WizReq.cgi - high memory usage

Discussion on remote replication.
Post Reply
mrbroons
Starting out
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 4:23 am

WizReq.cgi - high memory usage

Post by mrbroons » Sat Dec 02, 2017 10:09 pm

My 453 Pro has 16Gb RAM and despite this WizReq.CGI uses all the RAM and the unit complains. Is there a memory leak in this .CGI? I am on the latest production QNAP release for my NAS.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.
Regards

Jim

User avatar
Trexx
Ask me anything
Posts: 5287
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: WizReq.cgi - high memory usage

Post by Trexx » Sat Dec 02, 2017 11:57 pm

What QTs version are you on? Do you have malware remover installed?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.3.x
QTS (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
Data (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar
VMs (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
Ext. (HDD): TR-004 [Raid-5] 4 x 4TB HGST Ultastor
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060 6GB
UPS: CP AVR1350

Model:TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
Model:TS-228a FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

ATechGuy
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 1:59 am

Re: WizReq.cgi - high memory usage

Post by ATechGuy » Wed Dec 20, 2017 2:00 am

I'm seeing the same thing. Is this related to the backup center in doing a NAS to NAS backup?

NASUser12
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:07 pm

Re: WizReq.cgi - high memory usage

Post by NASUser12 » Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:33 pm

Hi,

has someone found out how to fix this issue?

I have started NAS to NAS backup with the Backup Station and I also have the memory problem with the wizReq.cgi process.
This is a snapshot of the process (taken from the shell using the 'top' tool):

Mem: 16114456K used, 296008K free, 28848K shrd, 204920K buff, 89596K cached
CPU: 3.5% usr 43.5% sys 0.3% nic 37.6% idle 14.5% io 0.0% irq 0.3% sirq
Load average: 3.66 3.01 2.90 4/1158 13629
PID PPID USER STAT VSZ %VSZ CPU %CPU COMMAND
28128 12232 admin R 25090m155.5 2 22.0 wizReq.cgi

The problem is definitely caused by the Backup Station - I can reenact the problem by restarting the replication job in the backup station.
I'm running a TS-563 QNAP model with firmware version 4.3.4.0537 Build 20180331.

User avatar
Trexx
Ask me anything
Posts: 5287
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: WizReq.cgi - high memory usage

Post by Trexx » Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:41 pm

Then you would need to open a helpdesk request to QNAP to try and resolve the issue. Another option would be switching from BackupStation to Hybrid Backup Sync which is QNAP's go forward backup platform.
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.3.x
QTS (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
Data (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar
VMs (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
Ext. (HDD): TR-004 [Raid-5] 4 x 4TB HGST Ultastor
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060 6GB
UPS: CP AVR1350

Model:TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
Model:TS-228a FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

MattMattMatt
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:18 am

Re: WizReq.cgi - high memory usage

Post by MattMattMatt » Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:22 am

I also am having this problem, I installed 16gb of ram yesterday into my TVS-671 and today it was complaining about low ram with 3 wizreq.cgi processes using 3 gigs each.

NASUser12
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:07 pm

Re: WizReq.cgi - high memory usage

Post by NASUser12 » Thu Apr 19, 2018 1:13 pm

I've 'upgraded' from BackupStation to Hybrid Backup Sync, as recommended by Trexx - thank you for the hint :) With the Hybrid Backup Sync the problem is solved and the backup/restore jobs works fine.

Post Reply

Return to “Remote Replication/ Disaster Recovery”