Login Screen not usable on mobile devices

iPhone, Windows Mobile, Symbian, Android
Post Reply
haumichblau
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 4:28 pm

Login Screen not usable on mobile devices

Post by haumichblau »

Hello,

I installed QTS 5.1.0.2466 yesterday.

Now I have the login screen divided into two screens - one for the user name and one for the password. Both of them are optimized for a mobile device used in portrait mode.

And to use the button „Next“ I have to scroll down.
This is terrible to use on a tablet.
Is there a parameter to force the Desktop Login screen?

See attached screenshot.

Best regards,
Last edited by dolbyman on Sat Aug 19, 2023 4:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: removed screenshot of web exposed NAS
haumichblau
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 4:28 pm

Re: Login Screen not usable on mobile devices

Post by haumichblau »

No one else having the same problem?
User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 34777
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Login Screen not usable on mobile devices

Post by dolbyman »

Most people here will not use a mobile device to login to the administration console.

I have QMobile installed on my android is I want to have a quick peek via my phone (for whatever reason)

Just make sure the QTS interface is never ever ever directly exposed to WAN!

Judging by the screenshot (I removed it to protect your privacy) you are using a fritz DDNS though (title bar) .. so that probably means your NAS is web exposed.. Germany has been one of the hotspots that were hit by deadbolt. And Germany is still leading in web exposed devices (check shodan for example).. the next wave WILL come and a LOT more money will be extorted !
stormer
Starting out
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat May 18, 2019 7:41 pm

Re: Login Screen not usable on mobile devices

Post by stormer »

yes, same here on my iPad and it’s annoying indeed. Didn’t find a way a way to resolve it.
@dolbyman How do you know most will not use a mobile device?
User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 34777
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Login Screen not usable on mobile devices

Post by dolbyman »

Because of the few complaints we see about the cramped layout on cell phnoe screens
stormer
Starting out
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat May 18, 2019 7:41 pm

Re: Login Screen not usable on mobile devices

Post by stormer »

It is true that I only found this link when running a query on Google on this issue. I mostly use my iPad to manage or troubleshoot my QNAP or when installing new containers on Docker.
User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 34777
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Login Screen not usable on mobile devices

Post by dolbyman »

Well complaining here does nothing, UI scaling and layout can only be adressed by QNAP
we_are_borg
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2022 2:33 am

Re: Login Screen not usable on mobile devices

Post by we_are_borg »

This is what i see on my iPad latest firmware on Qnap and iPad. This happened last year after an update in version 5 from Qnap.
IMG_0254.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
haumichblau
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 4:28 pm

Re: Login Screen not usable on mobile devices

Post by haumichblau »

Hello,

I have the same problem.

The login screen is not usable…
User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 34777
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Login Screen not usable on mobile devices

Post by dolbyman »

And QNAP what did support say about it ?
ColHut
Know my way around
Posts: 245
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 12:13 am

Re: Login Screen not usable on mobile devices

Post by ColHut »

Can’t you just hit ‘enter’ after tping in your username on your tablet and then the second screen pops up automatically? Or are ‘tablets’ different? I use an ipad for most of my qnap admin.

Regards
dosborne
Experience counts
Posts: 1725
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 3:02 am

Re: Login Screen not usable on mobile devices

Post by dosborne »

For those posting more recently in this thread, it would be useful for others to know the EXACT firmware version you are running. If you read a number of the release notes for 5.0 and 5.1 firmware streams, you will note that there have been a number of fixes for this sort of issue. No point in wasting time if you are on an older version and the "fix" is to simply update your firmware. Not saving that is the case, but with nothing else to go on, it's a start and the original post was from last August so lots of updates since then.
QNAP TS-563-16G 5x10TB Seagate Ironwolf HDD Raid-5 NIC: 2x1GB 1x10GbE
QNAP TS-231P-US 2x18TB Seagate Exos HDD Raid-1
[Deadbolt and General Ransomware Detection, Prevention, Recovery & MORE]
we_are_borg
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2022 2:33 am

Re: Login Screen not usable on mobile devices

Post by we_are_borg »

Running QTS 5.1.4.2596 it started when Qnap altered the login screen. When the login was username and password on one screen everything was fine, when qnap splitted the login first username then another screen password thats when it happened.
Post Reply

Return to “Mobile Devices”