Blank LCD

Introduce yourself to us and other members here, or share your own product reviews, suggestions, and tips and tricks of using QNAP products.
QGnhaoptio
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 7:21 am

Blank LCD

Post by QGnhaoptio » Sat May 24, 2014 11:36 pm

Hi,

I have a 419 PII. I am using WD10ERFX Hdds in Raid 5. I have no trunking but each nic is on a separate network.
I was running Firmware version 4.0.2 and had an error where the lcd would randomly report "Rebooting system please wait", however the system would function and not reboot. I would do a reboot through the GUI and all would be well for a few weeks. I tried to contact support but got no reply. I tried to log into the forums but apparently whoever had my IP address before me sent a lot of spam and it was banned from the forums. (This has been rectified).
I discovered that firmware version 4.0.7 had come out and thought I should up grade.
Now when the unit boots the LCD reads System Booting and then goes blank but the backlight stays on. The LCD then gives no info no matter what I do.
I have tried
1) The 2 second reset
2) The 10 second reset
I have done these both with the drives in and with the drives out, but still the problem persists.
I have no apps installed or enabled.

I anyone has any ideas I would greatly appreciate it.

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43664
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: Blank LCD

Post by schumaku » Sun May 25, 2014 4:48 pm

Welcome to the QNAP NAS Community Forum.

Start with these two simple tests:

Boot the NAS without the HDD plugged and check if QNAP Finder is able to discover the NAS on the network.

Boot the NAS with the HDD plugged and check if QNAP Finder is able to discover the NAS on the network.

Does the NAS get an IP address from the DHCP server on our LAN in both cases?

If the NAS can be discovered, get an iP address, can you reach the NAS shell using SSH?

For QNAP Customer Service, please file your service request on http://helpdesk.qnap.com/

Regards,
-Kurt.

QGnhaoptio
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 7:21 am

Re: Blank LCD

Post by QGnhaoptio » Sun May 25, 2014 5:41 pm

Hi Kurt,

I have tried all those and yes I can do all of them.
I have logged contacted support through the recommended method but judging from reports I hold little hope that they can help, which is why I came here as well.

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43664
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: Blank LCD

Post by schumaku » Sun May 25, 2014 8:18 pm

...understand your NAS does get an IP address with the HDD plugged.

Access to the QTS desktop (NAS Web UI is possible)?
Access to the shell using SSH including the login using the admin credentials is possible?

[~] # mount
...
[~] # df
...
[~] # cat /proc/mdstat
...
[~] # ifconfig
...
[~] # route
...

Post the output of these. If things look fine, you can consider to re-apply the current (and I strongly suggest using QTS 4.1 201040504 (RC3) or newer...) using the process here -> http://wiki.qnap.com/wiki/Manually_Updating_Firmware

QGnhaoptio
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 7:21 am

Re: Blank LCD

Post by QGnhaoptio » Sun May 25, 2014 9:21 pm

The device works fine except for the LCD problem, I have tried downgrading back to 4.0.2. I shall try 4.1. My next action will be to backup all the data and do a full factory reset. However I do not think that one should have to do this.

[~] # mount
/proc on /proc type proc (rw)
none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
tmpfs on /tmp type tmpfs (rw,size=32M)
none on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
/dev/sda4 on /mnt/ext type ext3 (rw)
/dev/md9 on /mnt/HDA_ROOT type ext3 (rw,data=ordered)
/dev/md0 on /share/MD0_DATA type ext4 (rw,usrjquota=aquota.user,jqfmt=vfsv0,user_xattr,data=ordered,delalloc,noacl)
tmpfs on /.eaccelerator.tmp type tmpfs (rw,size=32M)
none on /sys/kernel/config type configfs (rw)


[/] # df
Filesystem Size Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/ram0 32.9M 15.4M 17.5M 47% /
tmpfs 32.0M 584.0k 31.4M 2% /tmp
/dev/sda4 364.2M 321.1M 43.1M 88% /mnt/ext
/dev/md9 509.5M 110.3M 399.1M 22% /mnt/HDA_ROOT
/dev/md0 2.7T 1.5T 1.2T 56% /share/MD0_DATA
tmpfs 32.0M 0 32.0M 0% /.eaccelerator.tmp

[/] # cat /proc/mdstat
Personalities : [linear] [raid0] [raid1] [raid10] [raid6] [raid5] [raid4]
md0 : active raid5 sda3[0] sdd3[3] sdc3[2] sdb3[1]
2925580800 blocks level 5, 64k chunk, algorithm 2 [4/4] [UUUU]

md4 : active raid1 sdd2[2](S) sdc2[3](S) sdb2[1] sda2[0]
530048 blocks [2/2] [UU]

md13 : active raid1 sda4[0] sdc4[3] sdd4[2] sdb4[1]
458880 blocks [4/4] [UUUU]
bitmap: 0/57 pages [0KB], 4KB chunk

md9 : active raid1 sda1[0] sdd1[3] sdc1[2] sdb1[1]
530048 blocks [4/4] [UUUU]
bitmap: 0/65 pages [0KB], 4KB chunk

unused devices: <none>


[/] # ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:08:9B:D0:8C:F5
inet addr:192.168.0.15 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:857789 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:972043 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:532
RX bytes:653514793 (623.2 MiB) TX bytes:1004663221 (958.1 MiB)
Interrupt:11

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:08:9B:D0:8C:F6
inet addr:10.10.0.101 Bcast:10.10.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:89607321 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:46141842 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:532
RX bytes:800930213 (763.8 MiB) TX bytes:4150861601 (3.8 GiB)
Interrupt:15

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:785491 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:785491 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:213027808 (203.1 MiB) TX bytes:213027808 (203.1 MiB)


[/] # route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
255.255.255.255 * 255.255.255.255 UH 0 0 0 eth1
255.255.255.255 * 255.255.255.255 UH 0 0 0 eth0
192.168.0.15 * 255.255.255.255 UH 0 0 0 eth0
10.10.0.101 * 255.255.255.255 UH 0 0 0 eth1
10.10.0.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth1
192.168.0.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
127.0.0.0 * 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
default 192.168.0.1 0.0.0.0 UG 1 0 0 eth0

QGnhaoptio
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 7:21 am

Re: Blank LCD

Post by QGnhaoptio » Sun May 25, 2014 9:28 pm

However the only firmware available for download for my device is 4.0.7

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43664
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: Blank LCD

Post by schumaku » Sun May 25, 2014 10:04 pm

QGnhaoptio wrote:The device works fine except for the LCD problem, ...
Can't see a need for massive actions - if a manual update does not make the LCD panel and the controls workable again, check with QNAP customer service.

QGnhaoptio wrote:However the only firmware available for download for my device is 4.0.7
Check the QTS 4.1 Release Candidate Program.

QGnhaoptio
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 7:21 am

Re: Blank LCD

Post by QGnhaoptio » Tue May 27, 2014 4:56 pm

Well none of that worked and as expected no word from QNAP support.

I would expect,when paying $500.00 without drives, that the device actually operated as stated for more that 8 months.
Well I guess it is time to throw it away and purchase a device with a bit of quality.

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43664
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: Blank LCD

Post by schumaku » Tue May 27, 2014 5:37 pm

Easy possible your NAS has a hardware (front panel controller) problem. All QNAP NAS are covered with a manufacturer warranty of at least 24 months. Claim a warranty replacement with your reseller (or QNAP if you are located in North America).

QGnhaoptio wrote:I would expect,when paying $500.00 without drive
... any hardware has some failure rates, does not matter if it's a $5 or a $500,000 product.

QGnhaoptio
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 7:21 am

Re: Blank LCD

Post by QGnhaoptio » Tue May 27, 2014 8:45 pm

Yeah, I spose I should have stuck with sharing out my $50.00 hard drive from the laptop that has lasted 6 years and is back in action now that this piece of junk is messing me around.

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43664
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: Blank LCD

Post by schumaku » Tue May 27, 2014 8:58 pm

QGnhaoptio wrote:Yeah, I spose I should have stuck with sharing out my $50.00 hard drive from the laptop that has lasted 6 years and is back in action now that this piece of junk is messing me around.
...because of the LCD does not work. Are you here to rant around, or want to be helped?

Have got a QNAP Support Ticked ID at hand for further reference?

QGnhaoptio
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 7:21 am

Re: Blank LCD

Post by QGnhaoptio » Tue May 27, 2014 9:27 pm

Well you seem to be touchy.
Perhaps you have $500 to throw around but not every one does. If perhaps you read my posts, you would have seen that I stated that I have had no reply from QNAP support. This is the 3rd time I have contacted them with issues and the 3rd time they have chosen to ignore me, I think I can rant a bit.

Besides when have I not tried your advice. I have tried everything you have suggested even though I know it would not solve the problem, but thought that maybe you might know something I did not. If you are going to be rude please refrain from replying to my posts or this will just turn into a fight and that will not be helpful in any way.
It is my opinion, to which I am entitled, that based on my experience with QNAP, they are sub- standard.
I have an old consumer grade Netgear at work doing for more work in temperatures of up to 45 celcius and it has been flawless for 5 or so years. I expected a bit more from the device I purchased.
In the event of a failure I at least expected some sort of feedback from support, but have not even had an email to say "go away we won't help you".

Now that was a rant.

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43664
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: Blank LCD

Post by schumaku » Tue May 27, 2014 9:52 pm

Nobody rude here. You ranted in a different thread on QNAP Support and are unable or unwilling to share the QNAP Support Ticket ID?

QGnhaoptio wrote:I have an old consumer grade Netgear at work doing for more work in temperatures of up to 45 celcius and it has been flawless for 5 or so years.
...what's potentially outside of the environment temperature specs for any kind of consumer and business grade storage - your Netgear, your risk, your responsibility - not mine.

QGnhaoptio wrote:I expected a bit more from the device I purchased.
No one expects hardware does fail within nine months - I don't expect a NAS partially or totally due to a hardware issue, too. So because of the LCD fails it's substandard brand and manufacturer, based on one issue, based on one faulty unit.

While it might be difficult for the support people to troubleshoot following any kind of standard scripts and tests - I suspect the LCD controller module might be faulty, nothing else.

QGnhaoptio
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 7:21 am

Re: Blank LCD

Post by QGnhaoptio » Wed May 28, 2014 7:17 am

QGnhaoptio wrote:I have an old consumer grade Netgear at work doing for more work in temperatures of up to 45 celcius and it has been flawless for 5 or so years.
...what's potentially outside of the environment temperature specs for any kind of consumer and business grade storage - your Netgear, your risk, your responsibility - not mine.

Absolutely, and it stuns me that this thing still works. I am sure it is doing it out of pure defiance.

QGnhaoptio wrote:I expected a bit more from the device I purchased.
No one expects hardware does fail within nine months - I don't expect a NAS partially or totally due to a hardware issue, too. So because of the LCD fails it's substandard brand and manufacturer, based on one issue, based on one faulty unit.

Entirely wrong. It is substandard because I have tried on 3 occasions to get some sort of contact with QNAP support and have had no response.
However I believe we digress from the topic of this thread.
If there is no more troubleshooting of the issue I believe we can close this thread,

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43664
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: Blank LCD

Post by schumaku » Wed May 28, 2014 10:21 pm

Is the lcdmond process active on your NAS?

[~] # ps -ef | grep lcd
8034 admin 544 S grep lcd
8962 admin 1056 S /sbin/lcdmond

Temporarily stop it and output some text on the LCD:

[~] # /sbin/daemon_mgr lcdmond stop /sbin/lcdmond
[~] # ps -ef | grep lcd
8034 admin 544 S grep lcd
[~] # lcd_tool -1 "ABCDEF" -2 "abcdef"

Another idea...stop the lcdmond and run it in foreground mode:

[~] # /sbin/daemon_mgr lcdmond stop /sbin/lcdmond
[~] # /sbin/lcdmond -f
...

Restore the lcdmond process once finished testing:

[~] # /sbin/daemon_mgr lcdmond start /sbin/lcdmond
[~] # ps -ef | grep lcd
9248 admin 1080 S /sbin/lcdmond
9637 admin 548 S grep lcd

Post Reply

Return to “Users' Corner”