Looking for tutorials on how to set up

Discussion on setting up QNAP NAS products.
Post Reply
stackemup
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2020 9:22 am

Looking for tutorials on how to set up

Post by stackemup » Thu Jul 23, 2020 9:50 am

Good Day,
I could not identify where to post my question so I'm starting here. First time post and really excited about this product.

I just unboxed and loaded a QNAP TVS-872XT. I followed the instructions on the Quick Install Guide and read the manual. I could not find any documents on how to complete the set up after installing the HDDs and turning it on. I stopped where it says to go to: https://www.qnap.com/en-us/utilities/essentials because I got lost in the minutia of information and terms I do not understand.

Specifics:
(1) I will be the only person accessing the QNAP via thunderbolt 3.
(2) I want to set up two RAID 5 configurations. The first will consist of 5 HDDs (slots 1-5). The second, 3 HDDs (slots 6-8). I will then have two additional external 4-Bay enclosures which will serve as back-up 01 and back-up 02 of the QNAP.
(3) I plan to utilize Carbon Copy Cloner, but I recall the QNAP can also perform this tasks. I would be interested in feedback from forum members on which to utilize.
(4) macOS Catalina 10.15.5

So at this point the QNAP fully loaded, powered on but not connected to a computer (thunderbolt 3). I assume the first thing I should do is install an operating systems and/or see if there are any updates for the QNAP. If you can direct me on where to start and/or step by step instructions I would be most grateful.

Thank you in advanced.

stackemup
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2020 9:22 am

Re: Looking for tutorials on how to set up

Post by stackemup » Thu Jul 23, 2020 11:06 am

I connected the QNAP to my laptop (MacBook Pro) through TB3. It does not appear on the computer, including Disk Utility. I rebooted the laptop with the QNAP connected and still the same results. All of the drive bay lights are on (green) and a STATUS light on the front of the console constantly blinks.

stackemup
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2020 9:22 am

Re: Looking for tutorials on how to set up

Post by stackemup » Thu Jul 23, 2020 12:14 pm

OK. I re-read the manual and determined that I had to install the QTS. In order to install the QTS, you need to use the Qfinder Pro. I downloaded and installed the Qfinder Pro, but received the error that the Qfinder Pro could not locate the NAS. I followed the provided suggestions, but it still would not appear on my computer. I restarted the QNAP and then it appeared in the Qfinder. I successfully installed the QTS (manual pages 39-40). After completion a page shows up with two options: Go to NAS Management or Tutorials for Thunderbolt applications. When I attempt to login into the QNAP, I receive the following error: "Your login credentials are incorrect or your account is no longer valid. Contact administrator."

I know the username and password are correct as my Mac auto saves and fills in the information. Any suggestions beyond contacting the administrator?

stackemup
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2020 9:22 am

Post Reseting Password with Button Reset

Post by stackemup » Fri Jul 24, 2020 10:17 am

Per QNAP, I reset the password by holding the 'reset' button for 3 seconds. I successfully logged into my QNAP, but now it shows "Select IP Address" which is set to an IP address with the name I assigned the QNAP and the word thunderbolt. Below is "Select Protocol" with several options, and a separate box "Add mounted folders to 'favorites' in Finder." I am not familiar with the Select Protocol Options. I am only using this with a Mac computer. The options are:
SMB/CIFS (Supports Final Cut Pro 10)
FTP
AFP
NFS
NFS (Final Cut Pro)

I cannot go any further until I select an option. Which should I select?

stackemup
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2020 9:22 am

Re: Looking for tutorials on how to set up

Post by stackemup » Sat Jul 25, 2020 6:47 am

Ok. I just spent the past hour with QNAP tech support getting all of my questions answered. I absolutely love their customer support.
Everything is done and running. All I am waiting for now is the synchronization -- 12+ hour estimate.

This topic is done and closed.

Post Reply

Return to “Turbo Station Installation & Setup”