Warmboot of VM is not working (bootloop) but coldboot is working?

iMactouch
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 6:29 pm

Warmboot of VM is not working (bootloop) but coldboot is working?

Postby iMactouch » Tue Aug 07, 2018 3:30 pm

Hi!

I have a Windows 2016 Essentials VM an when I am doing a restart of this VM because of an Windows Update or something like that the VM is hanging in an endless bootloop.
If I am switching the VM hard to off and start then, everything is working fine and the VM finds the HD to boot.

This is what I see inside the bootloop:
Bootloop.png


Does someone know this problem and has a solution to it?

Before I used the same VM on a TS-453A without any problems.

Used versions on a QNAP TS-453Be:
Firmware: 4.3.4.0644 Build 20180710
Virtualization Station: 3.1.51 (1018-03-28)
Windows Server 2016 Essentials 64bit 1607 Build 14393.2395
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4274
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: Warmboot of VM is not working (bootloop) but coldboot is working?

Postby Trexx » Wed Aug 08, 2018 12:12 am

Hmmmm I would start with what your VM Settings are for Storage, and also how current your VM Guest drivers are.
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.3.5.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 525GB Crucial MX300 m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 32GB Kit DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4, Roku Stick

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.3.5.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

iMactouch
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 6:29 pm

Re: Warmboot of VM is not working (bootloop) but coldboot is working?

Postby iMactouch » Wed Aug 08, 2018 4:20 pm

I am using these settings for the VM (I used the same on the TS-453A):
iTunesServer.png


I don't think that the VM Guest drivers have something to do with it, because the reboot happens in BIOS and not in Windows. I think the Virtualization station (the BIOS) did not find the harddisk image.
Here are the versions used:
iTunesServerDriver.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4274
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: Warmboot of VM is not working (bootloop) but coldboot is working?

Postby Trexx » Wed Aug 08, 2018 11:12 pm

What do you have the OS type set to?

Try dropping CPU to 2.
I would also set the cache mode to writeback assuming you have a UPS>
The drivers are fairly old, here is the link to the newest virtio drivers: https://fedorapeople.org/groups/virt/vi ... io-win.iso
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.3.5.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 525GB Crucial MX300 m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 32GB Kit DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4, Roku Stick

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.3.5.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

iMactouch
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 6:29 pm

Re: Warmboot of VM is not working (bootloop) but coldboot is working?

Postby iMactouch » Fri Aug 10, 2018 2:53 pm

The OS type is set to "Windows" and the version to "Windows Server 2016", the same as on my TS-453A.

I set it to 2 CPU. But this changes nothing.

I have no UPS, so I will not switch the mode to writeback. But I tested it and it changes nothing!

The drivers can not be the problem, as they are not active in BIOS! But I updated them (most of them were actual, but in Software control panel they are not correctly shown:
Here is software control panel where you can see the guest agent:
Versionen.png


Here are the other versions:
VirtioSCSI.png

VirtioBallon.png

VirioEthernet.png

virtioscsidev.png

virtioqxl.png


But all of these changes nothing, the bootloop is still there!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4274
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: Warmboot of VM is not working (bootloop) but coldboot is working?

Postby Trexx » Fri Aug 10, 2018 11:53 pm

Try changing Storage controller back to IDE or SATA for HDD and see if that makes any difference.
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.3.5.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 525GB Crucial MX300 m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 32GB Kit DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4, Roku Stick

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.3.5.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

iMactouch
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 6:29 pm

Re: Warmboot of VM is not working (bootloop) but coldboot is working?

Postby iMactouch » Sat Aug 11, 2018 6:50 pm

No, it makes no difference! :-(

The strange thing that it worked on the TS-453A on an external USB SSD without any problem. I had not seen any problem like this.

iMactouch
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 6:29 pm

Re: Warmboot of VM is not working (bootloop) but coldboot is working?

Postby iMactouch » Tue Aug 14, 2018 3:25 pm

Hi!

Finally I found the solution! In the meantime I installed a new Windows 10 VM and a new Windows Server 2016 VM and tested and tested and tested.
It has nothing to to with QEMU-Tools installed or not or VirtIO-drivers installed or not.
It only happens with Server 2016, not with Windows 10!

The solution can be found in the general settings for a VM. There you can choose between "Passthrough" or "Intel Core i7" for the CPU:
CPUPass.png

or
CPU.png


If you choose "Passthrough" you have the problems and if you choose "Intel Core i7" also Windows Server 2016 makes a warmboot without any problems.

Again: It has nothing to to with installed drivers etc. inside the Windows VM!

I hope this solution helps other people having the same problem!
Thanks for your help!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4274
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: Warmboot of VM is not working (bootloop) but coldboot is working?

Postby Trexx » Wed Aug 15, 2018 3:27 am

Must be specific to i7 or something else on your configuration, Win2016 Std warm boot works just fine on my system with Passthrough.
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.3.5.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 525GB Crucial MX300 m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 32GB Kit DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4, Roku Stick

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.3.5.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

iMactouch
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 6:29 pm

Re: Warmboot of VM is not working (bootloop) but coldboot is working?

Postby iMactouch » Wed Aug 15, 2018 3:41 am

Win2016 Std warm boot works just fine on my system with Passthrough


Do you have a TS-453Be?
It had also worked here with a TS-453A without any problems.


Return to “Virtualization Station”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: grobbarg and 0 guests