Cannot connect a Container Station to VLAN Virtual Switch

Post Reply
zqush
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 2:08 am

Cannot connect a Container Station to VLAN Virtual Switch

Post by zqush » Sun Jul 05, 2020 3:44 pm

I have two nics on my TS-453Be. I have setup a VLAN (VLAN 44) on adapter 2 and I'm able to create a Virtual Switch which connects to vlan 44 (I call it Virtual Switch 2-V44). As you can see on the diagram it's working fine and it gets an IP. However regardless of anything that I do, I am unable to connect one of my Containers (openhab) to that v44 switch. See attachment. What I want is to connect the red line.

I have tried changing the settings in the configuration of that virtual switch (see attachment)... I go through it selecting the VLAN 44 switch and the container that I want to have connected to it, but nothing changes and it remains connected to the one it is currently connected to.

It's frustrating. Am I doing something wrong or is this the same bug that others are talking about here?

QNAP, any fix for this?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

zqush
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 2:08 am

Re: Cannot connect a Container Station to VLAN Virtual Switch

Post by zqush » Sun Jul 05, 2020 8:01 pm

One more thing... In Container Station, there's no option to select the VLAN Virtual Switch... it doesn't show in the list. (See attachment)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

kbyrd
Starting out
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 10:36 pm

Re: Cannot connect a Container Station to VLAN Virtual Switch

Post by kbyrd » Fri Jul 10, 2020 5:34 am

I have this working. on QTS 4.4.3

My setup:
One of my QNAP adapters is named Trunk. It is plugged into a switch port that has no default VLAN ID, so all traffic must be tagged. I added a few VLANs to Trunk
interface settings.png
In Container Station, I chose Bridge mode networking and Trunk as the interface. As you say, the Trunk (VLAN: 1) is not a choice here.
container settings.png
I saved the container settings, then went over to Network & Virtual Switches I found the switch that was connected to my container. In the image below the container's adapter is called unifi_Virtual Adapter 1.
virtual switch settings.png
I then edited that Virtual Switch's settings. From this settings screen, I can select Trunk (VLAN: 1). I also renamed the virtual switch to Container VLAN 1 so I can identify it later.
container switch settings.png
When I started my container, it got a DHCP address in the VLAN 1 subnet and I was able to talk to it on that IP address.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

kbyrd
Starting out
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 10:36 pm

Re: Cannot connect a Container Station to VLAN Virtual Switch

Post by kbyrd » Wed Jul 29, 2020 2:25 am

UPDATE: The method I describe above does not survive a reboot of the NAS. On reboot, the auto-started container ends up connected to an entirely new Virtual Switch which is wired to the main interface, not a virtual interface.

I swear I tested reboots before and thought it worked. I guess not.

zqush
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 2:08 am

Re: Cannot connect a Container Station to VLAN Virtual Switch

Post by zqush » Fri Jul 31, 2020 3:39 am

Thanks for your reply @kbyrd. I had already tried the method you described and couldn't even get to work prior to a reboot, let alone after.

Can anyone describe a way to do this? Perhaps by editing some setup / config file in docker?

Post Reply

Return to “Container Station”