How do I connect to my NAS localhost from one of my VMs

Post Reply
ha77man
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 4:05 am

How do I connect to my NAS localhost from one of my VMs

Post by ha77man » Tue Jul 14, 2020 8:21 pm

How do I create a connection to my NAS localhost (127.0.0.1) from one of my VMs (windows 10) within the Virtualization station? I want to do this to create a way into my NAS from a VM.

Is anyone able to advise if this is even possible or help
Thanks
Mark

User avatar
peelos
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 495
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 9:28 pm

Re: How do I connect to my NAS localhost from one of my VMs

Post by peelos » Wed Jul 15, 2020 2:34 pm

try manually specifying the NAS IP address instead - 127.0.0.1 within a VM is home to the VM
NAS: TVS-1282-i7K-40G / 4 x 500GB SSD 2.5" / 2 x 500GB M.2 SSD / 8 x 4TB WD Red 3.5" / Corsair H5-SF Watercooling / 3 x 80mm PWM Noctua fans / Corsair 600W PSU / Asus Turbo GTX 1060 6GB GPU
Software: Plex Media Server / QTransmission / Sonarr / Radarr / Jackett / QMono / Tautulli / OpenHAB / Resilio Sync / QPython / QJDK 8 / NetData / Qapache / SortMyQPKGs
pfSense Firewall / OpenVPN Server: QOTOM Fanless Mini PC / Core i5 / 8GB RAM / 128GB SSD / 4 Gigabit NICs / AES-NI
Wireless Routers: 2 x Netgear AC1900 R7000 Nighthawk / Advanced Tomato Firmware

ha77man
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 4:05 am

How do I connect to my NAS localhost from one of my VMs

Post by ha77man » Wed Jul 15, 2020 4:50 pm

peelos wrote:try manually specifying the NAS IP address instead - 127.0.0.1 within a VM is home to the VM
No I’m trying to create a way to access the 127.0.0.1 address of the NAS from inside my VM. Apparently this is possible however I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction

I want to do this in case my dhcp server has an issue and my network is down I can still access the NAS gui just like it is possible with Linux station and HD station. I have a VM which starts up automatically with my GPU card so have a way into the NAS if something goes wrong with firewall/network.

Thanks

ha77man
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 4:05 am

How do I connect to my NAS localhost from one of my VMs

Post by ha77man » Thu Jul 16, 2020 2:51 am

I have created a work around.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
peelos
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 495
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 9:28 pm

Re: How do I connect to my NAS localhost from one of my VMs

Post by peelos » Thu Jul 16, 2020 2:51 pm

ha77man wrote:
Thu Jul 16, 2020 2:51 am
I have created a work around.
It would help future readers of this thread if you explain the workaround
NAS: TVS-1282-i7K-40G / 4 x 500GB SSD 2.5" / 2 x 500GB M.2 SSD / 8 x 4TB WD Red 3.5" / Corsair H5-SF Watercooling / 3 x 80mm PWM Noctua fans / Corsair 600W PSU / Asus Turbo GTX 1060 6GB GPU
Software: Plex Media Server / QTransmission / Sonarr / Radarr / Jackett / QMono / Tautulli / OpenHAB / Resilio Sync / QPython / QJDK 8 / NetData / Qapache / SortMyQPKGs
pfSense Firewall / OpenVPN Server: QOTOM Fanless Mini PC / Core i5 / 8GB RAM / 128GB SSD / 4 Gigabit NICs / AES-NI
Wireless Routers: 2 x Netgear AC1900 R7000 Nighthawk / Advanced Tomato Firmware

ha77man
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 4:05 am

How do I connect to my NAS localhost from one of my VMs

Post by ha77man » Fri Jul 17, 2020 6:55 pm

I just configured a static IP instead of DHCP on my primary LAN virtual switch as this would allow me into the NAS once I manually configured another device in the same subnet. I wanted to do it the localhost way but this way works too.

it is for in the event that my pfsense firewall fails to start up correctly and as a result no DHCP.

Post Reply

Return to “Virtualization Station”