Will QTier keep items on the M2 if big enough?

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
Matt3k
Starting out
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2022 7:45 am

Will QTier keep items on the M2 if big enough?

Post by Matt3k »

Will files stay indefinitely on the QTier if the Qtier is just as big as the pool for example or will always move them back down?

I have a huge tier and only 60 GB is being used and want to keep everything on the tier until I run lower on space.

If you can't force it to stay, perhaps a pool on m2 or even a cache would be better?

I have 8TB of M2 and was looking for the best use of it. Items I don't edit large files. Just use occasion documents and use plex mainly.
User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 35258
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Will QTier keep items on the M2 if big enough?

Post by dolbyman »

Qtier is a black box .. only QNAP would know what it does and why

Otherwise you can only see how much is moved up and down
Matt3k
Starting out
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2022 7:45 am

Re: Will QTier keep items on the M2 if big enough?

Post by Matt3k »

Indeed a black box.

It does provide cache as part of the tier to speed up general performance nicely. It you have many spare TB's on the Tier it will constantly move down to the HDD even though there is no need to.

I will still continue to use it, because it is convenient and since it innovatively combines both a cache and a pool together.

If QNAP added the ability to hold in the Tier if there is plenty of space, IE the Tier is bigger than the entire data store.

So many Pros, just the one major Con.

Too bad, if QNAP reads these forums, perhaps someone can take this to the engineers to address.
User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 35258
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Will QTier keep items on the M2 if big enough?

Post by dolbyman »

They don't come here..no

Open a ticket if you must
Matt3k
Starting out
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2022 7:45 am

Re: Will QTier keep items on the M2 if big enough?

Post by Matt3k »

A step ahead of you...

So far they referenced and mentioned setting priority:
https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/tutorial ... erformance

This doesn't at resemble my firmware, the latest version for the box.

So I'm still on the case...
Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”