Virtualization station auto creating snapshots? how to disable?

Post Reply
jasonjm
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:10 am

Virtualization station auto creating snapshots? how to disable?

Post by jasonjm » Sun Apr 29, 2018 12:47 pm

so virtualization station is now creating snapshots by itself of my VM, which seems a lot of data transfer. within a few days it fills up the physical hdd and the VM crashes as it has no space.

how do i disable VM snapshots to never ever?

who at qnap thought it was a good idea to turn this on with no warning or explanation or obvious place to turn off?

jasonjm
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:10 am

Re: Virtualization station auto creating snapshots? how to disable?

Post by jasonjm » Tue May 01, 2018 11:28 pm

idiots at qnap - and yes qnap, you are IDIOTS, decided that forcing this feature on - with no way to disable - would be a good idea.

blows my mind.

I D I O T S

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 20463
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Virtualization station auto creating snapshots? how to disable?

Post by dolbyman » Wed May 02, 2018 1:47 am

did you contact QNAP ?

jasonjm
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:10 am

Re: Virtualization station auto creating snapshots? how to disable?

Post by jasonjm » Wed May 02, 2018 3:03 pm

yeah they asked if i wanted to added it to a future requested features patch - meaning the feature would be the option to turn off auto snapshots on VMs.

meanwhile i have VMs crashing all over the place as the disks are all running out of space, windows 2016 servers at companies.

I am so ** off.

this might be the dumbest "feature" i have ever seen added. Makes microsoft look smart, which is saying something.

QNAP = idiots.

I have never been fond of their just adding random features each new firmware version, and using the public to bug test for them, but this is just a new kind of stupid.

RonanAccuser
Starting out
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 12:20 am

Re: Virtualization station auto creating snapshots? how to disable?

Post by RonanAccuser » Thu Jul 16, 2020 5:24 pm

I ran into the same problem.
Is there a way to disable that?
I didn't have that until I reinstalled Virtualization Station yesterday.
I completly removed version 3.1.1164 and installed 3.1.1171. After I integrated my old VM image,
it suddenly it started with that snapshot bullsh**
I can totally agree to the idiots term, what I have experinced with Qnap and it's out of their mind developers is unspeakable.

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 20463
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Virtualization station auto creating snapshots? how to disable?

Post by dolbyman » Thu Jul 16, 2020 9:28 pm

running VMs on several qnaps (thread is 2 years old)

never had snapshots created without setting them up myself first

qnap model and firmware involved?

RonanAccuser
Starting out
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 12:20 am

Re: Virtualization station auto creating snapshots? how to disable?

Post by RonanAccuser » Thu Jul 16, 2020 10:42 pm

I run a somewhat older firmware 4.3.6 1070 on my TVS 863 because updates last year caused severe problems with my Raid5.
I had a Linux and Windows10 VM running fir quite some time. Yesterday I had some ** messages from VS about downgrading not supported as I was to create a new VM.
So I decided to completely remove VS version 3.1.1164 and installed 3.1.1171. I had to re-create new VMs from my old images.
After that I had no issues anymore. But then discovered that VS was suddenly creating an automatic snapshot once I started a VM. This snapshot is the current diffential file from the main .img. It stays there and grows while the main img stays untouched. And it bothers me.

Post Reply

Return to “Virtualization Station”