Possibility to set UID and GID in User management

Tell us your most wanted features from QNAP products.
daffyd
Starting out

Possibility to set UID and GID in User management

Post by daffyd »

I would love to be able to specify uid and gid when creating new users and groups, to make sure the uid and gid matches what I have already. I'm running three ubuntu-machines, all with uid's beginning with 1000. My Qnap TS-439 ProII starts with 500. I also manually tried changing one user from uid=502 to uid=1000, and after reboot, suddenly ownership of all files created by the 1000-user had been changed to 501.

It's going to be a slow and bothersome process changing uid's and gid's on my three ubuntu machines. (Which I've been using for two years on average.) So I'm not gonna do it, and just continue hating the fact that it's not easy to use the same uid/gid as on an existing network.

Needless to say: I mount via nfs.
gbl
Starting out

Re: Possibility to set UID and GID in User management

Post by gbl »

If you use *only* nfs then there's no reason for identical user IDs anyway, in fact, you don't even need to define users on the nas, Set up shares and you're ok. Of course, it's different if you want your users to be able to use ftp, or samba, like i do.

If somebody has an existing network that mixes windows and linux/unix, you *need* a way to make the NAS user names/user IDs match the IDs/names on your existing machines, so please please please qnap: give us an option to state the uid/gid when defining a new user.

On my new TS-210, i created the users, then adjusted /etc/passwd and /etc/smbpasswd, rebooted the machine, made sure the user ids hadn't gotten overwritten, then chown()ed the directories and went on happily. (daffyd, maybe you missed the /etc/smbpasswd file and created some files via samba?) But this really should be a GUI option instead of requiring users to ssh to the machine.
daffyd
Starting out

Post by daffyd »