10Gbe cables - What's the difference?

Interested in our products? Post your questions here. Let us answer before you buy.
Post Reply
TeePee3NAS
Starting out
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2020 1:39 pm

10Gbe cables - What's the difference?

Post by TeePee3NAS » Mon Jul 13, 2020 7:47 am

Hello,

Could someone tell me the difference between the CAB-DAC30M-SFPP-DEC02 and CAB-DAC30M-SFPP please? Both are noted at the bottom of this page https://www.qnap.com/en-au/product/ts-431x3 but I cannot see any difference from the descriptions.

Thank you.

P3R
Guru
Posts: 12209
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: 10Gbe cables - What's the difference?

Post by P3R » Mon Jul 13, 2020 2:43 pm

You probably need to ask Qnap about that.
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!

QNAPDanielFL
Know my way around
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 7:09 am

Re: 10Gbe cables - What's the difference?

Post by QNAPDanielFL » Tue Jul 14, 2020 12:34 am

CAB-DAC30M-SFPP-DEC02 is the newer part number. It might be slightly better in some way because it is newer, but I don't expect a huge difference. Both should work at 10GbE speeds with SFP+

gggplaya
Been there, done that
Posts: 734
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 10:05 pm

Re: 10Gbe cables - What's the difference?

Post by gggplaya » Wed Jul 15, 2020 9:09 pm

Newer isn't always better. Sometimes newer is due to cost cutting, case in point the whole WD RED drives SMR/CMR debacle.

TeePee3NAS
Starting out
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2020 1:39 pm

Re: 10Gbe cables - What's the difference?

Post by TeePee3NAS » Wed Jul 22, 2020 3:43 pm

P3R wrote:
Mon Jul 13, 2020 2:43 pm
You probably need to ask Qnap about that.
Oh, I thought because this was the Presales board I was asking QNAP :ashamed:

P3R
Guru
Posts: 12209
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: 10Gbe cables - What's the difference?

Post by P3R » Thu Jul 23, 2020 1:04 am

TeePee3NAS wrote:
Wed Jul 22, 2020 3:43 pm
Oh, I thought because this was the Presales board I was asking QNAP
That's very understandable but since about 5 years or so Qnap have been almost non-existent also in the presales forum. Now QNAPDanielFL show up here from time to time, I guess I haven't really gotten used to the change yet.
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!

QNAPDanielFL
Know my way around
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 7:09 am

Re: 10Gbe cables - What's the difference?

Post by QNAPDanielFL » Tue Jul 28, 2020 8:15 am

I would expect the performance between the 2 cables to be close enough that the decision on what cable to get can be made based on what is in stock or, if they are both in stock, you can get whatever is lower cost. I understand the statement that newer is not always better, and I can't say for sure which is better. But in this case, I would expect them to both work well enough that the decision on which one to get should not have much impact on performance. If you want better performance, there are other things to think about, like what drives used, how many drives, what RAID configuration, your network switches, and of course what unit you have. I would be happy to advise on any of those things to see if there is anything that can be done to increase performance for your use case.

Post Reply

Return to “Presales”