One of my RAID 5 disks is shown "unmounted" in the web ui

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
cryptom
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 8:50 pm

One of my RAID 5 disks is shown "unmounted" in the web ui

Post by cryptom » Mon May 09, 2016 3:52 pm

Hi all

I've got a strange problem. I've change all my NAS disks from 2TB to 4TB disks, then expanded my RAID 5.
Replacing the disks worked without a problem (I worked as specified here: http://docs.qnap.com/nas/4.1/Home/en/index.html?raid_management.htm).
The final action "Expand Capacity" failed the first time, but succeeded at my second attempt.

After a reboot, my NAS now shows:
  • all disks as ready in the Storage Manager under Volume Management
  • but under Storage Manager, Volume Management, Current Configuration I see drive 3 as unmounted (see screenshot nas1.png)
  • and unser Storage Manager, RAID Management the drive 3 is also shown as unmounted (see screenshot nas2.jpg)

What I don't understand is that drive 4 is not listed in the RAID even though it is part of the RAID.
I've even replaced drive 3 with an identical drive. The RAID rebuilt and the expanded and again I've got the message that raid expansion failed.

When I log in with SSH the RAID seems to be fine:

Code: Select all

[user@nas ~]$ cat /proc/mdstat 
Personalities : [linear] [raid0] [raid1] [raid10] [raid6] [raid5] [raid4] [multipath]
md0 : active raid5 sdc3[4] sda3[0] sdd3[3] sdb3[1]
       11716348608 blocks super 1.0 level 5, 64k chunk, algorithm 2 [4/4] [UUUU]
      
md4 : active raid1 sdc2[3](S) sdd2[4](S) sdb2[2] sda2[0]
       530128 blocks super 1.0 [2/2] [UU]
      
md13 : active raid1 sdc4[3] sdd4[0] sdb4[2] sda4[1]
       458880 blocks [4/4] [UUUU]
       bitmap: 0/57 pages [0KB], 4KB chunk

md9 : active raid1 sdc1[2] sdd1[0] sdb1[3] sda1[1]
       530048 blocks [4/4] [UUUU]
       bitmap: 0/65 pages [0KB], 4KB chunk

unused devices: <none>


Code: Select all

[user@nas ~]$ mdadm --misc -D /dev/md0
/dev/md0:
        Version : 01.00.03
  Creation Time : Tue May  3 15:45:00 2016
     Raid Level : raid5
     Array Size : 11716348608 (11173.58 GiB 11997.54 GB)
  Used Dev Size : 3905449536 (3724.53 GiB 3999.18 GB)
   Raid Devices : 4
  Total Devices : 4
Preferred Minor : 0
    Persistence : Superblock is persistent

    Update Time : Mon May  9 09:15:33 2016
          State : clean
 Active Devices : 4
Working Devices : 4
 Failed Devices : 0
  Spare Devices : 0

         Layout : left-symmetric
     Chunk Size : 64K

           Name : 0
           UUID : f8a301f1:422b79d9:8066691a:ca811f24
         Events : 15399

    Number   Major   Minor   RaidDevice State
       0       8        3        0      active sync   /dev/sda3
       1       8       19        1      active sync   /dev/sdb3
       4       8       35        2      active sync   /dev/sdc3
       3       8       51        3      active sync   /dev/sdd3


Code: Select all

[user@nas ~]$ mount
/proc on /proc type proc (rw)
none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
tmpfs on /tmp type tmpfs (rw,size=64M)
tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
none on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
/dev/sda4 on /mnt/ext type ext3 (rw)
/dev/md9 on /mnt/HDA_ROOT type ext3 (rw,data=ordered)
/dev/md0 on /share/MD0_DATA type ext4 (rw,usrjquota=aquota.user,jqfmt=vfsv0,user_xattr,data=ordered,delalloc,noacl)
tmpfs on /mnt/rf/nd type tmpfs (rw,size=1m)
none on /sys/kernel/config type configfs (rw)
nfsd on /proc/fs/nfsd type nfsd (rw)
gphotofs on /share/external/UHCI Host Controller type fuse.gphotofs (rw,nosuid,nodev)
gphotofs on /share/external/UHCI Host Controller type fuse.gphotofs (rw,nosuid,nodev)


When I run snmpget I get the unmounted status as well:

Code: Select all

user@pc:~$ snmpget -v 1 -c public nas 1.3.6.1.4.1.24681.1.2.17.1.6.1
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.24681.1.2.17.1.6.1 = STRING: "Unmounted"



Two questions:
  • Is my RAID really ok?
  • How can I "fix" the unmounted drive 3?

Thanks for your help!

Regards
Tom
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Spider99
Experience counts
Posts: 1929
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:14 pm
Location: Warrington, England

Re: One of my RAID 5 disks is shown "unmounted" in the web ui

Post by Spider99 » Mon May 09, 2016 9:02 pm

what nas model are we talking about and what firmware do you have loaded?

what type of raid5 - 3 or 4 disks did you expand?

when the expansion failed did you get any other error messages do you have any logs available for that time?

I would do a full backup as something funky is happening or has happened - and you may well have to start again as a last resort - but we need more info hence the questions above.

the more info you provide the more likely we can collectively help :)
Tim

TS-853A(16GB): - 4.3.4.0483 - Static volume - Raid5 - 8 x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
Windows Server + StableBit Drivepool and Scanner ~115 TB Backup Server
TS-412 & TS-459 Pro II: Retired
Clients: 3 x Windows 10 Pro(64bit)

cryptom
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 8:50 pm

Re: One of my RAID 5 disks is shown "unmounted" in the web ui

Post by cryptom » Tue May 10, 2016 4:44 am

Hi Spider99

Thanks for your answer. I'm sorry I omitted necessary information:

  • Model: TS-459 Pro II
  • Firmware: 4.2.1 (19.04.2016)
  • I've expanded a RAID 5 with 4 disks
  • I've already done a full backup (prior to and after replacing the disks and expanding)
  • I've received an email with the following contents after the expansion failed:

    Code: Select all

    Subject: ***UNCHECKED*** nas Error

     Server Name: nas
     IP Address: 192.168.x.y
     Date/Time: 03.05.2016 15:01:18
     Level:  Error
     [RAID5 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4] Raid Size Expansion failed.
     
  • The log shows the failed attempt (nas-3.png)
  • The log also shows the successful attempt (nas-4.png).
  • Afterwards, after a reboot the RAID failed somehow. There is a line that might be helpful:

    Code: Select all

    [RAID 5 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4] has been remapped to [RAID 5 Disk Volume: Drive 4 X 1 2]

Regards,
Tom
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Spider99
Experience counts
Posts: 1929
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:14 pm
Location: Warrington, England

Re: One of my RAID 5 disks is shown "unmounted" in the web ui

Post by Spider99 » Tue May 10, 2016 5:20 am

Hi Tom

Well the logs don't tell us that much but a couple of things come to mind

1. the remapping of the array has booted out disk 3 and now its not part of the array any more - Drive 4 is now the new 3 as far as the array is concerned - the interface says 1 2 3 but actually its 4 1 2 - i might be wrong but i think i am close
2. as you have a backup then you could try to add the real disk 3 to the array to make it a 4 disk raid 5 again - disk 3 is "unused" at present.
3. what ever caused the expansion to go funky is possibly still there and my cause the problem to happen again - so i might be inclined to delete and start again but that's your choice and how much confidence in your backup you have etc
4. i see you changed firmware mid problem - brave that - but maybe it will have the added benefit of removing a bug or two which will now allow you to get back to normal :)

:shock: As an aside your interface is in German(?) but the logs are in English - that would drive me bonkers if i was not English :wink:

Oh one final thing i would run a full disk check on the original (as you swapped it out) disk 3 prior to doing anything more if it comes up with any errors then you may have your smoking gun

Have fun
Tim

TS-853A(16GB): - 4.3.4.0483 - Static volume - Raid5 - 8 x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
Windows Server + StableBit Drivepool and Scanner ~115 TB Backup Server
TS-412 & TS-459 Pro II: Retired
Clients: 3 x Windows 10 Pro(64bit)

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”