What can I do about the discs being so active

Don't miss a thing. Post your questions and discussion about other uncategorized NAS features here.
Post Reply
wazzad
Starting out
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 5:06 pm

What can I do about the discs being so active

Post by wazzad » Mon Jul 27, 2020 9:54 pm

Hi

Sometimes the 2 discs of my TS219P+ will be very active for hours, as if doing a big copy or a remirroring.

But when I look they aren't doing that, but the discs are clearly spinning very intensely and making a lot of constant noise.

A look at the resource monitor reveals
qDmcd
afpd
top
btd
upnpd
qplod
manaRequest.cgi
qsync

and a few other processes are running with a few %age CPU usage.

Is there a way I can stop this noise, find out what it is doing, or at least reschedule it to a different time?

Thanks

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 7449
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: What can I do about the discs being so active

Post by OneCD » Tue Jul 28, 2020 3:10 am

wazzad wrote:
Mon Jul 27, 2020 9:54 pm
A look at the resource monitor reveals
qDmcd
...
qplod
These two are interesting. I've not seen them before. :'

Can you SSH into your NAS as the admin user? If so, please find the PID of the first process:

Code: Select all

ps ax | grep qDmcd | grep -v grep
... then take the PID (the number shown in the first output field), and check the command-line argument list for it with:

Code: Select all

cat /proc/PID/cmdline
Please post the result back here.

Then do the same for the 'qplod' process.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19019
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: What can I do about the discs being so active

Post by dolbyman » Tue Jul 28, 2020 3:12 am

first one seems to be some upnp thing
viewtopic.php?t=97202

that should be off on NAS and router anyways (dangerous)

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 7449
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: What can I do about the discs being so active

Post by OneCD » Tue Jul 28, 2020 3:20 am

dolbyman wrote:
Tue Jul 28, 2020 3:12 am
first one seems to be some upnp thing
Ah, thank you. :)

I should have searched for it. :oops:
dolbyman wrote:
Tue Jul 28, 2020 3:12 am
that should be off on NAS and router anyways (dangerous)
Agree.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

wazzad
Starting out
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 5:06 pm

Re: What can I do about the discs being so active

Post by wazzad » Tue Jul 28, 2020 9:34 pm

Hi,

Thanks for the help.

I've done the PS and CAT.

I have switched off my machine since having the problem and so now it is back on, the qplod isn't there but qCmd is though the cmdline file is 0 bytes.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19019
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: What can I do about the discs being so active

Post by dolbyman » Tue Jul 28, 2020 11:18 pm

if you did the PS and CAT .. would you mind posting the results ? .. the commands are supposed to display info .. not fix the issue

Post Reply

Return to “Miscellaneous”