HDD Replaced - RAID won't rebuild

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
ianw82
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 6:18 pm

HDD Replaced - RAID won't rebuild

Post by ianw82 » Tue Sep 10, 2019 8:02 pm

Hi,

TS-431XU-RP / 4 x 4TB Drives / RAID 5

I had a drive in the RAID array fail and I replaced it with the same make and model however the array won't rebuild and is still sat in a degraded state.

The system see's the drive and reports it as OK but when I look at my storage pool management, the status shows "not member" but this contradicts what i am seeing in the Disks section which clearly picks the disk up as being part of RAID GROUP 1.

Any tips? I have spoken to support but we didn't get very far, the fix they suggested was to power down, remove all drives, refit and power back up - did this and it made no difference at all.

Not quite as the manual describes where it should just rebuild itself!

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 14720
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: HDD Replaced - RAID won't rebuild

Post by dolbyman » Tue Sep 10, 2019 8:46 pm

did you swap it hot?

ianw82
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 6:18 pm

Re: HDD Replaced - RAID won't rebuild

Post by ianw82 » Tue Sep 10, 2019 9:04 pm

dolbyman wrote:
Tue Sep 10, 2019 8:46 pm
did you swap it hot?
Yes, hot swap exactly as described in the manual.

ianw82
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 6:18 pm

Re: HDD Replaced - RAID won't rebuild

Post by ianw82 » Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:33 pm

Incase anyone searches and comes across this, couldn't find any logical reason why this wouldn't work, neither the GUI or through SSH / PuTTy could I get the new drive to be recognised or activated.

Cut my losses and purchased a second drive, popped it in and the RAID rebuild started immediately so can only assume the first drive I purchased was faulty.

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7757
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: HDD Replaced - RAID won't rebuild

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:35 pm

what hdds are you using?
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

ianw82
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 6:18 pm

Re: HDD Replaced - RAID won't rebuild

Post by ianw82 » Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:37 pm

Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:
Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:35 pm
what hdds are you using?
Seagate Iron Wolf 4TB, replacement for the drive(s) that originally shipped with the device and still valid on the compatibility list.

User avatar
Toxic17
Ask me anything
Posts: 5200
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: HDD Replaced - RAID won't rebuild

Post by Toxic17 » Thu Sep 12, 2019 6:49 pm

https://www.qnap.com/en-in/how-to/knowl ... ould-i-do/
In some cases the rebuild of the RAID might not start automatically. If you encounter this you may set the new drive as a spare disk first. The rebuild will start immediately after this is done.

To set the new drive as a spare disk, please follow the steps below:

Log in to your NAS via web browser
Open Storage & Snapshots
Go to Storage > Storage/Snapshots
Select your Storage Pool or Static Volume and click on the “Manage” button
Select the degraded RAID group section and click “Manage” and then “Configure Spare Disk”.
Select the new drive and click Apply
Your RAID will now start rebuilding and normal operation will be resumed after it’s completed.
Failing this, Raise a ticket with QNAP to investigate.
Regards Simon

QTS 4.x User Guidex

QNAP Club Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-473-32GB QM2-2P QXG-10G1T 4.4.1.1081 • TVS-463-16GB 4.4.1.1081 QM2-2S10G1TB • TS-459 Pro 2GB 4.2.6 • TS-121 4.3.3.0998 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G •
QPKG's: TwonkyServer 8.51 • Apache73 v2441.7310 • QSonarr 3.0.3.644 • QNBZGet 21.0 • phpMyAdmin 4.9.0.1 • Qmono 5.20.1.19 • McAfee 3.0.1 • Lychee 3.2.16 • HBS 3.0.1908029 • LEgo v3.0.0
Network: VM Hub 3.0 <500/35> • UniFi USG Pro 4 • UniFi USW-16-150W • UniFi USW-8-60W • UniFi CloudKey Gen2+• UniFi G3-Flex • UAP AC Pro • UAP AC Lite • SLM2008 • Dell 7050 MFF •

ianw82
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 6:18 pm

Re: HDD Replaced - RAID won't rebuild

Post by ianw82 » Thu Sep 12, 2019 6:54 pm

Toxic17 wrote:
Thu Sep 12, 2019 6:49 pm
https://www.qnap.com/en-in/how-to/knowl ... ould-i-do/
In some cases the rebuild of the RAID might not start automatically. If you encounter this you may set the new drive as a spare disk first. The rebuild will start immediately after this is done.

To set the new drive as a spare disk, please follow the steps below:

Log in to your NAS via web browser
Open Storage & Snapshots
Go to Storage > Storage/Snapshots
Select your Storage Pool or Static Volume and click on the “Manage” button
Select the degraded RAID group section and click “Manage” and then “Configure Spare Disk”.
Select the new drive and click Apply
Your RAID will now start rebuilding and normal operation will be resumed after it’s completed.
Failing this, Raise a ticket with QNAP to investigate.
Yep, tried that, didn't work and raised a ticket with QNAP two weeks ago. Very unimpressed with the support overall but I suppose that's the trade off when you're buying a cheap device.

User avatar
Toxic17
Ask me anything
Posts: 5200
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: HDD Replaced - RAID won't rebuild

Post by Toxic17 » Thu Sep 12, 2019 7:00 pm

So could you add the drive as a spare and not rebuild? or would it not let you add the drive?

most of my tickets are answered quite quickly, though some I have had to chase up in the past or I raise a new ticket.
Regards Simon

QTS 4.x User Guidex

QNAP Club Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-473-32GB QM2-2P QXG-10G1T 4.4.1.1081 • TVS-463-16GB 4.4.1.1081 QM2-2S10G1TB • TS-459 Pro 2GB 4.2.6 • TS-121 4.3.3.0998 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G •
QPKG's: TwonkyServer 8.51 • Apache73 v2441.7310 • QSonarr 3.0.3.644 • QNBZGet 21.0 • phpMyAdmin 4.9.0.1 • Qmono 5.20.1.19 • McAfee 3.0.1 • Lychee 3.2.16 • HBS 3.0.1908029 • LEgo v3.0.0
Network: VM Hub 3.0 <500/35> • UniFi USG Pro 4 • UniFi USW-16-150W • UniFi USW-8-60W • UniFi CloudKey Gen2+• UniFi G3-Flex • UAP AC Pro • UAP AC Lite • SLM2008 • Dell 7050 MFF •

ianw82
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 6:18 pm

Re: HDD Replaced - RAID won't rebuild

Post by ianw82 » Thu Sep 12, 2019 7:08 pm

The drive was physically swapped, the system the detected the drive and disks info showed it as a member of the RAID group therefore the option to add as spare was not available.
qnap03.PNG
qnap04.PNG
Checking the RAID array details, the status was shown as Not member, directly contradicting the previous screen.
qnap02.PNG

All very odd but I replaced the replacement drive with another new one and the system is now behaving as I expected (currently around the 30% mark in rebuilding the array).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”