QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Introduce yourself to us and other members here, or share your own product reviews, suggestions, and tips and tricks of using QNAP products.
Post Reply
User avatar
afterdinnerspeaker
Starting out
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 7:34 am
Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by afterdinnerspeaker » Thu Oct 17, 2019 1:41 am

Thank you Moogle! I've been busy all summer (Canada) with farm stuff (cattle, etc) and quite frankly very overwhelmed as I return to where we left off. Are you able to Discord for a moment?

User avatar
afterdinnerspeaker
Starting out
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 7:34 am
Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by afterdinnerspeaker » Thu Oct 17, 2019 1:55 am

Thanks so much Moogle! I'm so glad you've got your cabling project under way, so much more reliable.

I just got back to my NAS to attempt to continue from where we left off and I'm having difficulties trying to mimic your instructions (only my fault...your instructions were very good).

My first indication was the myQNAPcloud test showing no web connectivity.

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 8321
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Sun Oct 20, 2019 8:08 pm

i was helping dinner setup his wireless adapter.

we managed to get the 5ghz working. so now he can unwire his NAS and connect to it wirelessly.

to do that, we used the wireless card to connect to his router. then you can unplug. The router DHCP has a reserved LAN ip set for the wireless adapter. I was looking where to set the static ip for this but i couldn't find it.

The next part is the one i probably need others to advise. Because for the wireless ap station, that is for OTHER client devices to connect to the QNAP.

so the QNAP should then issue out lan ips for those connected devices should it? Should the QNAP DHCP server be setup on 192.168.1.x (same like the router), or should it be on 192.168.0.x ? :'

I think dinner wants to setup the 2.4ghz for wireless ap station, so he also has an option for devices not connected to the router, to be able to instead connect direct to the qnap.


I think for his Ip cams, he can follow the QVR guide here
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KR4fQpvO63A
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

P3R
Guru
Posts: 11722
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by P3R » Sun Oct 20, 2019 8:25 pm

Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:
Sun Oct 20, 2019 8:08 pm
...so the QNAP should then issue out lan ips for those connected devices should it? Should the QNAP DHCP server be setup on 192.168.1.x (same like the router)...
No you should normally never have multiple DHCP-servers for the same ip network (broadcast domain). If the Qnap AP thing is in the same ip network as the firewall/router, it shouldn't have a DHCP server but the firewall/router should serve DHCP for the whole network.

If this Qnap wireless stuff have it's clients in another ip network, then it by definition is a router and not an access point (AP).
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 8321
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Sun Oct 20, 2019 9:25 pm

P3R wrote:
Sun Oct 20, 2019 8:25 pm
]No you should normally never have multiple DHCP-servers for the same ip network (broadcast domain). If the Qnap AP thing is in the same ip network as the firewall/router, it shouldn't have a DHCP server but the firewall/router should serve DHCP for the whole network.

If this Qnap wireless stuff have it's clients in another ip network, then it by definition is a router and not an access point (AP).
he has 2 qnap x53be series.

the 1st one will be in the home i presume. so it will be connected to the home router network.

if thats the case, then he should be fine with the qnap connect direct to the router. cause he got wireless that way.


but the 2nd nas, i'm not sure but i think either its
1. standalone (no internet access or connected any network)
2. connected to the same network with router.
3. connected to an internet with a router of some sort. then he will use a VPn for remote access


i'll check with him.


but the cams i think they have credentials you can login to from qvr. and they can be setup as static on their own ip cams so no dhcp for that is required.


Anyway back to the first home NAS. even if devices can connect wirelessly to the router and effectively access the qnap that way. It was marketed that devices can connect direct to the qnap wirelessly itself thus bypass the router wireless, for a better wireless connection supposedly.

but how to set that up :'



One thing i noticed, the \\NAS name did not work. Instead you had to do the \\lan ip for the wireless card. Why is that? i assume that as long as you use nas name, and the wireless is the only connection available then by default it will connect to the wireless adapter. but that didn't seem to work :S

So now he has to use 2 shortcuts. 1 for the lan wired... and another for wireless. I thought he could have just use the nas name and that single shortcut would work regardless of when he wired or wireless mode.
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

P3R
Guru
Posts: 11722
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by P3R » Mon Oct 21, 2019 2:27 am

Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:
Sun Oct 20, 2019 9:25 pm
It was marketed that devices can connect direct to the qnap wirelessly itself thus bypass the router wireless, for a better wireless connection supposedly.
Well you have to ask Qnap what they mean with their marketing. I'm not always in agreement with their claims.

Good wireless connections comes from clever channel planning and placing the antennas in the most RF-optimal place, not having the AP integrated in the server. That's why I prefer to keep the wireless networking on dedicated equipment. A router/AP is small and much easier to locate at an RF-optimal place than a NAS/server.
One thing i noticed, the \\NAS name did not work. Instead you had to do the \\lan ip for the wireless card. Why is that? i assume that as long as you use nas name, and the wireless is the only connection available then by default it will connect to the wireless adapter. but that didn't seem to work :S
I don't really want to be involved in this as I'm not really interrested in the product but I'll try to explain that.

In the end it's always only the IP addresses that are used to connect to anything in a IP network. What happens when you use \\NAS is that a local translation into an IP address is made in the background for you. If you have a DNS resolver/forwarder on the same system as the DHCP-server, the DHCP-adresses assigned are often automagically registered into the DNS making all of that transparent to the administrator/users and it simply works. With static IPs the name/IP address translation need to be manually configured somewhere to work.
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 8321
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Mon Oct 21, 2019 6:24 am

With static IPs the name/IP address translation need to be manually configured somewhere to work.
ooo i see so thats the difference. ic, thx.
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 8321
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Mon Oct 21, 2019 5:54 pm

managed to fix some stuff.

but one of the tests, a smart mobile connected to the qnap 2.4ghz wireless ap ended up not being able to connect to the internet. not sure why.....

the 2.4ghz wireless ap station pointed the gateway to the router, and the dns is pointed to 1.1.1.1 and 1.0.0.1 so i assumed that would work? not sure why it didn't :S
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 8321
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Wed Nov 06, 2019 1:10 pm

Not sure if i mentioned this before, but just in case, here is the gist of what to do to setup Wireless AP station

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hKLfqRRPY3c

@27:30
they say 3 steps

@33:15
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

Post Reply

Return to “Users' Corner”