QNAP SNMP monitoring - not working?

Tell us your most wanted features from QNAP products.
Post Reply
Josh_1234
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 12:04 am

QNAP SNMP monitoring - not working?

Post by Josh_1234 » Sat Nov 02, 2013 8:42 pm

Hi there,

I am struggling to get SNMP monitoring working properly within Nagios.

Reading through some old threads in the forums it seems that others were having issues with SNMP also.

Can someone advise how they are monitoring things such as, HDD temp, fan speeds, cpu usage, memory usage etc through SNMP?

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43663
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: QNAP SNMP monitoring - not working?

Post by schumaku » Sat Nov 02, 2013 10:02 pm

Plenty of misunderstanding caused by the fact QNAP uses a lot of text based MIB variables.

Josh_1234
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 12:04 am

Re: QNAP SNMP monitoring - not working?

Post by Josh_1234 » Sat Nov 02, 2013 10:13 pm

okay so I managed to find the right one after quite some time for uptime:
check_snmp!-C public -o .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.1.1.0


but I am still struggling to get anything else.

I found out how to report the interfaces - but it only reports that it has an interface called Eth1 or 0 but not whether or not that interface is down.

Also I am looking for the right oids to be able to monitor the following things:
CPU average load (or just current load)
memory usage (physical)
Individual checks for each HDD and their status.


Anyone have these oids?

Josh_1234
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 12:04 am

Re: QNAP SNMP monitoring - not working?

Post by Josh_1234 » Sat Nov 02, 2013 10:15 pm

schumaku wrote:Plenty of misunderstanding caused by the fact QNAP uses a lot of text based MIB variables.


Do you have any documentation on the kind of items I want to monitor?

What I found links up with what you said. I can find the "parent" OID for certain items (like eth interfaces) but it seems to be missing "something" to make it then check to see if that interface "eth1" is up or down.

Thanks

Josh_1234
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 12:04 am

Re: QNAP SNMP monitoring - not working?

Post by Josh_1234 » Mon Nov 04, 2013 10:03 pm

okay got no where with support:

I emailed QNAP support and they told me:

From: QNAP Technical Support [mailto:uksupport@qnapsecurity.com.tw]
Sent: 04 November 2013 13:45
To: Josh
Subject: [#FVZ-****-******]: [Support] TS-869 Pro - United Kingdom - Q**********
Importance: High

hi Josh

sorry for security concert we will not provide this information.

Regards

David.Chang
QNAP Systems, Inc.



how on earth is it a security concern for me to be able to monitor my infrastructure?

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43663
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: QNAP SNMP monitoring - not working?

Post by schumaku » Mon Nov 04, 2013 10:30 pm

And what was the question? :roll:

Network link changes are to be captured from SNMP traps in my opinion. For a static reading, what about the RFC1213-MIB iso.org.dod.internet.mgmt.mib-2.intefaces.ifTable.ifEntry.ifOperStatus.[number] ?

QTS4.1_RFC1213-MIB_iso.org.dod.internet.mgmt.mib-2.intefaces.ifTable.ifEntry.ifOperStatus.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Josh_1234
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 12:04 am

Re: QNAP SNMP monitoring - not working?

Post by Josh_1234 » Mon Nov 04, 2013 11:27 pm

schumaku wrote:And what was the question? :roll:

Network link changes are to be captured from SNMP traps in my opinion. For a static reading, what about the RFC1213-MIB iso.org.dod.internet.mgmt.mib-2.intefaces.ifTable.ifEntry.ifOperStatus.[number] ?

QTS4.1_RFC1213-MIB_iso.org.dod.internet.mgmt.mib-2.intefaces.ifTable.ifEntry.ifOperStatus.PNG



Well I've manged to figure it out now.

I can now successfully monitor the following items:

HDD Smart Status
HDD Temp
System Temp
CPU Temp
Free Memory

And surprisingly no one has hacked into my NAS as support suggested they might!

Josh_1234
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 12:04 am

Re: QNAP SNMP monitoring - not working?

Post by Josh_1234 » Mon Nov 04, 2013 11:34 pm

For anyone looking for the oids for the following items:

Free Memory: .1.3.6.1.4.1.24681.1.2.3.0
CPU Temperature: .1.3.6.1.4.1.24681.1.2.5.0
HDD Temperature: 1.3.6.1.4.1.24681.1.2.11.1.3.1 (.3.1 is for drive one .3.1 for drive 2 etc etc)
HDD SMART Status: 1.3.6.1.4.1.24681.1.2.11.1.7.1 (again just change the end digit for a different drive.)
System Temperature: .1.3.6.1.4.1.24681.1.2.6.0
Uptime: .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.1.1.0

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43663
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: QNAP SNMP monitoring - not working?

Post by schumaku » Tue Nov 05, 2013 12:09 am

Not that difficult to find with the help of a MIB browser and the NAS-MIB file (available for download from the NAS SNMP config page) loaded, agree?

Josh_1234
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 12:04 am

Re: QNAP SNMP monitoring - not working?

Post by Josh_1234 » Tue Nov 05, 2013 12:41 am

schumaku wrote:Not that difficult to find with the help of a MIB browser and the NAS-MIB file (available for download from the NAS SNMP config page) loaded, agree?

not difficult at all...but took me a while to find it all.

Post Reply

Return to “Features Wanted”