Slow transfer speed due to SSD cache acceleration

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
JRaymond
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 4:11 am

Re: Slow transfer speed due to SSD cache acceleration

Post by JRaymond » Sun Aug 02, 2020 6:16 am

I started a thread on my issues before finding this one...located here viewtopic.php?f=25&t=156214

I'm seeing 35 MB/s for 10 NAS configured the same as my master. I need 5x that to make this project work in a timely fashion. I'm seeing 14 hours to transfer 2.5TB of data out from my master to the clients.

We just started this project...so I figured there would be SOME tweaking but FFS, I've got a 10GB pipe out of the NAS and can only get 35MB/s for 10 systems?

hardmack
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2020 6:44 am

Re: Slow transfer speed due to SSD cache acceleration

Post by hardmack » Sun Aug 02, 2020 11:05 am

JRaymond wrote:
Sun Aug 02, 2020 6:16 am
I started a thread on my issues before finding this one...located here viewtopic.php?f=25&t=156214

I'm seeing 35 MB/s for 10 NAS configured the same as my master. I need 5x that to make this project work in a timely fashion. I'm seeing 14 hours to transfer 2.5TB of data out from my master to the clients.

We just started this project...so I figured there would be SOME tweaking but FFS, I've got a 10GB pipe out of the NAS and can only get 35MB/s for 10 systems?
I saw the same transfer speeds, I had to disable ssd caching all together and instantly once disabled full network speed

JRaymond
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 4:11 am

Re: Slow transfer speed due to SSD cache acceleration

Post by JRaymond » Mon Aug 03, 2020 7:21 am

hardmack wrote:
Sun Aug 02, 2020 11:05 am
JRaymond wrote:
Sun Aug 02, 2020 6:16 am
I started a thread on my issues before finding this one...located here viewtopic.php?f=25&t=156214

I'm seeing 35 MB/s for 10 NAS configured the same as my master. I need 5x that to make this project work in a timely fashion. I'm seeing 14 hours to transfer 2.5TB of data out from my master to the clients.

We just started this project...so I figured there would be SOME tweaking but FFS, I've got a 10GB pipe out of the NAS and can only get 35MB/s for 10 systems?
I saw the same transfer speeds, I had to disable ssd caching all together and instantly once disabled full network speed
I "have" no SSD caching...at all. There are no SSD's installed in the system.

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”