Cannot start container after upgrade of Container Station

User avatar
oyvindo
Been there, done that
Posts: 961
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Norway, Oslo

Re: Cannot start container after upgrade of Container Station

Postby oyvindo » Thu Aug 02, 2018 1:51 pm

GuiltyJudge wrote:When this broke for me the containers were running while it was updating not sure if that has anything to do with it either.

No, I always stop all my container prior to any CS updates - just to be careful, and exactly the same thing happened.
I'm still waiting for an answer from QNAP on my ticket.

Anyway, thanks for the feedback, and I'm glad it worked out for you.

OyvindO
NAS:
QNAP TS-453Mini 8G
4x3TB RAID5
QTS 4.3.5
Madsonic 6.1 + LMS 7.9
Plex 1.03

QNAP HS-251 2G
2x2TB RAID0
QTS 4.3.5
Kodi 16.1
Rainloop 1.12

QNAP TS-119
Single Disk 1Tb
QTS 4.3.3

User avatar
dynek
Experience counts
Posts: 1625
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 4:58 pm
Location: Peney/Vuiteboeuf, Switzerland

Re: Cannot start container after upgrade of Container Station

Postby dynek » Fri Aug 03, 2018 11:44 pm

Another option being to create the missing directory.

Error response from daemon: error creating overlay mount to /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/Container/container-station-data/lib/docker/overlay/ce3df762eb9de8beeb76ea1bb6599359044c8d4a919a4456affd40eeaa4fdb1f/merged: no such file or directory


Code: Select all

mkdir /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/Container/container-station-data/lib/docker/overlay/ce3df762eb9de8beeb76ea1bb6599359044c8d4a919a4456affd40eeaa4fdb1f/merged


And voila!

User avatar
oyvindo
Been there, done that
Posts: 961
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Norway, Oslo

Re: Cannot start container after upgrade of Container Station

Postby oyvindo » Sat Aug 04, 2018 5:17 am

dynek wrote:Another option being to create the missing directory.

That's exactly what I did. But there's no need to create the whole path. It's there already. All you need is the missing folder (the last one).
:)
NAS:
QNAP TS-453Mini 8G
4x3TB RAID5
QTS 4.3.5
Madsonic 6.1 + LMS 7.9
Plex 1.03

QNAP HS-251 2G
2x2TB RAID0
QTS 4.3.5
Kodi 16.1
Rainloop 1.12

QNAP TS-119
Single Disk 1Tb
QTS 4.3.3

jeeper_atx
Starting out
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:59 am

Re: Cannot start container after upgrade of Container Station

Postby jeeper_atx » Sun Aug 05, 2018 10:36 am

oyvindo - thanks for posting your fix!!!

Both Sonarr and NZBGet were not working after the upgrade and wife was not happy!!

Your fix had me back up in five minutes - thanks!

digitalicecream
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 6:57 am

Re: Cannot start container after upgrade of Container Station

Postby digitalicecream » Sat Aug 11, 2018 10:52 pm

I got it back up and running by creating the missing /merged folder. Everything worked after that.

User avatar
dynek
Experience counts
Posts: 1625
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 4:58 pm
Location: Peney/Vuiteboeuf, Switzerland

Re: Cannot start container after upgrade of Container Station

Postby dynek » Tue Aug 21, 2018 2:33 pm

oyvindo wrote:
dynek wrote:Another option being to create the missing directory.

That's exactly what I did. But there's no need to create the whole path. It's there already. All you need is the missing folder (the last one).
:)

The command I mentioned is not creating the whole path, just the missing dir :-)

User avatar
oyvindo
Been there, done that
Posts: 961
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Norway, Oslo

Re: Cannot start container after upgrade of Container Station

Postby oyvindo » Tue Aug 21, 2018 9:07 pm

dynek wrote:The command I mentioned is not creating the whole path, just the missing dir :-)

Creating the whole path is impossible - it already exists. It's only the missing folder that can be created.
NAS:
QNAP TS-453Mini 8G
4x3TB RAID5
QTS 4.3.5
Madsonic 6.1 + LMS 7.9
Plex 1.03

QNAP HS-251 2G
2x2TB RAID0
QTS 4.3.5
Kodi 16.1
Rainloop 1.12

QNAP TS-119
Single Disk 1Tb
QTS 4.3.3

User avatar
dynek
Experience counts
Posts: 1625
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 4:58 pm
Location: Peney/Vuiteboeuf, Switzerland

Re: Cannot start container after upgrade of Container Station

Postby dynek » Wed Aug 22, 2018 1:46 am

What is it that isn't clear? It's not creating the full path, the command I mentioned only creates the missing directory. Can't be clearer than that :-)
If minus (-p) was passed as an argument it would create the full path, even that would be possible.

fabriziorizzo
Starting out
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 6:40 am

Re: Cannot start container after upgrade of Container Station

Postby fabriziorizzo » Thu Aug 23, 2018 9:43 pm

Thank you. This worked perfectly. ** QNAP...

TheRipler wrote:
oyvindo wrote:I think this problem affects many people, including myself.
This is what I did to solve the issue:

1. write down the container ID shown in the error message
2. open up a terminal window to your NAS (I use WinSCP)
3. navigate to the path shown in the error message - and into the container itself (the folder with the long hexadecimal name = Container ID)
In there you should see at least two folders. One named "upper" and another named "work"
4. manually create a new folder named "merged" (without the quotes and use only lowercase letters)

Now your container should start normally.
You have to do this with all your containers.

Let me know if it works for you also.

Viking


I did the same mount point recreation to get things working.

Only downside is that my NAT'd containers shifted down by a port, and the bridged containers found new DHCP addresses. Found them again, and all is well.
-
Fabrizio
TVS-1282T (intel, 8x WDC WD8002FRYZ-01FF2B0, RAID-6)

User avatar
oyvindo
Been there, done that
Posts: 961
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Norway, Oslo

Re: Cannot start container after upgrade of Container Station

Postby oyvindo » Thu Aug 23, 2018 11:35 pm

fabriziorizzo wrote:Thank you. This worked perfectly. ** QNAP...

That's great! Good to hear that it worked for you :D
NAS:
QNAP TS-453Mini 8G
4x3TB RAID5
QTS 4.3.5
Madsonic 6.1 + LMS 7.9
Plex 1.03

QNAP HS-251 2G
2x2TB RAID0
QTS 4.3.5
Kodi 16.1
Rainloop 1.12

QNAP TS-119
Single Disk 1Tb
QTS 4.3.3


Return to “Container Station”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: qnasnew123, schumaku and 1 guest