical memory the CPU is capable of addressing.
H/W: TS-219 Pro / TS-269 Pro / TS-253 Pro (8Gig) / TS-509 Pro x2 / TS-569 Pro
H/W: TS-670 Pro (i7-3770S 16Gig) x2 / TS-853 Pro (8Gig) / TVS-871 Pro (i7-4790S 16Gig)
O/S: Slackware 14.2 / MS Windows 7-64 (x5)
Router1: Asus RT-AC86U - Asuswrt-Merlin - 384.19
Router2: Asus RT-AC68U - DD-WRT v3.0-r39960M kongac
Router3: Linksys WRT1900AC - DD-WRT v3.0-r43028 std
Router4: Asus RT-AC66U - FreshTomato v2020.7
Misc: Popcorn Hour A-110/WN-100, Pinnacle Show Center 250HD, Roku SoundBridge Radio (all retired)

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware & Software Compatibility”