Replication Error Code 137

Discussion on remote replication.
Post Reply
rory
Know my way around
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 11:52 am

Replication Error Code 137

Post by rory » Sat Nov 29, 2008 2:46 am

Backing up 409 Pro to 209 Pro II

I set up a remote replication job. I tested the settings and the test passed. I ran replication of a share. The share was not huge ~8 GB. The replication ran for 4 hours before kicking out an errror: can not replicated files. The log file outputs this useful bit of info: Remote backup schedule Harrison fail. (Other error with error code 137). About half the data copied. Perhaps a bit more.

Can anyone shed light on this error?

Rory
iMac 27" i7 / OS X 10.6.5
TS-259 Pro / RAID 1 / 2 x 1T WD Black / 3.2.1 1231T
TS-410 / RAID 6 / 2 x 750GB + 2 x 500GB WD Black / 3.5.1 Build 1002T
SMCGS8P-Smart Switch

rory
Know my way around
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 11:52 am

Re: Replication Error Code 137

Post by rory » Sat Nov 29, 2008 11:27 am

Here is some more information:

I restarted the replication task but toggled the incremental check box so that it wouldn't have to repeat the files already replicated. It has been running for 8 hours... even though there doesn't appear to be any activity on the remote machine (where I am sitting) the source still indicates that it is replicated. I'm a bit hesitant to interrupt the task given what I have read about problems associated with failed replications.

The 409 Pro (the source) is running firmware version 2.1.2 build 1112T
The 209 Pro II (the target) is running firmware version 2.1.2 build 1113T

Also, I enabled file compression.

The system event logs as follows:

13:31:25 System 127.0.0.1 localhost Remote backup schedule nbak starting.
13:09:56 System 127.0.0.1 localhost Remote backup schedule nbak fail. (Other error with error code 137)
13:09:14 admin xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx --- Remote Replication: Enable normal rsync copy to NAS
09:42:10 System 127.0.0.1 localhost Remote backup schedule nbak starting.

Any thoughts? Could forbidden character in A file name such as *, ~, or ? cause errors? Some of my files originate from other people who used all kinds of strange characters and I did face file/folder problems previously due to poor naming conventions. I'm grabbing at straws here... I'd like to solve this thing so that I can finally have a complete backup solution!
iMac 27" i7 / OS X 10.6.5
TS-259 Pro / RAID 1 / 2 x 1T WD Black / 3.2.1 1231T
TS-410 / RAID 6 / 2 x 750GB + 2 x 500GB WD Black / 3.5.1 Build 1002T
SMCGS8P-Smart Switch

The Cat
Know my way around
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 10:23 pm

Re: Replication Error Code 137

Post by The Cat » Sat Nov 29, 2008 1:37 pm

It would be nice if QNAP provided us with a list of these error codes. The codes now gives us users no information at all. I had the same error code a couple of times. I think this error is related to the amount of data. I only got these errors in the beginning. Just do another replication and see if the error goes away. It did at mine.
1*TS-253 Pro 8 Gig | 4.2.0 | WD60EFRX, 6TB
1*TS-119 | 3.6.1 Build0302 | Western Digital WD1000FYPS-01ZKB1
1*TS-109Pro | 3.3.2 Build0918 | Western Digital WD5002ABYS-01B1B02.0
1*TS-109Pro | 3.3.2 Build0918 | Western Digital WD1000FYPS-01ZKB02.0

rory
Know my way around
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 11:52 am

Re: Replication Error Code 137

Post by rory » Sat Nov 29, 2008 9:01 pm

QNAP what about it? Where an explanation of the error codes?

Thanks for the feedback. I ran it again and it seems to be hung. It has been working for more than 15 hours... I'm hesitant to restart the machine. I'd love some feedback from QNAP. Guess I'll have to submit their support form.

Rory
iMac 27" i7 / OS X 10.6.5
TS-259 Pro / RAID 1 / 2 x 1T WD Black / 3.2.1 1231T
TS-410 / RAID 6 / 2 x 750GB + 2 x 500GB WD Black / 3.5.1 Build 1002T
SMCGS8P-Smart Switch

The Cat
Know my way around
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 10:23 pm

Re: Replication Error Code 137

Post by The Cat » Mon Dec 01, 2008 5:44 am

Do not forget that replication can be very slow. Most internet connection do not have the best upload speed. My first replication took over 28 hours. You can calculate how much time it would theoraticly take if you now your upload speed.
1*TS-253 Pro 8 Gig | 4.2.0 | WD60EFRX, 6TB
1*TS-119 | 3.6.1 Build0302 | Western Digital WD1000FYPS-01ZKB1
1*TS-109Pro | 3.3.2 Build0918 | Western Digital WD5002ABYS-01B1B02.0
1*TS-109Pro | 3.3.2 Build0918 | Western Digital WD1000FYPS-01ZKB02.0

rory
Know my way around
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 11:52 am

Re: Replication Error Code 137

Post by rory » Mon Dec 01, 2008 8:51 am

The Cat wrote:Do not forget that replication can be very slow. Most internet connection do not have the best upload speed. My first replication took over 28 hours. You can calculate how much time it would theoraticly take if you now your upload speed.


Yeah good point. Given my upload speed it should take just under 20 hours. However, that doesn't explain the abort message and error code on the first go round and the fact that the remote box went to sleep on the second go round.

I'll do it again and let it go for a day or two. Right now I'm more concerned with the brute force attacks I'm sustaining with the ports open...

Anyone know of a good security primer for these boxes?

Rory
iMac 27" i7 / OS X 10.6.5
TS-259 Pro / RAID 1 / 2 x 1T WD Black / 3.2.1 1231T
TS-410 / RAID 6 / 2 x 750GB + 2 x 500GB WD Black / 3.5.1 Build 1002T
SMCGS8P-Smart Switch

User avatar
Q
Experience counts
Posts: 1441
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:18 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replication Error Code 137

Post by Q » Mon Dec 01, 2008 6:43 pm

hi

those are the rsync error codes:
1 Syntax or usage error
2 Protocol incompatibility
3 Errors selecting input/output files, dirs
4 Requested action not supported: an attempt was made to manipulate 64-bit files on a platform that cannot support them; or an option was specified that is supported by the client and not by the server.
5 Error starting client-server protocol
6 Daemon unable to append to log-file
10 Error in socket I/O
11 Error in file I/O
12 Error in rsync protocol data stream
13 Errors with program diagnostics
14 Error in IPC code
20 Received SIGUSR1 or SIGINT
21 Some error returned by waitpid()
22 Error allocating core memory buffers
23 Partial transfer due to error
24 Partial transfer due to vanished source files
25 The --max-delete limit stopped deletions
30 Timeout in data send/receive
35 Timeout waiting for daemon connection

the only information i found about 137 with google is: "rsync error: unexplained error (code 137)".

probably contact qnap support directly.
I am Q
www.qnap.ch

I don't work at QNAP.
And RAID is really NO backup!

The Cat
Know my way around
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 10:23 pm

Re: Replication Error Code 137

Post by The Cat » Mon Dec 01, 2008 7:02 pm

The brute force attacks wory me also. But I know QNAP is working on this. I one of the next firmware the much awaited automatic blocking when a failed login is attempted will be implemented. In an other post it was promised in the next firmware. I hope they keep that promise because dictionary attacks are almost daily done.
1*TS-253 Pro 8 Gig | 4.2.0 | WD60EFRX, 6TB
1*TS-119 | 3.6.1 Build0302 | Western Digital WD1000FYPS-01ZKB1
1*TS-109Pro | 3.3.2 Build0918 | Western Digital WD5002ABYS-01B1B02.0
1*TS-109Pro | 3.3.2 Build0918 | Western Digital WD1000FYPS-01ZKB02.0

PAPPL
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 10:49 am

Re: Replication Error Code 137

Post by PAPPL » Mon Dec 01, 2008 8:55 pm

Will automatic IP-Blocking really come to the TS-109 Pro? Can somebody from QNAP confirm this?
Synology has implemented the Bruteforce-Blocking in their firmwares, so Synology seems to be the more secure device?
So if the firmware for TS-109 Pro comes with automatic IP-Blocking i'll get the QNAP NAS, otherwise Synology but then i'll have to live with a fan build in the NAS.

User avatar
Q
Experience counts
Posts: 1441
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:18 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replication Error Code 137

Post by Q » Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:38 pm

@PAPPL and The Cat: off-topic! i don't think this helps rory in any way. please post in an appropriate topic. auto-blocking is already existing now in TS-509 firmware and qnap works on it currently for TS-109/209/409 too.
I am Q
www.qnap.ch

I don't work at QNAP.
And RAID is really NO backup!

rory
Know my way around
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 11:52 am

Re: Replication Error Code 137

Post by rory » Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:55 pm

I mentioned attacks in one of my replies. It is a persistent problem. I know that QNAP is working on an IP ban function. That's great but there are a ton of additional issues.

We need a comprehensive approach to security from QNAP so that the user community can share experiences, tips and tricks, and implementation scenarios. See my request for a top level forum dedicated to security here viewtopic.php?f=11&t=10058 I would also like them to establish a security how-to on the wiki site. Post replies to the above link if you agree so that QNAP sees that this is a concern for the user community.

Rory
iMac 27" i7 / OS X 10.6.5
TS-259 Pro / RAID 1 / 2 x 1T WD Black / 3.2.1 1231T
TS-410 / RAID 6 / 2 x 750GB + 2 x 500GB WD Black / 3.5.1 Build 1002T
SMCGS8P-Smart Switch

QNAPTiffany

Re: Replication Error Code 137

Post by QNAPTiffany » Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:15 am

please let us check your setting of remote replication. e-mail zoechou@qnap.com

User avatar
Q
Experience counts
Posts: 1441
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:18 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replication Error Code 137

Post by Q » Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:19 am

I am Q
www.qnap.ch

I don't work at QNAP.
And RAID is really NO backup!

Post Reply

Return to “Remote Replication/ Disaster Recovery”