HD-Station - libCEC support. (HDMI-CEC)

Tell us your most wanted features from QNAP products.
User avatar
Xmantium
Been there, done that
Posts: 553
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 3:55 am
Location: Manchester, England

Re: HD-Station - libCEC support. (HDMI-CEC)

Post by Xmantium » Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:56 am

Koba_SC wrote:Now with the new Kodi 16 the Pulse Eight CEC-USB adapter don't work

Latest Kodi by QNAP works fine with CEC
https://www.qnap.com/i/en/app_releaseno ... hoose=KODI

Would be great if the main HD Station interface also supported CEC

sanmi69
Starting out
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 12:24 am

Re: HD-Station - libCEC support. (HDMI-CEC)

Post by sanmi69 » Tue Sep 20, 2016 3:24 am

Please add HDMI-CEC support to HD-Station Interface. At least for select applications

giopas
Been there, done that
Posts: 848
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 12:36 am
Location: somewhere in EU

Re: HD-Station - libCEC support. (HDMI-CEC)

Post by giopas » Fri Jan 19, 2018 1:49 am

Hello friends,

Maybe a little offtopic, but I am strugling to have my Samsung TV, my Onkyo A/V receiver, my LG BluRay player, my VU+ decoder and my QNAP (using latest Kody 17.5) to consistently use HDMI-CEC effectively, so that I can use one single remote control (the one of the TV) to control everything.

Any advice on how to achieve that? Can't believe this is still so difficult in 2018!

Thanks,

giopas
Qnap TS-253Pro 16Gb RAM - Single Storage Pool: 2 WRed 4TB (RAID 1)
Qnap TS-453A 16Gb RAM - Single Storage Pool: 4 WRed 4TB (RAID 5)

illy-ya
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 3:10 am

Re: HD-Station - libCEC support. (HDMI-CEC)

Post by illy-ya » Fri Jul 17, 2020 6:14 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm reviving this old thread. I recently bought a new Samsung TV and moved QNAP into another room, so I'd like to use TV's remote to control QNAP, where I mainly run Kodi.

Can somebody tell me if this can be done and how?

Thanks in advance for your answers...

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19092
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: HD-Station - libCEC support. (HDMI-CEC)

Post by dolbyman » Fri Jul 17, 2020 9:37 pm

get an external player..cheaper than any other hardware you would have to buy

illy-ya
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 3:10 am

Re: HD-Station - libCEC support. (HDMI-CEC)

Post by illy-ya » Fri Jul 24, 2020 11:25 pm

dolbyman wrote:
Fri Jul 17, 2020 9:37 pm
get an external player..cheaper than any other hardware you would have to buy
You want to explain?

At the moment I can control QNAP/Kodi but via phone's remote. Using TV remote would be a step up! If you have a better suggestion I would be grateful.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19092
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: HD-Station - libCEC support. (HDMI-CEC)

Post by dolbyman » Fri Jul 24, 2020 11:32 pm

As you can read in the thread, the signals cannot be read from the HDMI directly (it's a NAS not a player) so you need one of those modules to strip CEC signals out, but there are modules missing to pass these on to HD Station, and KODI support was stripped a while ago by QNAP (licensing issue) so getting QNAP to implement those modules to HD station seems unlikely.

Just switch to Plex, Tizen has a Plex player and that one would work directly with your TV remote.

Post Reply

Return to “Features Wanted”