TS 453 PRO System Booting (forever) RAID 10 data recovery

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
smb23
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 1:43 pm

TS 453 PRO System Booting (forever) RAID 10 data recovery

Post by smb23 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 1:58 pm

Hello,

I have a 453 PRO just over 2 years old and out of warranty. 4 WD RED 4 TB configured as RAID 10. We moved to a new place and since then the NAS does not successfully booting anymore. Until recently I got different beeps and sounds when the NAS tried to boot indicating a DOM issue but the beeps are gone now but the NAS does not successfully boot. It keeps saying "system booting" without loading.

I chatted with support and they asked me to remove the disks and insert them back again. I made the mistake to not pay attention to the order of the disks when removing them. Stupid, but I happened. Is that a big issue?

Moving forward most important for me is to access the data on the RAID array. So a couple of thoughts and questions:

1. What happens if I buy a new 453 PRO NAS and insert the disks. Will I be able to access my data? Will the RAID 10 still be working?

2. What happens if I buy a PC with a RAID controller. Will I be able to access the data and restore the RAID array?

3. Is there another smart way to gain access to my data? Since it is a RAID 10, I hope I am fine since I have a mirror.

thanks
Stefan

smb23
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 1:43 pm

Re: TS 453 PRO System Booting (forever) RAID 10 data recovery

Post by smb23 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 2:04 pm

Update:
Started the NAS without the hard drives and it successfully launches. I can find it via qfinder. Qfinder wants to initialize the new System but I guess that would not be smart?

User avatar
MrVideo
Experience counts
Posts: 4699
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: TS 453 PRO System Booting (forever) RAID 10 data recovery

Post by MrVideo » Tue Jun 27, 2017 2:42 pm

smb23 wrote:I chatted with support and they asked me to remove the disks and insert them back again. I made the mistake to not pay attention to the order of the disks when removing them. Stupid, but I happened. Is that a big issue?

It could very well be a big issue. You don't say what version firmware you have installed.
1. What happens if I buy a new 453 PRO NAS and insert the disks. Will I be able to access my data? Will the RAID 10 still be working?

A definite yes, if you put the drives back in the correct order. Otherwise, I do not know if 4.3.x will sort out the order.
2. What happens if I buy a PC with a RAID controller. Will I be able to access the data and restore the RAID array?

Maybe. That RAID controller might very well want the HDDs in the correct order.
3. Is there another smart way to gain access to my data? Since it is a RAID 10, I hope I am fine since I have a mirror.

What do you mean when you say you have a mirror?

Because the NAS will power up without the drives, it sounds like one, or more, of the drives is bad. Because you do not know the order, I won't tell you to insert the drives, one by one, with the power on, because I do not know if the firmware will like the drives inserted in the wrong order.

Maybe another forum member has some better info. Otherwise, revisit QNAP by the helpdesk support ticket. Point them to this thread,
QTS 4.1.n/4.2.n/4.3.n MANUAL
Submit QNAP Support Ticket - QNAP Tutorials, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki - Product Support Status - Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2
When you ask a question, please include the following
(Thanks to Toxic17 for the links)
QNAP md_checker nasreport (release 20180525)
===============================
Model: TS-869L -- RAM: 3G -- FW: QTS 4.1.4 Build 20150522 (used for data storage)
WD60EFRX-68L0BN1(x1)/68MYMN1(x7) Red HDDs -- RAID6: 8x6TB -- Cold spare: 1x6TB
Entware
===============================
Model: TS-451A -- RAM: 2G -- FW: QTS 4.2.3 Build 20170213 (used as a video server)
WL3000GSA6472(x3) White label NAS HDDs -- RAID5: 3x3TB
Entware -- MyKodi 17.3 (default is Kodi 16)
===============================
My 2017 Total Solar Eclipse Photos

smb23
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 1:43 pm

Re: TS 453 PRO System Booting (forever) RAID 10 data recovery

Post by smb23 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 3:37 pm

Thank you for your answer, much appreciated.

Regarding firmware, it must be at least 6 months old, maybe more. When I boot it without the disks, I shows 4.2.2 November 2016. Does upgrading make any sense and would my array still be good?

What happens if I initialize the NAS without disks? Will my raid array still be recognized when inserting it in the right sequence?

Can I work with two disks and do trial and error to see which ones have formed the mirror (the Raid 1 part of the Raid 10)

smb23
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 1:43 pm

Re: TS 453 PRO System Booting (forever) RAID 10 data recovery

Post by smb23 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 3:37 pm

What happens if I plug in one disk after another while its running?

smb23
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 1:43 pm

Re: TS 453 PRO System Booting (forever) RAID 10 data recovery

Post by smb23 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 3:50 pm

Update: I was able to start the NAS with two disks and I can login and access the management page. It gives me a pool error now, not surprising since I only have two disks instead of four.

smb23
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 1:43 pm

Re: TS 453 PRO System Booting (forever) RAID 10 data recovery

Post by smb23 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 5:54 pm

I managed to access my data by identifying the 3 disks that are ok in the right sequence. Will back up my data and then trying to figure out how to continue. One WD RED seems to be dead. Either I replace it with another one or will get larger disks and create a new array.

User avatar
MrVideo
Experience counts
Posts: 4699
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: TS 453 PRO System Booting (forever) RAID 10 data recovery

Post by MrVideo » Tue Jun 27, 2017 11:59 pm

For future reference for those who may read this thread in the future, update us as to what you did to get the right sequence.
QTS 4.1.n/4.2.n/4.3.n MANUAL
Submit QNAP Support Ticket - QNAP Tutorials, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki - Product Support Status - Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2
When you ask a question, please include the following
(Thanks to Toxic17 for the links)
QNAP md_checker nasreport (release 20180525)
===============================
Model: TS-869L -- RAM: 3G -- FW: QTS 4.1.4 Build 20150522 (used for data storage)
WD60EFRX-68L0BN1(x1)/68MYMN1(x7) Red HDDs -- RAID6: 8x6TB -- Cold spare: 1x6TB
Entware
===============================
Model: TS-451A -- RAM: 2G -- FW: QTS 4.2.3 Build 20170213 (used as a video server)
WL3000GSA6472(x3) White label NAS HDDs -- RAID5: 3x3TB
Entware -- MyKodi 17.3 (default is Kodi 16)
===============================
My 2017 Total Solar Eclipse Photos

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”