Graphics card AND QM2 card in TVS-882?

Printers, HDDs, USB/eSATA drives, 3rd-party programs
grobbarg
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 8:21 pm

Graphics card AND QM2 card in TVS-882?

Postby grobbarg » Sun Aug 12, 2018 9:52 pm

Hi all,
Awaiting arrival of a TVS-882 i5 16GB, and looking at the extra accessories required.
As I will be running some VM's and one with some light 3D CAD use, I was looking to install an old Nvidia K2200, additionally to complement the existing 10Gbe network, was looking at the QM2-2P10G1T for both the SSD caching and the 10GBASE-T port (although somehow I'll need to convert to SFP+ into the switch).

Question is - can the two cards work simultaneously in this NAS? - I read somewhere that the QM2 card can only be used in PCIe slot 1, is this correct and does this apply to the graphics card too?


TIA for any advice...
NAS - TVS-882 i5-7500:- BIOS QZ02AR11, F/W 4.3.5.0722 Build 20181007 | 48GB | 6 x WD Red 4 TB RAID 6| 2 x 512 GB SSD | 1 x 1TB M.2 (Currently for VM's) | QM2-2P10G1T | Quadro K2200 Passed thru to Win10 VM | Seagate 6TB Backup & Hub
NAS - TS-531X:- F/W 4.3.50699 | 16GB | 4 x WD Red 3 TB RAID 5 | QM2-2P
Zero Client - Wyse P45 to access VM's on TVS-882, Horizon view
Switch - TP-Link T1700G-28Q
Router - Asus RT-AC68U

martinav
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 1:23 pm

Re: Graphics card AND QM2 card in TVS-882?

Postby martinav » Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:24 am

You are in luck. There is an x16 slot in this unit. That means you can use a full memory bandwidth graphics card. It also looks like you may have room for a double slot width card as well. You have a nice selection of cards to choose from. The Qm2 card works in the x4 slot.

See:

https://www.qnap.com/en-us/compatibilit ... ategory=25

and

https://www.qnap.com/en-us/compatibilit ... ategory=23

User avatar
Don
Guru
Posts: 11126
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:56 am
Location: Long Island, New York
Contact:

Re: Graphics card AND QM2 card in TVS-882?

Postby Don » Mon Aug 13, 2018 2:21 pm

I don’t think both will fit.
Read the Online Manuals and use the forum search feature before posting.

It is a recommended to use RAID and have external backups. RAID will protect you from disk failure, keep your system running, and data accessible while the disk is replaced and the RAID rebuilt. Backups will allow you to recover data that is lost or corrupted, or from system failure. One does not replace the other.

Submit bugs and feature requests to QNAP via their Helpdesk app.

NAS: TVS-882BR | F/W: 4.3.5.0728 | 40GB | 2 x M.2 SATA RAID 1 (System) | 4 x M.2 NMVe QM2-4P-384A RAID 5 (Cache) | 5 x 4TB HDD RAID 6 (Data) | 1 x Blu-ray
NAS: TVS-663 | F/W: 4.3.5.0728 | 16GB | 2 x M.2 NMVe QM2-2P RAID 1 (Cache) | 4 x 4TB RAID 5
Apps: Boinc, Squid, DNSMasq, PLEX, iDrive, QVPN, QLMS, MP3fs, HBS, Entware, DLstation, +others

grobbarg
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 8:21 pm

Re: Graphics card AND QM2 card in TVS-882?

Postby grobbarg » Tue Aug 14, 2018 2:11 am

Thanks for the input guys - The NAS arrived today, looks like it survived being dropped over the gate by courier... :x

On first inspection it does look like the space for the QM2 card is limited due to the upper fan housing, the upper housing is for an extra fan looks like.
I stole the QM2-2P card out of my other NAS and looks like its too long by around 10mm (its 157mm long), the QM2-2P10G1T looks like it's 157mm too, so that's disappointing. As a quick check after updating the firmware, and displacing the fan cover a bit, it does looks like the card is recognised in the outer slot, and can be configured for SSD caching (not sure how the 10GBe work on the QM2-2P10G1T though).
However to get this to fit, one would have to notch the upper fan housing, which I'm not prepared to do (unless there are spares available!).
So looks like SSD caching on the inbuilt SATA M.2's and a single SFP+ card in the outer slot, graphics card inboard, and use use the SSD's for the VM's.

Would've preferred using the NVME's for caching but heyho...
NAS - TVS-882 i5-7500:- BIOS QZ02AR11, F/W 4.3.5.0722 Build 20181007 | 48GB | 6 x WD Red 4 TB RAID 6| 2 x 512 GB SSD | 1 x 1TB M.2 (Currently for VM's) | QM2-2P10G1T | Quadro K2200 Passed thru to Win10 VM | Seagate 6TB Backup & Hub
NAS - TS-531X:- F/W 4.3.50699 | 16GB | 4 x WD Red 3 TB RAID 5 | QM2-2P
Zero Client - Wyse P45 to access VM's on TVS-882, Horizon view
Switch - TP-Link T1700G-28Q
Router - Asus RT-AC68U

P2WRTMR
Starting out
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2015 7:06 am

Re: Graphics card AND QM2 card in TVS-882?

Postby P2WRTMR » Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:48 am

grobbarg wrote:Thanks for the input guys - The NAS arrived today, looks like it survived being dropped over the gate by courier... :x

On first inspection it does look like the space for the QM2 card is limited due to the upper fan housing, the upper housing is for an extra fan looks like.
I stole the QM2-2P card out of my other NAS and looks like its too long by around 10mm (its 157mm long), the QM2-2P10G1T looks like it's 157mm too, so that's disappointing. As a quick check after updating the firmware, and displacing the fan cover a bit, it does looks like the card is recognised in the outer slot, and can be configured for SSD caching (not sure how the 10GBe work on the QM2-2P10G1T though).
However to get this to fit, one would have to notch the upper fan housing, which I'm not prepared to do (unless there are spares available!).
So looks like SSD caching on the inbuilt SATA M.2's and a single SFP+ card in the outer slot, graphics card inboard, and use use the SSD's for the VM's.

Would've preferred using the NVME's for caching but heyho...



I cut a notch on the fan shroud and put the QM2 card there. Works fine. If i get a chance, i'll snap a pic tomorrow.

grobbarg
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 8:21 pm

Re: Graphics card AND QM2 card in TVS-882?

Postby grobbarg » Fri Sep 07, 2018 3:32 pm

Yes, that had crossed my mind and if require a second fan would require notching too? I thought about modelling up a modified version in CAD and having it 3D printed, if I ever get round to it, and it works could post the stl file here for others. A pic would be great thanks.
NAS - TVS-882 i5-7500:- BIOS QZ02AR11, F/W 4.3.5.0722 Build 20181007 | 48GB | 6 x WD Red 4 TB RAID 6| 2 x 512 GB SSD | 1 x 1TB M.2 (Currently for VM's) | QM2-2P10G1T | Quadro K2200 Passed thru to Win10 VM | Seagate 6TB Backup & Hub
NAS - TS-531X:- F/W 4.3.50699 | 16GB | 4 x WD Red 3 TB RAID 5 | QM2-2P
Zero Client - Wyse P45 to access VM's on TVS-882, Horizon view
Switch - TP-Link T1700G-28Q
Router - Asus RT-AC68U

cbapel
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 10:10 pm

Re: Graphics card AND QM2 card in TVS-882?

Postby cbapel » Thu Sep 13, 2018 4:38 am

I just cut the QM2 card and it worked fine, wrapped the end in electrical tape jic. Now I am upgrading to pcie 3.0 and the new cards should fit since they are shorter.
TVS-1282 i7-6700 32gb (FW 4.3.4) - System [ 2x Crucial MX300 0.5tb (RAID1) ] - Storage Qtier2 [ 4x 850 EVO 1tb (RAID10) + 8x WD Red 8tb (RAID10) ] - VM [ QM2-2P 1x 960 EVO 1tb ] - LAN-10G2T-X550 - PSU 450w - Noctua 3x NF-A8 PWM + 1x NF-A6 PWM -
UPS CyberPower PR1000

grobbarg
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 8:21 pm

Re: Graphics card AND QM2 card in TVS-882?

Postby grobbarg » Mon Sep 24, 2018 2:29 am

Yes, noticed the newer cards were 10mm shorter, unfortunately I don't think the 10GBASE-T are? So still going to have to do some modding, a slot in the housing as P2WRTMR mentioned will probably be the way forward for me.
NAS - TVS-882 i5-7500:- BIOS QZ02AR11, F/W 4.3.5.0722 Build 20181007 | 48GB | 6 x WD Red 4 TB RAID 6| 2 x 512 GB SSD | 1 x 1TB M.2 (Currently for VM's) | QM2-2P10G1T | Quadro K2200 Passed thru to Win10 VM | Seagate 6TB Backup & Hub
NAS - TS-531X:- F/W 4.3.50699 | 16GB | 4 x WD Red 3 TB RAID 5 | QM2-2P
Zero Client - Wyse P45 to access VM's on TVS-882, Horizon view
Switch - TP-Link T1700G-28Q
Router - Asus RT-AC68U

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4274
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: Graphics card AND QM2 card in TVS-882?

Postby Trexx » Mon Sep 24, 2018 3:20 am

grobbarg wrote:Yes, noticed the newer cards were 10mm shorter, unfortunately I don't think the 10GBASE-T are? So still going to have to do some modding, a slot in the housing as P2WRTMR mentioned will probably be the way forward for me.


To my knowledge there is NO new QM2 card that is PCIe 3.x + 10GbE combined.

You could go with the new PCIe 3.x QM2 card and add the new low cost 10GbE cards (QXG-10G1T) in the "left slots" and then use the SYSTEM slot for the GPU.
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.3.5.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 525GB Crucial MX300 m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 32GB Kit DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4, Roku Stick

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.3.5.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

grobbarg
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 8:21 pm

Re: Graphics card AND QM2 card in TVS-882?

Postby grobbarg » Mon Sep 24, 2018 4:28 am

Hmm, yes you're right, no Gen3 for the combined cards, and unfortunately the TVS-882 only got 2 slots total. Would one really notice a big difference between Gen2 and Gen3 QM2 card when used as NVME cache (together with 10G networking?).
I'm no expert, however my older TS-531X with SFP+ 10G ports with the QM2-2P before it got stripped had impressive network transfer speeds (to me anyway) over the 10G network, albeit I suppose with seperate NICs.
NAS - TVS-882 i5-7500:- BIOS QZ02AR11, F/W 4.3.5.0722 Build 20181007 | 48GB | 6 x WD Red 4 TB RAID 6| 2 x 512 GB SSD | 1 x 1TB M.2 (Currently for VM's) | QM2-2P10G1T | Quadro K2200 Passed thru to Win10 VM | Seagate 6TB Backup & Hub
NAS - TS-531X:- F/W 4.3.50699 | 16GB | 4 x WD Red 3 TB RAID 5 | QM2-2P
Zero Client - Wyse P45 to access VM's on TVS-882, Horizon view
Switch - TP-Link T1700G-28Q
Router - Asus RT-AC68U


Return to “Hardware & Software Compatibility”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests