DNSoMatic Updater

Tell us your most wanted features from QNAP products.
Post Reply
realnas
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 11:14 pm

DNSoMatic Updater

Post by realnas » Wed Sep 16, 2015 4:47 am

Hi,
I have found different links on google to make automatic updates of IP to DNSoMatic (OpenDNS service) but I couldn't make it work.

Is there any package available or one can be made to make this easy? This will be great to secure home network.

User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22568
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: DNSoMatic Updater

Post by pwilson » Wed Sep 16, 2015 9:18 pm

realnas wrote:Hi,
I have found different links on google to make automatic updates of IP to DNSoMatic (OpenDNS service) but I couldn't make it work.

Is there any package available or one can be made to make this easy? This will be great to secure home network.


Can't you use one of the DDNS Services already supported by either your Router (preferred method) or your NAS?

Image

QNAP Turbo NAS User Manual 4.2 (SMB) wrote:DDNS Service

To allow remote access to the NAS using a domain name instead of a dynamic IP address, enable the DDNS service.

The NAS supports the DDNS providers: http://www.dyndns.com, http://update.ods.org, http://www.dhs.org, http://www.dyns.cx, http://www.3322.org, http://www.no-ip.com, http://www.Selfhost.de, http://www.oray.com.

Note: Some of these DDNS services are not free.

Additional Reference:

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.

realnas
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 11:14 pm

Re: DNSoMatic Updater

Post by realnas » Wed Sep 16, 2015 10:29 pm

Thank you Patrick for your reply.

I actually want to update my dynamic IP to opendns which isn't supported in router or by QNAP. Dns o magic service offers free update of IP to different dns service providers including opendns but even that I couldn't find supported.

User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22568
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: DNSoMatic Updater

Post by pwilson » Thu Sep 17, 2015 4:26 am

realnas wrote:Thank you Patrick for your reply.

I actually want to update my dynamic IP to opendns which isn't supported in router or by QNAP. Dns o magic service offers free update of IP to different dns service providers including opendns but even that I couldn't find supported.


If changing providers isn't an acceptable option for you, why not simply install and configure inadyn on your NAS? You can install it via QNAPware once you have that installed.

Code: Select all

admin@NASTY2:~# opkg list | grep inadyn
inadyn - 1.99.14-20150722-1 - Inadyn is a simple and small DDNS client written in the C language. It can maintain multiple host names with the same IP address, and has a web based IP detection which runs well behind a NAT router. This is a fork by Andrey Tikhomirov.
admin@NASTY2:~# opkg install inadyn
Installing inadyn (1.99.14-20150722-1) to root...
Downloading http://qnapware.zyxmon.org/binaries-x86/inadyn_1.99.14-20150722-1_qnapx86.ipk.
Configuring inadyn.
admin@NASTY2:~# opkg files inadyn
Package inadyn (1.99.14-20150722-1) is installed on root and has the following files:
/Apps/opt/etc/init.d/S52inadyn
/Apps/opt/bin/inadyn
/Apps/opt/etc/inadyn.conf

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.

realnas
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 11:14 pm

Re: DNSoMatic Updater

Post by realnas » Thu Sep 17, 2015 5:31 am

I have installed Qnapware but not sure how to install inadyn now. I logged into QNAP Nas with SSH and pasted above code you have mentioned in your post but it gives error.

User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22568
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: DNSoMatic Updater

Post by pwilson » Thu Sep 17, 2015 5:37 am

realnas wrote:I have installed Qnapware but not sure how to install inadyn now. I logged into QNAP Nas with SSH and pasted above code you have mentioned in your post but it gives error.


Try:

Code: Select all

opkg update ; opkg install inadyn

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43664
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: DNSoMatic Updater

Post by schumaku » Thu Sep 17, 2015 5:41 am

realnas wrote: I logged into QNAP Nas with SSH
Create a _new_ session - otherwise the PATH is not set accordingly to find Qnapware.

realnas wrote:...and pasted above code you have mentioned in your post but it gives error.
Copy and paste fro your terminal ... "gives error" is meaningless.

User avatar
jds580s
Know my way around
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 4:52 am

Re: DNSoMatic Updater

Post by jds580s » Sat Jul 18, 2020 12:21 am

This is a very old thread, but it came up first when searching for QNAP and DNSoMatic so I though I would share an update that this is now possible without any CRON job or scripting.
QNAP support helped me to figure out why the native "Custom DDNS" wasn't working for DNSoMatic.

The URL field, apparently, automatically adds the username and password, so if you have the custom URL written like:
https://%USER%:%PASS%@updates.dnsomatic ... ckmx=NOCHG

it's actually going to get the username and password twice and fail. The correct URL should look like:
https://updates.dnsomatic.com/nic/updat ... ckmx=NOCHG

Model: TVS-1282-i5-16G

[list]
[*]Firmware: QTS 4.4.1.1146
[*]Network: 10GbE ASUS XG-C100C card, MTU 9k
[*]RAID 1: [System] 2x WD Blue M.2 SSD 250GB
[*]Single Volume: [QVR Pro Storage] 1x WD Purple 4TB
[*]RAID 6: [DATA] 5x HGST HDN728080ALE604 8TB
[list]
[*] Qtier RAID 1: 2x Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB + 2x Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB
[*] Cache RAID 1: 2x Samsung SSD 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2 in two NGFF PCIe 3.0 x4 adapter cards[/list][/list]
Model: TS-459 Pro
[list]
[*]Firmware: QTS 4.2.6 build 20191107
[*]RAID 6: 2x HGST HDN724030ALE640 3TB, x2 Seagate ST3000VN000 3TB
[*]External: 4TB HGST eSATA Drive, UPS
[*]Network: 1 Gbps, MTU 1500[/list]
[/color]

Post Reply

Return to “Features Wanted”