degraded raid5 missing hard drive

Don't miss a thing. Post your questions and discussion about other uncategorized NAS features here.
b4kramer
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:37 am

degraded raid5 missing hard drive

Postby b4kramer » Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:19 am

It has been months from the system log message which I just noticed saying my RAID5 is degraded. The missing drive shows as a solid green light on QNAP, but shows "None" via the admin page, all 7 other drives (3.5" slots) blinking green. I believe this happened when QNAP froze, and want to know if I can somehow reattach the drive, or if I need a new one. QNAP admin does not see the drive.

NAS: TVS-1282T
Firmware Version: 4.3.4.0644 Build 20180710
Hard drives: 8 X 10TB HGST
RAID5
1 Gb LAN plugged in
Using windows 10 to pull up the webpage
I can SSH into the unit

1 of the drives, all similar ->
# hdparm -i /dev/sdf 2>/dev/null | grep Model
Model=HGST HUH721010ALE600 , FwRev=LHGNT21D, SerialNo=7PG1KBER



# cat /proc/mdstat
Personalities : [linear] [raid0] [raid1] [raid10] [raid6] [raid5] [raid4] [multipath]
md1 : active raid5 sdb3[0] sdd3[7] sdc3[6] sdf3[5] sde3[4] sdg3[3] sda3[1]
68295381504 blocks super 1.0 level 5, 512k chunk, algorithm 2 [8/7] [UU_UUUUU]

md322 : active raid1 sdd5[6](S) sdc5[5](S) sdf5[4](S) sde5[3](S) sdg5[2](S) sda5[1] sdb5[0]
7235136 blocks super 1.0 [2/2] [UU]
bitmap: 0/1 pages [0KB], 65536KB chunk

md256 : active raid1 sdd2[6](S) sdc2[5](S) sdf2[4](S) sde2[3](S) sdg2[2](S) sda2[1] sdb2[0]
530112 blocks super 1.0 [2/2] [UU]
bitmap: 0/1 pages [0KB], 65536KB chunk

md13 : active raid1 sdb4[0] sdd4[24] sdc4[6] sdf4[5] sde4[4] sdg4[3] sda4[1]
458880 blocks super 1.0 [24/7] [UU_UUUUU________________]
bitmap: 1/1 pages [4KB], 65536KB chunk

md9 : active raid1 sdb1[0] sdd1[24] sdc1[6] sdf1[5] sde1[4] sdg1[3] sda1[1]
530048 blocks super 1.0 [24/7] [UU_UUUUU________________]
bitmap: 1/1 pages [4KB], 65536KB chunk

unused devices: <none>


[~] # df -h
Filesystem Size Used Available Use% Mounted on
none 290.0M 264.7M 25.3M 91% /
devtmpfs 15.6G 12.0K 15.6G 0% /dev
tmpfs 64.0M 916.0K 63.1M 1% /tmp
tmpfs 15.7G 12.0K 15.7G 0% /dev/shm
tmpfs 16.0M 11.6M 4.4M 72% /share
tmpfs 16.0M 0 16.0M 0% /mnt/snapshot/export
/dev/md9 493.5M 119.4M 374.1M 24% /mnt/HDA_ROOT
cgroup_root 15.7G 0 15.7G 0% /sys/fs/cgroup
/dev/md13 355.0M 339.7M 15.3M 96% /mnt/ext
tmpfs 1.0M 0 1.0M 0% /mnt/rf/nd
tmpfs 64.0M 2.3M 61.7M 4% /samba
tmpfs 16.0M 36.0K 16.0M 0% /samba/.samba/lock/msg.lock
tmpfs 16.0M 0 16.0M 0% /mnt/ext/opt/samba/private/msg.sock
tmpfs 16.0M 0 16.0M 0% /share/NFSv=4

dolbyman
Ask me anything
Posts: 9296
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: degraded raid5 missing hard drive

Postby dolbyman » Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:46 am

that is a lot of drives for a raid5 .. should have been raid6 for extra protection

if you have current backups,swap the drive with a new one and hope for the best

b4kramer
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:37 am

Re: degraded raid5 missing hard drive

Postby b4kramer » Sun Aug 12, 2018 5:47 am

I am fine to buy a new drive, that is not really the issue or the question here however. I understand your thoughts on RAID5 vs 6 as well, but again, that is more a personal decision on more drive vs backup tolerance. I specifically chose drives that had a large warranty and were less prone to fail, and I paid top dollar for them a couple of years back.

I am fortunate enough to have purchased the retail version of these drives that came with a 5 year warranty. I am still tasked with determining if my existing drive is in fact bad or not. Considering QNAP shows a solid green light, I would like the QNAP admin tool to at least be able to view the drive so I can run diagnostics, as if the drive is good, there is really no point in buying a new drive and returning for warranty would not be a wise move. If the drive is in fact bad, yes I can simply put in a new drive and RMA the old one for a backup. Therefore the question remains, how do I tell if the drive is still "good", and in that case, reinsert it via SSH back into my RAID5? This disk was knocked out of the array many months back due to either QNAP freezing or power outage, I honestly don't recall, but its one of the two as both have happened.

Thank you for the help!

dolbyman
Ask me anything
Posts: 9296
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: degraded raid5 missing hard drive

Postby dolbyman » Sun Aug 12, 2018 10:28 am

check drive status and/or SMART data in the qnap gui

you can also take the drive out and run diagnistics on a computer (xheck if hgst has a test tool for download)

b4kramer
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:37 am

Re: degraded raid5 missing hard drive

Postby b4kramer » Mon Aug 13, 2018 2:26 am

As mentioned, can't pull it up in QNAP gui, lists "None" in bay 3, despite the green light being solid.

I happened to have an external drive to USB kit. Plug it into windows 10 laptop. I downloaded WinDFT (HGST's test program). The only way to see the drive is by clicking USB devices, showing in Devices and Printers. Clicking on "USB Storage" display "USB Mass Storage Device" and "HGST HUH ... USB Device". It actually lists the drive in there, but thats as far as I can get. Seems like the HD is broken... I RMA'd it and will be buying a new drive today.

Thank you!

Mousetick
Know my way around
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 10:28 pm

Re: degraded raid5 missing hard drive

Postby Mousetick » Mon Aug 13, 2018 2:54 am

I know you've already returned the drive, but for future reference:

Perhaps the HGST diagnostic program doesn't support drives connected via USB. Usually this type of manufacturer-supplied test software requires the drive to be attached directly to a SATA port.

I use a Windows program called CrystalDiskInfo that can check the SMART status and read the SMART attributes of disks. I've had pretty good success using it with external USB drives. It's not guaranteed to work with all USB drives because it depends whether the USB-to-SATA bridge chipset in the drive enclosure (or kit) supports SATA command passthrough. But it's simple to try, pretty easy to use, and it's free. Link: https://crystalmark.info/en/software/crystaldiskinfo/.


Return to “Miscellaneous”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests