Can I turn two single disks plus a new drive into raid 5 without losing data?

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
feefifobum
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2020 8:53 am

Can I turn two single disks plus a new drive into raid 5 without losing data?

Post by feefifobum » Sun Aug 02, 2020 10:13 am

Hello folks,

I have a TS-451+ with 1 12TB drive and a 4TB drive both are "RAID Type: Single" in one data volume.
capture1.PNG
Capture2.PNG
The 4TB drive is degrading so i'm replacing it. I was thinking of getting 2 new 12TB drives, so a total of 3 12tb drives.

Can I migrate the two drives I have to raid 5 with the new drives ill be buying?

Is Raid 5 the best idea so that i dont lose any data?

if useful:
Drive 1: capacity 10.90TB
Drive 2: capacity 3.63TB
total used: 10.30TB

thanks for any tips and help.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

838Joel
Know my way around
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 9:35 am

Re: Can I turn two single disks plus a new drive into raid 5 without losing data?

Post by 838Joel » Sun Aug 02, 2020 10:27 am

You can upgrade a first 12tb with raid1 using a first 12tb.
Copy everything from the 4tb to this new array.
Remove the 4tb and place a 12tb and convert the raid1 to raid5.


Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk


feefifobum
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2020 8:53 am

Re: Can I turn two single disks plus a new drive into raid 5 without losing data?

Post by feefifobum » Sun Aug 02, 2020 10:35 am

Right now the two disks are in one data volume, how do I separate the two disks?

838Joel
Know my way around
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 9:35 am

Re: Can I turn two single disks plus a new drive into raid 5 without losing data?

Post by 838Joel » Sun Aug 02, 2020 10:41 am

feefifobum wrote:Right now the two disks are in one data volume, how do I separate the two disks?
Oh, did not analyse it correctly!

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk


838Joel
Know my way around
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 9:35 am

Re: Can I turn two single disks plus a new drive into raid 5 without losing data?

Post by 838Joel » Sun Aug 02, 2020 10:46 am

I would then put a 12tb in the third bay.
Copy everything from the two first drive on it.
Then remove your previous array/volume.
Reuse your first 12tb bay and upgrade your third bay with in into a raid1.
After put the last 12tb to replace the 4tb into second bay.
And upgrade from raid1 to raid5.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk



feefifobum
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2020 8:53 am

Re: Can I turn two single disks plus a new drive into raid 5 without losing data?

Post by feefifobum » Sun Aug 02, 2020 10:51 am

that sounds perfect! thanks for the help.

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”